We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great 10 days away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We returned from this hotel on 29th July 2014 after a 10 ten all inclusive holiday. The hotel is in a brilliant location in the centre of Santa Ponsa, only a few minutes from the beach, shops and bars and a short walk down to the Square where they have live music every night. We thought the hotel itself was of a good standard for a 3*, all the staff were really helpful and friendly, everywhere was clean including the rooms, although they are a little dated (but they are refurbishing next year to a 4*). The only one downside to the room was not having sufficient storage space for a family of 3. The rooms are made up and cleaned daily and towels changed if need be. The walls are very thin and as long as you are lucky with who is next door you won't have much noise but some advise would be, like we did, to take some ear plugs, they worked a treat and we had good nights sleeps. On reading some other reviews, we were surprised to hear comments on the pool area, we always found a sun lounger every morning and in the sun not the shade, and that was going to put towels down at 9am before going into breakfast. We found the food to be great, plenty of choice every day and the quality was good, the only slight downside was the outside snack bar where toasted sandwiches were left piled up outside for you to help yourself (that includes using the three toastie makers yourself), maybe that could be changed! Coffee and tea facilities were available as self service throughout the day. The entertainment was okay but we have seen better, on speaking to another family who have been there a number of times previously the entertainment team had only been changed this year and they said it had been much better before which was a shame. Overall we would return back to the hotel, hopefully next year, as we didn't have any major issues, we just hope the prices won't be too much higher due to the upgrade!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Ok, 5th return visit in 6years, and to my favourite island of Mallorca.
Palma with all of its changes, and more to come, is as busy as ever and the changes to it are for the better. Coach journey to the resort and hotel, was 25 mins. 1st drop off in fact, bonus.

Check in - Quick, but our room was not quite ready as we arrived pre Noon. Had to wait a little time, but to be fair that was expected. The reception area has not changed in the 5 years we have been, its clean, cool and of course minimal in its design/layout. 4 lifts (2 people and 2 cases max) take you to the floors.

Rooms - Basic, clean, what more do you want? Bedding could do with being replaced by now....as the sheets and mattresses have seen better days, but you only spend about 10 hours a day in there at most....and thats sleeping. Air Con worked for us no problem. Maids clean every day, our towels if needed changing were done every day (pop them in the bath). Interestingly, we only ever received a NEW towel set, once in 14days, so the NEW VIVA towels must be in short supply, but if you ask, I am sure you will receive.

We had 3 single beds, which we arranged to our own satisfaction after 2 days, and they were never moved by the maids which was good.

Our room, 1st floor, overlooking the road side, gave us a view we wanted, but I should have asked for a 2nd Floor Road view, which I think is better. Plus we were over the Kids indoor play area, therefore limited noise after 11pm. Talking about noise, Santa Ponsa, switches its noise off at 11-12pm, and closes its Disco doors, so it is fairly quiet.

DINING ROOM - ample big enough to accommodate guests.....3 isles are setup, the first on the right as you enter for evening, consists of salads, and the mains, the middle is the dessert isle, with cakes etc, and the left isle is similar to the first, but it also has a kids section on it. The drinks with all inclusive are served from the serving hatch at the back of the room and immediately on the right as you walk in,

Food quality - well after 2 weeks it became repetitive, but all in all, it was ok, and we challenged ourself to come up with inventive meals in the evening. Breakfasts, have all the English cooked breakfasts you would want, English or Spanish bacon, scrambled or fried eggs, black puddings, cold meats, breads, croissants, jams, honey, teas,coffees and 3 juices served from the vending machines.

Lunchtimes, you can eat in the restaurant, or at the coffee bar outside near the pool. Inside, its similar to evenings, only ever saw Gazpacho once being served, and that was in a SHOT glass.

It does get hectic, people can leave their tables in a state, and sometimes, 2 people take a table thats been setup for 6.....

Moving towards the indoor bar, which is large, sometimes cool, depends if the switch on the air con or not, and there is a large TV being screened (volume down, unless there is a major event on.....Commonwealth games was on and the volume was thankfully turned up for that). The indoor bar probably ought to be made bigger (are you listening VIVA), as in the evening it can be a wait sometimes. But there is plenty of staff to try and get you your drink.

Outside, the bar serving area is even smaller, 1 serving area is closed during the day, leaving only 1 bar area with 2 waiters, serving anything you want. The seating area is used for shade during the day, for eating from the snack bar at lunchtime, and for some kids, as a unique football pitch....(parents, please control them, or even invite them to take part in the Kids Club activities).

Lunchtime Snacks are salad (lettuce, cucumber, tomato and onion), which a choice of Chips, Sausages, Burgers, (Nuggets as well I think), with Buns to go with them. Outside of this, you can help yourself to Sandwiches to toast, Ham and Cheese, and a variety of FRESHLY made baguettes, filled with a variety of things - never tried so cannot comment.

The Entertainment area is raised, (and its for the entertainers) not for a mini 5 a side competition to see if you can knock lights out. LOL.....

Pool area - interestingly, and please note from history I can make these comments with a degree of honesty, the situation regarding sunbeds as gotten better. There is enough sunbeds, for possibly 200 people. Thats because of the space around the pool, which is NOT big enough for the number of guests. SIMPLE. So if you want a sunbed, be early, say 7.30, 7.45 and hey presto. BUT, be warned, if you do not use your sunbed after 10.00am, for 30minutes./40minutes or more, you are likely to find all of your belongings at the lifeguard station. They patrol around the pool and the sunbeds looking for beds not being used. Twice I was personally asked if my fellow family members were using them.....so be warned. ( I personally think its a good idea). AND, if you cannot find a sunbed after mid day......ask the lifeguard to find you one.....saw that happening and have to say, its a good idea. AND FAIR.

Pool is busy......as its NOT big enough.....but thankfully they have stopped inflatables being used. Plenty of ball games, (thats footballs, down to tennis balls) being used, so if one hits you, smile, and throw it back....hits you again, throw it out of the park).

Now, for our vacation, the pool was closed for 3 times. Mainly due to a individual (most likely to be a child), taking a toilet break in the pool. Not only is it closed, its disinfected, rightly so....however, please take note, that perhaps younger children should be wearing something a little more to stop these things from happening. This didnt stop our holiday being ruined, just made us get up and visit the beautiful beach and Sea.

Entertainment - VIVA sort it out. Ok, when we booked we were looking forward to another 2 weeks of MIXY MIXY SHAKY SHAKY mad Max and his team, but obviously they have moved on....or has he? He visited twice in the time we were there....and I have to say, The kids do live him.....it was like a breath of fresh air entered the place, as he entertained the kids for 30minutes and even his trademark head first dive had everybody laughing, apart from the better half who was told to WALK THE PLANK......
Cannot comment about KIDS entertainment but I guess it was a little subdued, however, the evening entertainment, NEEDS bringing up to date. If you are playing Bingo for 20minutes, make it exciting please. If you have acts on, make them good, as opposed to average.

I have seen the same acts for 5 years, and apart from George Pena and the Beatles, it was BORING.

Now, the interesting part. It must be the 21st Century. As the teenagers looked BORED every day. The previous time, the entertainment team created a teenagers club to get involved in with activities. NOT THIS TIME. They need something to do. Unless of course, teenagers like to sit around, faces embedded into tablets and phones......EVERY NIGHT......

Outside of the hotel, its a short stroll to the beach....evening time, street vendors come out to sell you paintings, laser lights, Whistles, or just stroll by. Turning right at the end, takes you past McDonalds (Free wifi but a little slow), and you can venture into shops, the Irish "Quarter", where there are plenty of bars, heading upwards and left, takes you eventually to the "Square" where there are plenty of bars and activities (its a good 30minutes though).
Outside of the hotel, heading left at the end of the street, takes you past more shops, supermarkets, chemists, a great LATIN Bar, where a really OLD but cool guy teaches anyone Salsa dances, and if you catch it right, there is a DANCE WAR going off between the bar patrons, and people across the street. Heading towards the roundabout, you can catch buses to Palma, for 3.50 euro. Be warned, be prepared to push....do as the locals do...take the right change if you can.....it drops you off at the Cathedral, and you can catch it straight back. Takes around 30minutes.

Heading past the roundabout, keeping the beach on your right, some more bars and restaurants. A good one, is El Balcon de Maria (See seperate review)

There was also a little street market in Santa Ponsa, with dancing Micro Pigs....unbelievable.

SUMMARY
The hotel finds itself in its season before modernisation. I think the staff look and feel like the hotel.....tired and want a pep up. Good to see management taking on board comments, but first time visitors may be in for a shock. Overall, we were happy with the service/quality etc. we knew what to expect, and dont forget, the rooms are only used for getting ready and sleeping in.
If the changes come (from 3star to 4star), it may be really beneficial to the hotel. If the price goes up however, it could put people off. Roof top Pool? Have to see that to believe it.

As always, thanks to the bar staff for getting drinks sorted in a hot and busy environment and people, please try and be nice to the staff, a polite Ola, buenos días and Gracias makes the difference.

Tips - 1st or 2nd Floor Roadside as opposed to rear view., or try top floor. 7.30 for 7.45 for sunbed towel excursion, back to bed, breakfast at 9.00, sunbed for 10.

2 room keys can make the difference....
NO FREE WIFI....try McDonalds, or Burger King, or see what your airtime provider comes up with.

Dont bother asking for drinks without ice.

Room Tip: Road facing, 1st or 2nd floor....or go for the top floor with a sea (albeit a side sea view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Guiltybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a week at this Hotel. First visited this hotel 19 years ago. Well where do I start, good welcome on arrival, rooms were clean although the mattress was a little uncomfortable and sheets were quite old and worn, towels were clean but old and threadbare. Shower curtain was a bit mouldy in both our rooms, inadiquate storage for two peaople in the room. Due to the location of the hotel and the amount of young groups got woke up most night / early mornings by noisy guests returning from a night out.
Food was ok, plenty of choice most nights but not of a good quality. Evening entertainment was limited.
Problems getting a sunbed unless you get up at 7 and put your towels out, there were warning signs out about unattended beds for over 40 minutes but this was never reinforced. There was no cleaning of the pool area during the day so plates and plastic cups would build up due to lazy guests not being able to walk to a bin.
Hotel is a 3* at the moment but is due to be upgraded to a 4* next year, they will obviously need to improve standards for this?
All staff were polite and friendly, Hotel tired and in desperate need of improving.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I (in our mid 20s ) arrived at the hotel around half 4 in the morning, after checking in we thought we might be offered a drink and something to eat..(this has always happened at any other hotel) but we weren't, we asked where we could get a water and were told we would have to buy it from the vending machines,(for 2 euro a bottle) as we were all inclusive I thought that was a bit cheeky, however we shrugged it off!
The hotel room was basic, but clean and we always got new fresh towels, however we only had one socket in the room, and another in the bathroom... And no full sized mirror! We were on the 5th floor and had a lovely view of the sea! In the morning we had missed breakfast so went to check out the pool area and snack bar, we were so disappointed, I don't know how anyone could eat the food the was being served! We are not major fussy eaters, but we definitely do not like food that's swimming in fat and tastes like it's from a burger van! We decided to go to see what was being served for lunch in the dining room, and it wasn't much different, the food was of a very cheap standard, and mostly dripping in oil!! Yuck!! Dinner was the same that night! We didn't eat in the hotel for the rest of the holiday apart from breakfast.. The pool area is very crammed! There aren't enough sunbeds for everyone! The only day that we did get a sunbed before 8 was in the shade and stank of sour milk, we left and went to beach ( we also spent everyday there after that) good job, as when we got in that evening there was a letter from reception staff apologising for someone "pooing" in the pool!! Eww!!
The location is great!!! Only 5mins from the beach/shops!!

Overall the hotel is average, we don't like holidaying and not ever leaving the hotel, as we like getting out and about, however as we were all inclusive we would have liked to have been able to eat in the hotel and spend a couple of days by the pool.. So great for people who like chips, and rowdy pool areas :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meegsy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel with my best friend. We arrived at 3 am and were directed into the hotel restaurant where a pate of buffet food was all laid out for us if we wanted it, a lovely touch.

The rooms were basic but did what we wanted, they were clean and towels were changed everyday, however not always replaced ! One evening we had to dry ourselves with hand towels, not ideal.

The food was the best I have ever had in an all inclusive resort, plenty of choice with lots of salad, fruit, the meat they served was beautiful.

They put on 3 or 4 professional shows a week in the evenings which were really good, the other nights was resort entertainment which was ok, your karaoke, Mr & Mrs etc etc.

The only downside to this hotel for us was the pool area, it certainly wasnt as big as it looked in the brochure, and the sunbeds were crammed in like sardines, and even though there are signs up everywhere stating you are unable to reserve sunbeds, everybody did, so if you wern't by the pool by 8am you were unlikely to get a bed. They have a 40 min rule but this wasn't enforced, its very annoying when some people dont turn up till lunchtime, very selfish in my opinion.

Overall a nice hotel but not sure I would return due to the pool area which is where I tend to spend 10 hrs of the day :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank clivedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Returned from the Rey Don Jamie last Saturday , I must be honest I did have some reservations as I booked this Hotel last year before the change in owners and reading some of the early reviews made me a little concerned , all the complaining was totally untrue , yes the entertainment team has changed and I did miss Max but lets give the new guys a chance it was a hard act to follow , I must say I was not disappointed , Hotel very clean , pool fab , great food and something for everyone , great company and a very friendly atmosphere , Charissa was fantastic with my 11 year old who went to kids club every day . Mr Chef was himself making everyone feel special as he has done year after year , colleague's like this are very hard to come by , what a great guy he is . Monica the hotel manager was very supportive when my mum lost her necklace , a member of staff from the reception desk actually took us in his own time to the Police Station and acted as an interpreter , that is what you call going the extra mile for your customers .
What a fantastic resort Santa Ponsa is , a trip to the square is a must and you wont be disappointed with the entertainment , excellent 3 start Hotel well run with a great team of staff , we had a fantastic time and will be returning next year . Alyson P

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the Hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alysonp367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Came here for a family holiday & it was excellent!!! The choice of food was amazing for all meals, the staff were very friendly & polite all the time. The hotel was very clean & we couldn't fault the Thomson reps either for their availability & helpfulness!!! The only downside was the fact that we had to get up early to claim loungers as there isn't enough for all the guests & we had to provide our own beach towels which wasn't advised on the website. These were purchased for €5 in the local shops so didn't break the bank & they had plenty of designs.


All in all we had a fantastic time away, the pool was closed a few times due to small children messing in it but the beach was 2 minutes away & the sea was warm!! The loungers you have to pay for but we took our towels & led on them for the couple of hours.

A lovely hotel & was far better than the 3 * it has been given. It will be closed & refurbished next year & made into a 4* hotel but will not be under Thomson.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#18 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pirates VIllage
Pirates VIllage
#8 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $76 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing