We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Playas de Mallorca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Playas de Mallorca
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

what a pity this hotel cannot get its act together regarding food since it has everything going for it:,location ,cleanliness ,views from hotel balconies, staff etc .I am by no means a fussy eater but after a few evening meals in the hotel I simply could not face the dining room again for another evening meal .but a few examples: soup containers not covered ,consequently soup is cold (microwave provided to heat it !)plates cold , I suspect all the left overs were liquidised as stock for soup.On one occassion soup entitled vegetable soup contained large chunks of the grilled fish left over from the previous evening meal! pigs trotters on the grill menu ! frozen beefburgers taken directly from their cardboard box and thrown on the grill, .no cold meats or egg mayonnaise to accompany the salad most salad veg canned .Fresh fruit available but unripe on most occassions, rabbit stew ,all cheap cuts of meat eg never breast of chicken but small chicken thighs floating in greasy stock, frozen overcooked veg.Maybe there is no need to address the catering since the other features attract enough custom.Probably fine for B& B but not half board.Stayed here during the beer festival in Santa Ponsa .hotel overcrowded , had to queue for a table most evenings.will I return No but say "Get your act together"Surely if the hotel management read some of the reviews they would take on board some of the criticism , that is why I think they do not need to since they can rely on the other features to attract business.

Room Tip: Sea views are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Isobel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    370
    176
    67
    21
See reviews for
255
456
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

we returned home on the 24th of october after spending a week at this hotel and we can honestly say those who are looking at the hesperia wont be disappointed. first impressions were very good. the hotel is spotless a real credit to the staff. it smells fresh as soon as u walk in and continues to the room. we had room 112 for our half board stay.
the room was clean with plenty of space for our things with a safe hidden away which is 10 euros deposit which u get back and the charge is 2 euros a night which is good i thought. the only thing i would say is the rooms dont have much in the way of facilities, i know we had a half board room but a fridge or a kettle would have been nice especially a fridge for those who stay in the summer for drinks.

the location is perfect, the hotel is on the beach front, cant ask better than that, and is also clean and well maintained, a trait i found through out our stay at santa ponsa.

the only thing i would say and like other reviews do say about is the food. i personally didnt have a problem, u get what u pay for, but if you are fussy, and lets be honest we brits are, some may find the food a bit lacking. the breakfasts are buffet style and include cooked foods or pastries or cereals with a selection of fruits juices and tea and coffee which are free.

dinner is very much the same, a buffet style with cold salads, pasta's and different cooked foods, soups, puddings - which does get a bit boring seeing the same thing everyday, and fruits. the drinks you have to pay for.

overall the hesperia at santa ponsa is well worth a visit. we certainly enjoyed our stay at this clean well presented hotel with its great location and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: rooms looking over the pool get the sun. the rooms over the entrance side is in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank willcbrbikeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham south yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arrived home from this hotel after a three night break with my daughter. We paid £79 for three nights half board, which was excellent value for money... the hotel was immaculate, all the public rooms were of good standard and our room was clean with a single and a double bed , mirrored wardrobes , balcony overlooking the pool and a good sized bathroom... The beds were very comfy as were the pillows... The aircon worked well but automatically switched off when the patio door was opened.
There was a huge selection of food at dinner, from soups, salad, rice and pasta dishes to meat, and fish.. as well as this there was a lady cooking pork steaks , paella and fresh sardines on griddles... I have read the comments about the poor food but honestly you would have a hard time not making a decent meal out of all the food that was on offer... there was also a microwave available.... fresh fruit, little pastries and ice cream to follow. There was the usual holiday hotel type entertainment which catered for the variety of nationalities that were staying at the hotel .... including "Bingo, Bango,Bongo" ! and a Tom Jones impersonater who was quite good.
The hotel was right opposite the excellent beach and next door to a variety of bars and shops including a supermarket and chemist ... an ATM machine is located up on the roundabout about 5 minutes walk from the hotel ... I was pleasantly suprised with Santa Ponsa as i was expecting it to be much more commercialised than it was and with the fantastic beach i would say its great for a family holiday or a short trip like we had .

Room Tip: Rooms over the hotel entrance did not seem to get any sunshine ... best rooms are overlooking the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

this is a bright and very clean hotel, we had a room over looking the pool which was sunny all day and quiet on a night. The location was perfect just across the road from the beach .breakfasts were good the usual choice but the evening meals were very poor indeed we only ate in twice it was so bad .However we found some great places to eat so it did not spoil our holiday .and would go back if they do bed and breakfast!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Returned home today after a week at this hotel. We were pleased with the location of our room which was spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and the location of the hotel was perfect. My husband wasn't too impressed with the food but, as a vegetarian, I thought it was great. The lettuce was always crisp and fresh and there was an excellent salad selection. The rice and pasta was good too. We have stayed at some really naff hotels in the past and always think that if the accommodation is good, clean and the beds comfortable, you can always eat out if the food isn't up to expectation. (In fact the half board was actually cheaper than just bed and breakfast).
Afterthought: the food couldn't have been that bad as we noticed that
the Germans were stuffing their pockets on the way out of the restaurant every day!

Room Tip: It's not worth paying an extra 8 euros a day for a sea view as these rooms are directly adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disappointed254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne wear
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

just returned from a 1 wk stay 19/10/12 hotel is clean but the food is terrible we were half board and every day the same food was terrrible wondered if they were using what they had left in the freezers prior to closing at the end of oct for the winter little choice with overcooked produce like it has been said VERY POOR QUALITY we have been twice before and we did not have this problem hence the have lost 2 guests who will not be coming back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acarvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we went to the hesperia hotel on the 4th sept for seven nights for my daughters 30th birthday check in was quick we were given room 328 when we got to the room and opened the balcony doors the sight of the generators and the noise was dreadful went down to reception and asked if we could change rooms they said yes but not till the next day as no rooms were available didnt sleep that night the noise was awful changed rooms next day to a room over looking the pool area which was a lot quieter. majority of the staff were lovely food on the other hand was dreadful. santa ponsa is a lovely resort and the people are friendly the fiesta was brilliant would go back to santa ponsa but not this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carole580406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.1 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
#5 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#2 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.4 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Playas de Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Playas de Mallorca

Property: H10 Playas de Mallorca
Address: Gran Via del Puig Major, 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Ciutat de Mallorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Playas de Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Hotel Playas De Mallorca for some fun under the Mediterranean sun! Our magnificent seafront hotel is just a stone's throw from the historic city of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your H10 Playas de Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Playas De Mallorca Hotel Santa Ponsa
H10 Playas De Mallorca Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing