We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-Inclusive doesn't exactly mean All-Inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Rey Don Jamie 08/07/10 to 15/07/10 Room 454

Scores for each category
1. Checkin score 4/10
2. Room score 5/10
3. Cleaners score 6/10
4. All-inclusive score 3/10
5. Bar Staff score 3/10
6. Food score 9/10
7. Restaurant comfort score 1/10
8. Snack bar score 5/10
9. Pool score 8/10
10. Animation Team score 10/10
11. Trainees Score 8/10
Total Score 55/110
Total % Score 50%

Hotel Overall
This Hotel is not a 3* or 4*. It is a tired Hotel that needs a good refurbishment inside especially the Rooms.
The Restaurant, reception and corridor areas require a more efficient air conditioning system.
There's no Ramp access to the Lifts from the Lobby, the lifts were not suitable for persons in wheelchairs. On a number of occasions when you did manage to get a wheelchair into the lift there was no room for any other person so you had to wait at the exit floor for the Wheelchair
The all-inclusive package needs to be looked at - it is not value for money and the bar staff need to help the customers rather than looking down their noses at them. They need to understand that it is our custom who is paying there wages (if the hotel doesn’t receive bookings then it would not be open).
There are no hotel towels for the pool so make sure you take your own, you can’t even hire them.
The Food Standard is very good.
The Pool, is very good.
Sunbeds and Parasols are plentiful.

CHECK-IN
Check-in was ok, 24€ for safety deposit box 3€ refundable but not everything about the All-inclusive was explained as you will find out later if you read on.
The temperature in the reception area was very hot. The air conditioning was broken and no backup plan was in place to cool the reception area down. Even the staff resorted to using hand fans to keep cool.
Papers are sold at the reception desk, but at extortionate prices.

ROOM
Clean but very basic, tired and needs updating, there was a stale smell about the room. We had to buy an air freshener. The television was the old box shape and you have to pay a deposit for the remote.
The air conditioning is controlled by the door card so get 2 cards when you check in.
The double bed we had was very hard and small more like a 3/4 size.
No fridge but you can Hire one for 3€ per day.
The only thing you can get free is an iron.
The bathroom is ok, clean and there is a hairdryer.

CLEANERS
The cleaners come every morning and do a good job but they are very noisy in the morning, 8am ish, talking to each other.

ALL-INCLUSIVE
We came here all-inclusive but at the check-in nothing was explained as to what was all-inclusive. Needless to say we were in for a few surprises. There are 2 pages of Items on the bar that are not in the all-inclusive, such as Cider, John Smiths, Fosters, bottled mixers and numerous other items.

All-inclusive drinks package is:
Local draft beer in ¼ litre plastic cups (no cider at all)
Local spirits
Local red and white Wine
Draft lemonade, fanta orange, fanta Lemon and tonic
Orange and strawberry slush
Water, tea and coffee
Everything else you have to pay for

BAR STAFF
The male bar staff were very miserable. I'm sure they must have been trained at Fawlty Towers, they need a personality transplant, I think they have been here as long as the hotel - tired and need updating.
I ordered a brandy and dry ginger and I was told that the dry ginger was 1.40€ extra, needless to say I had brandy and draft lemonade. The all-inclusive package is not worth it in my opinion.

TRAINEES (Practicas)
There are Trainees that help out at the Bar, restaurant and with the Animation Team, they are in red
T-shirts with Practicas on their backs. They are a very smiley helpful and happy bunch.

FOOD
In the main restaurant, the food was very good always hot and a good selection.
Breakfast was very good, English back bacon on the menu.
Lunch in the main restaurant was ok but not a great selection to choose from.
Dinner in the main restaurant was very good with an excellent selection and was always hot.

RESTAURANT
The restaurant was very hot and uncomfortable when you are having your meals. The air conditioning was non-existent.
I complained about it at the reception and was told that it had been broken for three days and the Maintenance Team were working on it, other couples that complained and were told that it was at the Mangers discretion when it got switched on.
When you take into account the men have to wear long trousers, it was stifling hot, and it never got any better throughout the remainder of the holiday.

SNACK BAR
Lunch outside snack bar was ok but not a great selection again and strict times for a restricted
All-inclusive menu
Ham & cheese toastie
Tuna toastie
Beefburger & chips
Salad
There was another Snack Menu but that wasn’t included in the All-inclusive package.



POOL
Pool very good, plenty of beds and umbrellas but no towels you have to provide your own.
In the morning the pool doesn't open till 08.30hrs if you want a prime position you have to queue up at the pool door, which is locked until 08.30hrs.


ANIMATION (ENTERTAINMENT) TEAM
The animation team work very hard to get everyone involved, they never stop.
From what I've seen of the kids club the Animation Team again work very hard and the kids love them.
They put in an awful lot of effort to make the Entertainment work and it does work, well done.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dek8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

This could have been a good holiday if the food was good but unfortunately we were left with a very bitter taste because we spent hundreds of Euros in dining out due of the horrible food. We never expected first class dining but this was just horrible with kids serving themselves and even putting their hands into the food, and the assistant chef just smiling. Wining and dining was just horrendous. If food, drinks and entertainment were better, we might have enjoyed it.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank corkcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

we stayed here as part of our cruise and stay , and it is the most friendliest hotel ever. It is very clean and the entertainment is non stop , the boys max and ollie work so hard all day and night and they are excellent , as do the girls who work with the wee ones. There is also a spa which you can have massages done and at a resonable cost. wouls certainly recomend it to anyone . We were H/B but changed it to A/I when we arrived ,plenty of space in the rooms and it has good a/c . Would go back anytime

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havenmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

what a holiday, from the hotel to the entertainment staff everything was spot on. Santa Ponsa is a beautiful resort with plenty to do, but the hotel offers a wide range of activities. After a day or two of getting our bearings it was home from home. Ollie and Max and the team are brill. Kirsty John and Pablo looked after us at our table at evening time, many thanks. We were welcolmed into the restaurant with smiling faces both at breakfast and evening meal. We are now sat at home discussing about going back next year. Would like to say hi to the belfast team, may see you next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andygray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The best hotel I have ever stayed in! Extremely clean, modern, friendly and perfectly located. Lots of variety for meals and there seemed to be loads going on for the kids. I've never experienced such a friendly atmosphere at a hotel before, top marks!

Two things to remember, men pack some long trousers as these must be worn for dinner - not sure why cause it was informal. NEVER BUY FRUIT AT THE BEACH!!! We thought the people were legit but it cost us 20 euros for two small slices of pineapple!!! They will not take the fruit back once its been cut - you have been warned.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sevi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Like many others before travelling over to Mallorca, read the varying reviews on this site and had to admit to being a little sceptical as to what we would find !
I travelled over with my wife, and another couple who had a 7 year old child.
When we first arrived to check in we were all amazed at how clean and tidy the foyer and reception area were, we were checked in with no hassle within minutes and off to our rooms.
We had a twin room which had en suite bath room, sufficient wardrobe space, and a nice balcony half overlooking the pool area and partly looking across to the pool in the adjacent hotel - the room was more than adequate and the available air conditioning came in handy. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and beds being made.
The friends that came with us, had a similar sized room but with an additional bed in the room, they found it a squeeze compared to home comforts but were more than happy with the room itself.
We all read the comments about the food on here and all were expecting the worst !
As an overview, breakfast ranged from your "full English", croisannts, cereals, fruit etc etc.
Lunch menu always had a salad selection with many meats, but also light meals of many choices, and then numerous deserts to choose from.
In the evening, there was always a chef cooking a "fresh" meal, be it a roast joint to Paella, on top of that again you could have a cold salad, chips sausages etc etc.
Onto the hotel staff themselves, and to be honest this is why this hotel excells itself, there are are team of people who look after the adults and also the children.
The adults are normally looked after by Oli and Max, between them organise pool side games for all to take part in but also look after your general well being. the kids are looked after by Roch, Sarah and Steph and again can keep your kids occupied throughout the day.
You can join in as little or as much as you want, I took part in everything and made good friends with numerous people. Each afternoon there is water aerobics, this in itself is an experience never before had I done YMCA, chichichua in a pool before !
Then in the evening Oli, Max and Roch would normally be the main entertainment, organising evening bingo (SHAKEY SHAKEY !!) and quizes, then there would either be outside entertainment or the team would put a show on - we were there for 10 days and every night there was something different that you would not tire of seeing.
Santa Ponsa was within short walk away and as others have mentioned the beach is less than five minutes walk away at the end of the road - the charge was 3euros 60 per sunbed and umbrella on the beach - but with warm and clear waters it is well worth spending a day here.
Have read comments about groups taking over the hotel, we never found this, there were large families from Liverpool and Ireland staying in the hotel when we were there but they were all very friendly and everyone got on like they had been friends for years, everyone in the hotel shared the same spirit in enjoying their time away.

As a final comment myself and my partner had always said the world was so small nowadays that we would never go back to the same place twice so that we could see as much of the world as possible. We spoke to people who had been coming back year after year to the resort, initially we could not see why - but now we are looking into booking back into the Rey Don Jaime in 2011 !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phantom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Will start with the one negative thing, as apart from this everything else was fab.
There is a wide mix of people that stay at the hotel, from familys, to singles, to older folk. I went with my daughter age 14. About an hr into relaxing the place was taken over by Spanish teenagers! There was about 3 separate groups of up to 20 in each group. . Dont get me wrong, i don’t think they set out to deliberately cause any hassle with anyone but they had no respect for others, i watched a few people move their sunbeds away and had to do this on one occasion myself, when i was downwind of their constant chain smoking, and forget having a snooze by the pool, even with my ipod in i could still hear the screeching! In the evenings they were so disrespectful when the hard working entertainment Reps were putting on dance shows, few holiday makers told them to be quiet but they just ignored this.
Im not in any way a prude... im a young mum of teenage girl but i just wonder if the management are aware of how they literally take over the place. Its such a shame as it really is a lovely hotel. The mess they left in the foyer whilst waiting for their pick up was like something after a football match!! Bottles, cigarette packets, crisp packets, the maids were straight on it bless them!
Reception staff were very welcoming ..Maids were also fab...rooms were spotless!! The pool was lovely (when not full of Spanish teenagers). The Food was great..always something. There was Entertainment day and night, the guys worked really hard and the kids loved them, there was always something going on day and night for everyone. Roughly a 2 minute walk to the beach which is gorgeous!! The Shops nearby are your normal tourist stuff but nice all the same. The Large Pinetrees that line the beach are beautiful and home to lots of little Green Parakeets that are really tame and love to be fed. There are 3 beachside cafe’s serving food and drinks..we ate at the one in the middle & had lovely omelette.
Santa Ponsa as a whole is lovely and i would defiantly recommend it as a resort. I would recommend this Hotel but only in Spanish school term-time, i don’t think id chance going in their holiday time again. Like i said earlier, its such a shame as it really is a lovely Hotel and this is the only thing that lets it down.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lubyloo24 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#34 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pirates VIllage
Pirates VIllage
#8 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
1,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#10 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#5 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $76 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing