We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a fantastic 9 night stay at the pirates village. Staff are fantastic, and very friendly. The pirate attacks during the day are fab, sundays and wednesdays, and the evening pirate show just as magical. The hotel manager is clearly visible day and night, and even the hotel owner visits regularly and attends the evening entertainment.
The lifeguards really have there work cut out making sure the pool is kept safe from the unrulys. There are plenty of sunbeds, although a few more parasols would be of benefit.
The hotel rooms are basic and could do with air con in the bedrooms but that is only a minor issue, as you spend only minimal time in your apartment.
The food was good, and there was always plenty of it, the staff would keep the trays well topped up.
The kids funclub is a definite, and jasmine and smelly jelly belly elly are fantastic, my son who is 7 spent alot of time in there at his request. The kiddie disco is also fab, and i loved watching the gummie bear dance each night.
The hotel is on a main road, but this did not spoil any of our time hear, and we could bearly hear it.
There were a few very rude people around, yes they were brits, which was uncalled for. The staff bent over backwards to assist and were friendly.
Overall would definitely recommend and will be returning again next year as i understand the rooms are to be revamped into pirate themed rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just back from a week in this hotel it was ok pool is fab our son loved it bar staff have mixed personalities sometimes they would laugh and joke other times would barely talk only eat bar food twice it was only ok entertainment is great for the younger kids our son is 11 so was a bit childish for him but he did enjoy the pirate show rooms are basic but could not complain as beds wer so comfy only thing i would say is get thicker walls you can hear everything could even here our neighbours going to the toilet lol but overall actually did enjoy my time there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzi12xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Upon arrival we where told we had to go to another hotel because there was no room available for us and the rude man at the reception put us in a taxi with no apologies and we was very disappointed.They gave us a few free things to shut us up but we never asked for anything!!!!
I dont think we go back to this hotel after such disappointment and they shouldnt do that!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank kcl4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Kids loved every minute of holiday. Lots for them to do. Shows and staff were great, food bit basic in restaurant but always something to eat. Snack bar lovely hot dogs and burgers and chips kids ate tea there most nights:-)nights would definitely go back:-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed 18th Aug - 6 days.
2 Adults and my son age 8.

Friends there the same time with children age 10 and 13.
Room 230.

I have just been reading reviews of people who appear to have been there with us.
Maybe or maybe not.

3* star hotel, and I would say it is exactly that.
We usually stay at much bigger hotels, 4*. And now I do not know how I ever put up with them.

The Pirate Village was superb.

I will post photo's.

Never short of sunbeds, yes not as many parasols as sunbeds but is there ever.
Sunbeds are not available until 9am. so nobody claiming them.

2 lifeguards at all time, one at the slide and the other at the pool.

Animation team are amazing, never stop.
Never have I seen all staff from the cleaning staff to the cook entertain.
In my opinion they work so very hard.
You can see them and other staff, bar staff, reception staff, when going to bed at midnight and they are back working when you get up for breakfast.

We were sorry to leave. It was the most relaxing holiday. From our lounger we could see our son, in the pool, at the snack bar, at the bar for ice cream, on the slides.

No you can't see them when they are climbing stairs to the slide, but if you are that concerned I would suggest you go with them each time they use them.
Slides are not for adults so you can not go up with them, the life guard who is there at all times would not allow you to use the slide.

The rooms are very basic in that they need an update yes. Update NOT clean, ours was spotless.
But I do not go on holiday to sit in the room.
I go to enjoy the facilities, the pool, the restaurant.

The food is fine, because it is a smaller hotel, the amount of food out is not as vast as in a 600 seater, huge restaurant.
The selection is great and the trays of food replenished very, very frequently meaning it is always fresh.
Snack bar food is cooked to order.

It really is all down to personal choice, and of course your fellow holiday makers.
We met some lovely people.
There are always the children running around unsupervised in any hotel. This is the parents fault not the hotel.

There are activities each day, shooting, darts, football, ping pong, water aerobics.

Everyone has a different expectation of their holiday and hotel.

My expectation was met and more.

Well done Pirate Village.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mollyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We travelled to this hotel between 3 and 13th August 2013. Hotel looks great on the outside, rooms were ok but the toilet in our room had a strong urine odour. We ate once in the hotel, we were not all inclusive, the food served to our children, well, we never ate there again, beer was terrible too. Bar staff were great. The pool area looks good but with our 5 and 4 year old children we had to stand in the slide pool, one of us at each end as it was impossible to see the children at all times. For older kids the pool area would be great.
As with a previous review on the ledge and 2 metre drop in the main pool, I saw the woman struggle with her kids as I was walking past, I alerted the people next to her in the pool as no one could hear her or notice her struggle. This poor lady had both her children in her arms and slipped off the ledge which is NOT sign posted. There may by a 2 metre depth signs on the ground around the pool but this does not warn about the drop inside the pool. I did report this to management as did my husband, this happened on our first day and there was no warning by the time we left. I have that memory in my mind and feel sick at the thought of what so nearly happened. It is impossible for the life guards to see from where they sit. The slide pool also has steps inside, they are little but I watched every single new comer loose their footing....some signs please, not on the little pirate boards but on the wall where they will be seen.
We did not spend any time in the hotel in the evening so cannot comment on the entertainment.
We never used the kids club, did go round to visit a couple of times, one occasion all the children were rehearsing for a talent show except for one little girl sitting on her own outside, obviously did not want to join in and was just left there. Our kids would not be interested in that type of thing and there did not seem to be anything else on offer so we left. Next occasion, all kids doing some same craft activity, seemed to be no free play. Our little guy loves to play on a wii, we asked if they had anything like that and we were informed no as they liked to get the kids doing activities and games. That is great but not all kids want their free holiday time directed so some freedom of choice with some wii or x box type games would be great. I know there is a bouncy castle but that is only twice a week. While we were there my little boy picked up a pen and began to draw on a bit paper (to him) but was actually someone else's work, I watched the girl swipe the pen from his hand with no explanation to him and no offer of another piece of paper....this was during the rehearsal for the talent show. That was my experience of the kids club, I'm sure some kids would love all that stuff, not for ours though and we did not go back.
Over all I think you could have a great holiday there if you like all the buzz and pirate shows, the location is great to access all the other attractions in and around Santa Ponca. I thought the rooms were fine, you get what you pay for. Basic but clean (ish). I do not want to give a bad review but I was so very disappointed that the staff took no action on the pool warning. I hope the have now.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j00ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

On pulling up outside the hotel we were totally in awe as it looked amazing. The reception area was just as exciting until we were met by the receptionist from hell. He was totally rude, ignorant and dismissive. We were travelling with young children who were starving but everything was closed. We read that we could buy milk and water at supermarket prices in the bar. At the bar we were directed to the end of a long queue and when we eventually got to the bar it was covered in spilled drink with ignorant overworked staff. All that could be offered to us was a litre of UHT milk at €2.50 and a small bottle of water for €1.50. We went back to reception to be told by the same receptionist that he didn't know where we could go, he said 'its Sat night, what do you want me to do'. We were then made wear bracelets despite being self catering guests. A security man directed us to the nearest shop. On returning from the shop the same security man came in after us demanding to know if we were clients and we felt like criminals. The rooms were basic to say the least and the air conditioning didn't work in one of them. After a restless night because of the noise from the hotel outside bar we went to the pool. Another nightmare, it was overcrowded with sunbeds side by side and we had to almost climb over people to get to the pool area. We had to leave the pool for aquaerobics, then for the pirate attack and couldn't take out eyes off the children for a minute. Whilst the pool area looking amazing there was no room to actually swim with the crowds. Relaxing it certainly wasn't. We requested a transfer and eventually got one on Monday morning to a sister hotel which was amazing. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. It is overated with overworked, rude staff and overcrowded. We were so looking forward to this holiday and paid way above the odds for what was an absolute nightmare

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Smilybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
2,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plazamar Serenity Resort
Plazamar Serenity Resort
#14 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
TRH Jardin del Mar
TRH Jardin del Mar
#23 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $107 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Otel, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing