We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are back in Miami and we miss mallorca . this hotel was the best of our trip. Very nice spa , good food, great rooms. The staff was also very nice. The location is unbeatable. It seams a brand new hotel. All renovated Really a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mactwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing our hotel Sentido Punta del Mar for your stay in Majorca. We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having spent hours trying to find the perfect hotel close to Palma and within a strict budget, I came upon the Sentido Punta del Mar. From the photos on the site, I was quite impressed and immediately interested. Too make a long story short, even though many of the reviews were negative, I decided to book. We arrived on a sunny morning on Good Friday and although very early, we were immediately given a room and even invited to have breakfast. The reception was very friendly and the check in process quick and efficient. We moved into our room and then went looking for the breakfast room. The restaurant is large, airy, modern, bright and quite welcoming with an amazing view of the ocean... and that's where it ends! The food (I can only speak about the breakfast) is just plain awful - at first glance, the buffet seems to offer everything you could possibly want... upon scrutiny, one becomes aware of low-quality products, oily prepared dishes, dried out cold cuts, jams that are spilling out of the jars, bread that feels stale, a milk dispenser that is always just about empty, a coffee station that only offers powdered coffee with powdered milk and eggs sunny side up, over-easy, scrambled and omelettes that have all been pre-cooked and left under the hot lamp for hours! The word "fresh" is clearly not part of the Sentido vocabulary. After being ill with a queasy stomach two days in a row, I ate toast and honey with a cup of tea the remaining three days of our stay. And now to the room. Located on the 7th floor and facing the sea and complete with large terrace, I was excited! Gorgeous view!! That night the winds were near hurricane force and I was wakened by the door of the room rattling with every gust. I was just waiting for it to blow in. The room was actually quite nice with light colors, but virtually no decoration. The bathroom was a catastrophe! Again, at first glance, modern, stylish, clean. Upon usage, the toilet so close to the glass door of the shower that you had to sit sideways on the toilet. The sliding glass door was not watertight to the floor, thus causing flooding. The drain of the shower constantly stopped up. Three days in a row, the bathroom was tidied, but not cleaned. My final disappointment was the parking situation. There is NO PARKING!! This is stated on the website and I was aware of this fact, but one assumes that there must be parking somewhere. Well, there is... down the hill and far away. As there are two large hotels in the immediate vicinity, the parking situation is extremely limited. One must be prepared to circle around Santa Ponsa for up to 30 minutes before finding a parking spot. The happiest guests seemed to be the bike riders. They of course had no car and the bike shop is directly a part of the hotel. All in all, this is an hotel with great potential located on a hill overlooking the sea with stunning views. The staff is super friendly. The food dreadful and the rooms poorly designed and constructed. I will definitely look for an alternative upon my return to Mallorca.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We regret that we have not been at the level with our breakfast service as you expected. It is true that we do not have private parking and sometimes it is difficult to find parking outside. We also regret that you did not like the design of our rooms. We will improve these points.

With kind regards

Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a week in this great hotel as part of our tour of Europe. Why we chose it? A friend's recommendation and he was absolutely right. We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel has truly amazing views, the personnel is very friendly and helpful, the spa is great too (immaculately clean and offers fantastic treatments), and the food is excellent (great choice and quality). We will definitely stay again in this wonderful hotel. I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 321Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you to choice our hotel for your stay in Majorca. It is a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel has changed hands between are two visits. The first time the hotel accepted children. The food was excellent and was never repetitive. The rooms did need a upgrade but overall a very good deal. However, since the take over children are no longer welcome, the food average at best and very repetitive. The rooms have been upgraded to a better standard but overall I think the hotel has taken a step back in standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeY124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your opinion. We are very sorry that you don't like the new adults only concept.

With kind regards

Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went for my wifes birthday in September - absolutely fabulous location with very modern minimalistic decor . Room and view brilliant - one night a la carte was delicious - food generally sufficient and plentiful but repetitious. Entertainment below par and difficult to get sunbed. We would not go again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank PatElse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here last September what a joke to say they are a 4star no way they were rude on reception especially the German I thought the a la carte was a sham u were in the same restaurant as everyone else with a glass petition separating you from the rest of the guests it was also too quiet the food was mediocre at best the views of Santa ponsa was stunning I would come back to Santa ponsa especially to visit the celtic pub celts well but never in this hotel Jon & Joanne

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jonnybhoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I really think that Sentido hotel is a great hotel but they fall really short of customer service! We had to ask them for a room change 3 times before they moved us!!!! Upon arrival we were given a good room but it was somehow unfinished as they had just opened for the season and we had several problems with the door and the shower and no apologies were made! The second room we were offered was much better. I would love to go bsck and I hope they have all these problems!

Stayed: June 2012
14  Thank goJohn801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.8 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $102 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing