We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like an oceancruiser”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful hotel!
Entering the lobby with the big windows gives one the feeling being on a cruise.
What wonderful views: from the lobby, the pool and the rooms.
The rooms a very clean and comfortable, we liked the food, too.
We didn't notice the smell people keep complaining about.
The pool area ist very nice too, although we used it only once due to the autumn that has arrived in late october.

Room Tip: Romm 322 is a corner room with ocean views to two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bicheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel itself was top class the only thing that let it down was the awful smell that kept reocurring , food was plentiful and staff very friendly and helpful , indoor pool what can I say lovely very relaxing and peaceful , as it was the last week ,there was not a lot going on but the two girls who look after the guests where brill nothing was a bother for them , the only downside to the hotel is you have to pay for bottled water which as an allinclusive package i thought it would be included ,but unfortunatly not and no morning papers delivered , it was not to bad for my husband and I as we are both abled bodied but there was a few people there who were not very mobile so a walk to the shop was out of the question , but overall a very good hol ....

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask fot the superior suite 7th floor they are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sapphire1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review. We hope that during the time the hotel will be closed in winter all the isues can be resolved for the next season.
Please the next time inform us which special newspaper you prefere and we will make sure to get it for you.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a week staying at this hotel on a Thomas Cook holiday.
The location is superb with great views and great sunsets. The hotel is clean and the staff very welcoming and helpful. Our room on the third floor was large enough for the two of us and was kept very clean.
The buffet breakfasts and dinners were plentiful with a lot of choice and the empty platters quickly replenished.
Although we didn't take part in any of the activities, the two girls who were organising them were always cheerful and not pushy.
The only concern was the central stairway, which became wet when it rained, as it is open to the outside. Although the cleaners were quick to mop up, it could be slippery, especially as the stairs are marble - water and marble are not good mixers. Rita, the TC rep, said she had reported this to the hotel and to the TC head office and had suggested that anti-slip strips be put on each step.
A reasonable 15-20 minute stroll takes you to the centre of Santa Ponca, with many bars and restaurants to choose from, if you wanted to have a meal in the town. We would recommend the Gala restaurant, situated overlooking the beach - super food and excellent staff.
Altogether a great week in the October sun.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, so a good view and sunshine are always available from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Honeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Regarding the slippery staircase we can let you that we are planning to cover it up from the fifth floor down during the winterbreak. Thank you again for your nice review and maybe we can welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday, celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and couldn't have chosen a better hotel! The staff are really polite and eager to please - even the ladies who cleaned the rooms and worked so hard keeping the entire hotel so spotless were always ready with a smile and a "good morning".

We were greeted with a refreshing glass of orange juice when we arrived, with was a lovely touch, and the staff on Reception couldn't have been more helpful. The girls providing the entertainment worked extremely hard at making sure everyone had an enjoyable time - which everyone did. The pools are beautiful and it is lovely not to have any children about!

If you want to visit Santa Ponsa, you couldn't do better than to stay at this lovely hotel - and definitely go for a room on the higher floors - you won't be disappointed. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful week - we will certainly be returning!

Room Tip: We had an amazing room on the 7th floor and the views were fantastic. Lovely large balcony complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guests,

As you write, the best notice for us is that you will come back. Thank you very much for your review and your kind words.

We look forwards to see you again.

Best Regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A great stay in this superbly located modern hotel. No children and all inclusive - what could be better? The weather wasn't that kind to us for the whole 7 days, but the peace and quiet made up for it. The food was well up to standard and the formal restaurant menu was superb. The junior suite accommodation was clean and the King size bed fabulously comfortable. Our balcony was large, and complete with 2 sun beds. Every room had a sea view (which in most cases you would have to pay extra for). A steady stroll to the supermarket and shops/bars took only 10 minutes. The reps (Ashley/Jenny) were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The entertainment was good but I've seen better. The staff were extremely helpful and polite at all times. One aspect of our accommodation stood out and that was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room - something that we have always been accustomed to. I hope they remedy this. In conclusion, we had a lovely time, celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary, and will definitely be returning to this hotel sometime soon.

Room Tip: On one side of the hotel you overlook the Santa Ponsa Bay with the sun all day. On the other, (where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Customers,

Thank you very much to share your experience with us and for your kind words.
These views motivate us to keep working hard. We are flattered to have been chosen to enjoy special days for you.

Kind regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had a fab holiday here. Marianne started it off in style by letting us choose from 2 rooms. Thank you Marianne - you're a gem.We booked a junior suite after reading the reviews - this was worth the extra money. We had a brilliant room on the 7th floor overlooking Santa Ponsa bay, which gets the sun all day. You can see the sunset from the restaurant on the other side. There was a good choice of food - it's difficult to please everybody but we looked forward to it every day, and you could help yourself to water beer or wine without having to ask. The staff were very friendly and helpful -especially Alejandro who was eager to please. Petra deserves a mention as do the girls who tried to entertain us each day. My husband developed a really sore back while there and the lady in the spa sorted it out for him. We wanted a restful holiday and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shelast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sentido Punta del Mar. We also would like to thank you for your friendly comment about your stay. Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

Thank you very much again for your comment of our hotel. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.


Kindest Regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

2 adults: 30th Sept to 7th Oct 2012, All Inclusive

This was our 1st time at the Sentido Punta Del Mar and were very pleased with the hotel, staff, views and facilities.
It's obviously Adult only, which was superb for a middle aged couple like ourselves (we've had the screaming kid part of life). No beach-balls, lilo's, spilt ice-creams or drink, very little noise; totally relaxing holiday indeed.
We met some great people of a "similar" age and had plenty laughs and interesting conversations, always a bonus when on holiday.

1: The flight:- Horrendous in both directions! Just how many seats can TC cram into a jet? I'm a little under 6ft but was in severe discomfort both going and returning with very limited leg room and no elbow room; I even gave up attempting to eat my in flight meals, not that they were that appetising anyway! It's the last time we buy the meals, total waste of money, we'll be taking sandwiches from now on and will think twice before travelling with TC.
I would also state that the flights now are nothing but a mobile shop 7 miles in the air; from take-off to landing it's sell, sell, sell! What ever happened to the friendly, talkative cabin crew who passed out a wee bag of nuts and a mint when landing; pure greed in my opinion.

2: The transfer:- A mini bus to the hotel which took around 45mins with 2 drop off's. On the way back, a full size bus with pick up's a plenty; it took about 1.5hours being picked up at 7:20am for an 11am flight!

3: The hotel:- Stunning!!
The location was amazing, the views stunning and I'll say it again, no screaming kids!
We were greeted by the concierge who was handing out orange juice as we came in, nice touch.
The reception area really is beautiful, well worth sitting there at some point just to enjoy the lovely décor and views.
Only 2 off 4 lifts were working during our stay which became slow during feeding times.
Our room was lovely; Room 203, Junior Suite. Again, fantastic views over the bay and looking out onto the Mediterranean the other direction. Fridge, Hair dryer, Flat-screen telly, faux leather chairs and couch. We were lucky to have a refurbished suite.
During peak times (lunch/dinner), we did have a strong smell coming through the air-con, possibly due to inadequate plumbing egress during shower usage times, it was annoying but didn't last long. The shower/toilet room was very well done, although the toilet was a little too close to the wall.
The room was cleaned daily and the staff were again, very courteous. and efficient.

4: Food:- Breakfast was very good with plenty variation for all tastes, although the Spanish bacon was a let down. Loads of fruit, cereals, breads and fried stuff available.
One issue; there are no tea/coffee making facilities in your room (this needs to be remedied); You can't get a coffee or tea until the restaurant opens at 8am, not great if like me (a coffee-holic) you're up around 6am every morning; a machine should be made available in the lower bar area out of hours!

5: Pool/s: Lovely and cold (trust me, very cold), cleaned every day although there was slime all around the edges, this should have been removed once every few days! The pool areas were very well looked after too, not hundreds of plastic sunbeds, but enough for all and no congestion. The PVC double beds are an amazing addition but you'll have to be up early (or be German or English) to get one, join the morning ritual and get your towels on them early; not something I agree with, but you've no chance if you don't.

6: Pool bar & entertainment area:- Again, very clean, welcoming and spacious. I have no gripes at all with the bar; all staff were very courteous and friendly, even more so when you ordered in Spanish (shame on you if you can't even say a few words in your host country).
The bar food (lunchtime) was the usual burgers, chips, hotdogs, pizza etc. They were however good quality and always served on clean plates (real crockery) with side salad and napkins.

7: Dining room/buffet restaurant:- Very clean, great window views and friendly service.
The food was not quite 4 star, but very nice with a good variety which "should" cater for all tastes. Pork got a wee bit repetitive but was always tasty, as was all the other dishes; no complaints from me or my Wife.
You get one night in the A La Carte restaurant included in your AI, it's a 7 course pre-prepared meal which will not cater for all tastes; it's those silly wee taster portions you get, served on roof tiles and huge plates. Personally, give it a miss and stick to the buffet ;)

8: Entertainment:- The 2 young lassies (Jenny and Ashley) do a good job rallying the troops for light games during the day; French Bowls, Pool, lawn darts etc. The evenings are not too bad with quizzes, bingo etc. to start with, then hired entertainment till 11pm. The 2 lassies did a decent job on singing a few songs on alternate nights. Again, certainly not 4 star entertainment, but sufficient.

9: Location:- Can't fault it at all, absolutely stunning!

10: Internet Access:- although free, very poor connection speeds, so don't expect to much from it

Overall: We will definitely consider returning next year but would like to see improvements as mentioned above. It's no 4 star plus as advertised, but I believe it will be if these small issues can be rectified.

One major grumble: 2 German film crews took over the entire pool area for a complete day on the Wednesday which was handled very, very poorly by Thomas Cook; I have submitted a claim for a partial refund (as a few others will have too). I'll not go into this, but poor show Thomas Cook!!

My Rating for the holiday would be 7 out of 10.

Room Tip: Pick a Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FiferGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much to share with us your opinion about your stay in Sentido Punta del Mar. We hear them all in order to get the excellence in our service, so we will study your comments about it, and will do our best to not have this points again.

Thank so much for your feed back

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.8 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 181 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $97 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing