We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Playas de Mallorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
H10 Playas de Mallorca
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Dundee
1 review
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband me and my eight year old son have just returned from a week at this hotel. Despite a lot of reviews saying the food was not good I was pleasantly surprised by it. The breakfast was really good and the evening meal was quite good as well. There was plenty of choice for us all. The only thing I would say is that the price of drinks at night were quite expensive compared to other bars in the resort. The rooms were very clean. The whole hotel was clean. The staff were very nice. The entertainment in the evening was not up to much tho but the location of the hotel means you can easily go out and about in Santa Ponsa. The air conditioning worked well and rooms very comfortable. Our room number 102 unfortunately had a nice view of McDonalds and the entrance to the hotel and a very very noisy generator churning away. We were going to mention this to see if we could get moved but as we were able to sleep ok decided not to bother. Overall we loved our stay and would definitely be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0b056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    409
    208
    82
    29
See reviews for
310
496
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have attached a photo below of the Laundry I had washed at this hotel today, they charged me 51 euros for it. Total daylight robbery, the form you fill in is un clear and at no point was I warned that it will cost for every single item washed. After half hour trying to come to some form of agreement with reception and hotel manager (explaining I had either been mislead, or made a genuine mistake as If I understood my washing was going to cost me 51 euros, I would have never, ever, gave it over) - 51 euros for 2 pairs shorts, 4 x t-shirts, and some socks!!! Unbelievable, they didn't even attempt to budge, really, really disappointed with their attitude. If I did make a genuine mistake un understanding the cost sheet, they were not interested. The hotel is is a great location but the food is awful, breakfast consists of a random variety of items such as
- salami, carrots, coleslaw, tomatoes, water melon, cardboard pastries, and coffee with UHT milk , I had 1 cocktail at the bar and it was made from syrup in a packet, not what I was expecting. I'd avoid this place at all costs, (not just sour grapes from getting robbed paying for laundry) but more from horrendous staff attitude, and the quality of the food and drink which is even bad for ze Germans....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here from the 2nd-9th of July. The location is perfect!! It is just right opposite the beach, beside mc donalds and only a few minutes walk to the strip where there is all the irish bars. We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor which was overlooking another hotels back yard. I disappointed by this so I asked the receptionist if there was any possibity to get a pool view room and 2 mornings later we were allocated a smaller room but which over looked the pool. The rooms have a double and a large single bed. The only issue i have with the rooms is that there is no fridge. The air conditioning in the rooms are brilliant and the maids who come every day leave the room very clean. The hotel in general very clean. The staff in all areas of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The pool area is nice also though there should be more sun loungers. The night time entertainment is very poor but this is not a problem as you are only a short walk from many bars. The food in the hotel is very bad. I found there was very little to eat, however my boyfriend who is more of an adventurous eat found the food at times ok. He did enjoy the paella on one night. If possible i would return to this hotel on a no breakfast or evening meal basis. We loved Santa Ponsa and would advise people to go to the beautiful resort and also this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do not get a room over looking the pool, always ask as they are very accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou_2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the north
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just spent 10 nights at the Hesperia, 16th July to 26th and were really pleased with the hotel. The food was normal 3* holiday food, nothing out of the ordinary but always something to eat. There will always be cheese, ham and salad stuff for breakfast because that is what other people from other countries eat, so can't understand when people write reviews complaining about it. If you dont like it dont eat it, simple! Our only real complaint was the state of the sun loungers we think they are past their best and need to be replaced also could do with a few more parasols, The pool area is very nice and the pool very clean as are the rooms and all public places. Can't comment on the entertainment as we were out and about every night. All staff very friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, also the air conditioning is pretty good and doesn't keep you awake going off and on

Room Tip: We were in room 355 and had a view of the pool and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenorthcheapskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have recently returned from the Hesperia Callas de Mallorca 17th July and have had a great stay. The hotel is very clean the staff are very friendly, it has the perfect location right opposite the beach.. The biggest downfall was the food though it did get better as the holiday went on and it certainly wouldn't stop me going back.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are free
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks end of June. Was a bit sceptical having read several negative reviews, but as is invariably the case, it turned out that negative comments probably came from folk with a personal axe to grind or unreasonable expectations. Wife and I have stopped in hotels in spain and the islands for over 30 years and have rarely been disappointed. We booked half board as we normally do and once again we were not disappointed. We usually plump for 4 star hotels, but this was a three, and as we anticipated lacked a few of the "luxuries" such as fridge in room, food range a bit less, no hair dryer, had to pay for everything in cash whilst there as they would not allow guests to charge anything to room which we found inconvenient (and strange- a bit like turning away business). We found closing the restaurant at 9.15 pm particularly inconvenient- it had the effect of everyone rushing in at 7 , and from 8 onwards we felt that we were inconveniencing the hotel as they were laying tables for breakfast, but there was still plenty choice of good food.! As most had eaten early they had left the hotel by 8ish and as the entertainment didn't start 'till 9-10 it was rarely that the decent shows had an audience of as much as a dozen. It seems that the hotel is not very good at generating business for itself! However, it is a pleasant, very clean hotel with exceptionally friendly and efficient staff who would do anything for anyone, with as smile.
We had a good sized room (351) (with double and single beds) overlooking the pool and also the beach. Nice and quiet with very efficient air con. In all, it had everything one should expect of a good quality three star hotel. There was free WiFi, which they don't publicise so only found that out two days before leaving, having trundled around the resorts bars for two weeks in search of, which meant that we were spending money out of the hotel rather than in it- another example of poor business generation. I reckon the hotel could almost double its profits if it was more aware of opportunities to keep guests on the premises. In all, a very decent hotel in a good and quiet location yet in the centre of a lovely resort. Despite my wife being picky on food, we never had a problem finding something satisfying at either breakfast or dinner . Would thoroughly recommend it, primarily for couples rather than families, and we will almost certainly return again but probably on B&B basis, simply because of the early evening restaurant times ( does not give time to enjoy evening sunshine before scrubbing up!). Extremely good value.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are quietest, and most at level 3 or higher also have sea/beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exess60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

this hotel was lovely. We went half board and couldn't complain about a thing, the food was lovely, their was a variety so their was something for us all to find. We went as a family and their was 8 of us all in all. We had 4 rooms with 2 people in each, all our rooms was in the same area and we had a pool view balcony, the rooms was very clean too. If you needed a little shade in the day their was sating area next to the bar where you could take seats. The hotel is very central, boat trips are just outside the hotel which we really enjoyed. Staff are very friendly and will do anything for you. The entertainment is also good, in the morning we would do shooting at 11, water aerobics at 12, water polo at 4. There was also things for children going on to. The one thing we found expensive were drinks in the hotel for a pint of lemonade we were charged 4 euros, but we only stayed in one night and were out every other night were you can get cheaper drinks. I would recommend this hotel as it is very central.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THRUST_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Playas de Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Playas de Mallorca

Property: H10 Playas de Mallorca
Address: Gran Via Puig Major 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Ciutat de Mallorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Playas de Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Hotel Playas De Mallorca for some fun under the Mediterranean sun! Our magnificent seafront hotel is just a stone's throw from the historic city of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your H10 Playas de Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Playas De Mallorca Hotel Santa Ponsa
H10 Playas De Mallorca Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing