We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hotel once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“the best hotel once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

just returned after 2 weeks at the Rey Don Jaime, i am missing it already, please don't be put off with any bad reviews this is a great hotel, spotless , food excellent , staff friendly and then you have max and the gang what can i say the best entertainer on the whole island check him out on you tube doing his shakey shakey bingo bongo dance my oh my what a diamond he is, Roz ,Tom, and DJ Haiden are great too
we had a great time meeting up with the crowd again,and yes we are over 50, but still have fun
the hotel is in a prime spot for the beach, and pubs did not do any other shows as hotel has everything we needed , i am very fussy when holidaying and been on cruises but i recommend this hotel if you are looking for a great time
the pool is very cold but i managed it, and that says something for me to get in
i am disabled and the hotel is great as no big steps to climb, a ramp t the front and also upto the lifts so wheelchair access is great
looking up prices for next year and only home 2 hours

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpool0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    706
    320
    97
    71
See reviews for
667
922
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days for a girly trip. Aged 30 and 40, we were probably the youngest by about 20 years! When we booked it, First Choice advised it was a 4 star but we wouldn't rate it any more than a 3 star. That said, the hotel was lovely and clean, the food was tasty, fresh and plentiful and the staff were lovely. The entertainment was the 'same-ish' every night and only Max really made it stand out, he was so funny. There were games throughout the day which kept us busy. Overall we had a really nice time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosslyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just spent 10 days at this hotel. It was with trepidation that we arrived having read some not very nice reviews. We were given a room with a sunny balcony, as requested, and had a super time. There were lots of people there who return year after year. Our food was always hot and there was a huge amount of choice and also frequest specials with the chef in attendance to serve, including beautiful ham on the bone, hot crispy chicken, Spanish evening, omelettes made fresh to order etc etc. Also one day there were mussels, fresh prawns etc. and always some lovely fish. There were also microwaves available if anything needed to be re-heated.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful - I would mention that the majority of guests were like ourselves (pension age) so it was also nice and quiet - no lager louts. Also, the all-inclusive continued until midnight. Wherever we have stayed previously it ceased at ll.00pm.

All in all an excellent 3-star hotel. I would also mention that we are regular cruisers and have also had experience of hotels as far afield as Hong Kong and Delhi. So although this hotel is not 5-star it certainly does not charge anything remotely like 5-star costs and was brilliant value for money.

There are lots of sunbeds and also lots of new parasols. The sunbed space is a bit 'cosy' but is similar to lots and lots of other spanish hotels.

The hotel is central and Santa Ponsa is a nice smallish place with lovely sandy beach.,

Room Tip: Rooms with good views mostly have shady balconies. For a sunny balcony from morning to around 4pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Myself and my fiance spent 2 weeks at this hotel. My overall opinion is this is a 3* hotel and thats what you get!!!!!
OUr check in was fine as we were the only ones checking in when we arrived. The reception through out the holiday was fine and plesant to us. The biggest down fall is the rooms. The fixtures and furnishings were ok and clean. But the flimsy walls meant you could actually here the converstion of the people in the room next to you!!! Our 1st week was plagued with a couple who blarred the telly at 7am every morning and had it blarring at 11-12pm, it got to the point my partner bang on the wall really hard , but theat was just our experience. The maids in the hall were extremely loud as well from 6 am shouting down the hall to each other in spanish. OUr overall experience of the staff was they kept themselves to themselves and the barman were very dry aswell. There was the odd 1 or 2 that went out there way but that was like 1% off the staff.
We were All inclusive and i know this hotel is new to this scheme so i think at the moment its trial and error. But it got a little fustrating when you constatly had to take your room card with you to the bar at night and during the day buy the pool so they could swipe it so they knew you were all inclusive. The drinks were again what you expect from All inclusive 3 * local brands. You can pay extra for branded drinks if you like.
We knew going in Sept meant it would be a little quiter and not alot of children!!! But for the 1st week we were the youngest people in the hotel and it felt a bit like a Saga holiday the average age group was around 50 upwards, not thats theres anything wrong with this!!! What made our holiday was the people we got to know!!! At the time we went theres a lovely bunch of people who go year on year and we got to know them well from taking part in the competition throughout the day.
The entertainment team was nice. We both certainly agreed if it wasnt for Max I think we wouldnt have enjoyed our holiday as much. He knows his job inside out and his personality is spot on for the job he does!!!! Tom was nice but a little quiet and Roch seem nice she was the childs entertainer which meant she didnt do much or seem not to do much during the day, which I felt was s a shame and a waste for her not to do a bit more when theres times when theres hardly any kids, but all the same she seemed nice. Alot of people agreed if it wasnt for Max the hotel wouldnt really be the same. The shows at night are what what I expected from a 3* start hotel , some cheesy dance shows, but the best nights were the audience participation ie mr and mrs comp, etc.
The pool at the hotel was a not bad size for the time of year we went but I think in the height of summer with loads of kids and adults it would be a complete nightmare!!!! The water is the coldest I have ever known pool water to be so we were a bit disappointed with that, advice for going in the pool, jump in!!!!!
The location of the hotel is perfect your 4 min walk to the irish bars etc so the area around the hotel is quiet!!! The beach is gorgeous in Santa Ponsa I was very impressed with how clean it was and the water is so clear!!!!
For us it was the people we meant who made the holiday and Max the Rosu entertainer!!!! You really pay for what you get here and I was a little annoyed with people complaning about the food , what do you expect of a 3 * hotel. I work in travel selling holidays!!! and if a coustomer wanted a 3* hotel I would mention this hotel to them. Theres no extra frills and furnishing but if you go with the expection of your getting a 3* hotel and what goes with that , then you wont be disappointed!!!!

Room Tip: I thin its pot luck to be honest. But I would ask for Pool voew room high floor to try and get a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessalainax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here in sept with a group of youngish ladies!! food and wine excellent. good clean basic rooms. lovely swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds. all staff very helpful. very friendly and homely hotel better than many 4 stars i've stayed in. would recommend to groups and couples. very impressed with this hotel. very good value for money. beds very comfortable. we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our 7th visit to this hotel. We were celbrating our golden wedding. We didn't get the room we asked for although it was a room with a pool view but it was on the first floor so we saw mostly the roof of the eating area. We had a good holiday, but were disappointed with the food quality, it has gone down hill over the years. Max and his crew did an excellent job, but we were disappointed with the cabaret shows, its was mainly involving he audience, Mr & Mrs, Ideal Couple etc which cost the hotel nothing, aparently they are not aloud loud music outside, so what was wrong with inside, it is air conditioned. We went all inclusive and I found the bar staff miserable, i asked for a drink with no ice and they thought this very amusing and was having a laugh amongst themselves all in spanish of course!! The hotel itself is lovely and clean, although the public toilet in reception wasn't up the much. Rooms were cleaned everyday and clean towels everyday, but same bedding was used for a week. High charges for a safe. I must say the children were well looked after. This is advertised as a 4* no way! they need to improve on the food. Think we will be trying somewhere different next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondoxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Spent 10 days here in September, there was plenty food but nothing worth eating and what we did eat was cold. The pool terrace and the dining room were always crowded. Late check out
cost you 50 euro's. My husband had an accident on the last day of our holiday and the reception staff did nothing to help us. The person that did help was the lifeguard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa

Property: Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Viva Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing