We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, but not 4 Star+”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

2 adults: 30th Sept to 7th Oct 2012, All Inclusive

This was our 1st time at the Sentido Punta Del Mar and were very pleased with the hotel, staff, views and facilities.
It's obviously Adult only, which was superb for a middle aged couple like ourselves (we've had the screaming kid part of life). No beach-balls, lilo's, spilt ice-creams or drink, very little noise; totally relaxing holiday indeed.
We met some great people of a "similar" age and had plenty laughs and interesting conversations, always a bonus when on holiday.

1: The flight:- Horrendous in both directions! Just how many seats can TC cram into a jet? I'm a little under 6ft but was in severe discomfort both going and returning with very limited leg room and no elbow room; I even gave up attempting to eat my in flight meals, not that they were that appetising anyway! It's the last time we buy the meals, total waste of money, we'll be taking sandwiches from now on and will think twice before travelling with TC.
I would also state that the flights now are nothing but a mobile shop 7 miles in the air; from take-off to landing it's sell, sell, sell! What ever happened to the friendly, talkative cabin crew who passed out a wee bag of nuts and a mint when landing; pure greed in my opinion.

2: The transfer:- A mini bus to the hotel which took around 45mins with 2 drop off's. On the way back, a full size bus with pick up's a plenty; it took about 1.5hours being picked up at 7:20am for an 11am flight!

3: The hotel:- Stunning!!
The location was amazing, the views stunning and I'll say it again, no screaming kids!
We were greeted by the concierge who was handing out orange juice as we came in, nice touch.
The reception area really is beautiful, well worth sitting there at some point just to enjoy the lovely décor and views.
Only 2 off 4 lifts were working during our stay which became slow during feeding times.
Our room was lovely; Room 203, Junior Suite. Again, fantastic views over the bay and looking out onto the Mediterranean the other direction. Fridge, Hair dryer, Flat-screen telly, faux leather chairs and couch. We were lucky to have a refurbished suite.
During peak times (lunch/dinner), we did have a strong smell coming through the air-con, possibly due to inadequate plumbing egress during shower usage times, it was annoying but didn't last long. The shower/toilet room was very well done, although the toilet was a little too close to the wall.
The room was cleaned daily and the staff were again, very courteous. and efficient.

4: Food:- Breakfast was very good with plenty variation for all tastes, although the Spanish bacon was a let down. Loads of fruit, cereals, breads and fried stuff available.
One issue; there are no tea/coffee making facilities in your room (this needs to be remedied); You can't get a coffee or tea until the restaurant opens at 8am, not great if like me (a coffee-holic) you're up around 6am every morning; a machine should be made available in the lower bar area out of hours!

5: Pool/s: Lovely and cold (trust me, very cold), cleaned every day although there was slime all around the edges, this should have been removed once every few days! The pool areas were very well looked after too, not hundreds of plastic sunbeds, but enough for all and no congestion. The PVC double beds are an amazing addition but you'll have to be up early (or be German or English) to get one, join the morning ritual and get your towels on them early; not something I agree with, but you've no chance if you don't.

6: Pool bar & entertainment area:- Again, very clean, welcoming and spacious. I have no gripes at all with the bar; all staff were very courteous and friendly, even more so when you ordered in Spanish (shame on you if you can't even say a few words in your host country).
The bar food (lunchtime) was the usual burgers, chips, hotdogs, pizza etc. They were however good quality and always served on clean plates (real crockery) with side salad and napkins.

7: Dining room/buffet restaurant:- Very clean, great window views and friendly service.
The food was not quite 4 star, but very nice with a good variety which "should" cater for all tastes. Pork got a wee bit repetitive but was always tasty, as was all the other dishes; no complaints from me or my Wife.
You get one night in the A La Carte restaurant included in your AI, it's a 7 course pre-prepared meal which will not cater for all tastes; it's those silly wee taster portions you get, served on roof tiles and huge plates. Personally, give it a miss and stick to the buffet ;)

8: Entertainment:- The 2 young lassies (Jenny and Ashley) do a good job rallying the troops for light games during the day; French Bowls, Pool, lawn darts etc. The evenings are not too bad with quizzes, bingo etc. to start with, then hired entertainment till 11pm. The 2 lassies did a decent job on singing a few songs on alternate nights. Again, certainly not 4 star entertainment, but sufficient.

9: Location:- Can't fault it at all, absolutely stunning!

10: Internet Access:- although free, very poor connection speeds, so don't expect to much from it

Overall: We will definitely consider returning next year but would like to see improvements as mentioned above. It's no 4 star plus as advertised, but I believe it will be if these small issues can be rectified.

One major grumble: 2 German film crews took over the entire pool area for a complete day on the Wednesday which was handled very, very poorly by Thomas Cook; I have submitted a claim for a partial refund (as a few others will have too). I'll not go into this, but poor show Thomas Cook!!

My Rating for the holiday would be 7 out of 10.

Room Tip: Pick a Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FiferGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much to share with us your opinion about your stay in Sentido Punta del Mar. We hear them all in order to get the excellence in our service, so we will study your comments about it, and will do our best to not have this points again.

Thank so much for your feed back

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and i have just returned after staying in this hotel for 2 weeks , it was one of the best holls we have had, hotel great, staff great, Ashley and Jeny really helpd make our holiday great they where so nice and worked there fingers to the bone to make your stay a good one . We will be going back to this hotel again soon

Room Tip: they are all good , if your not happy then ask reception to move you ,,they will if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russ770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sentido Punta del Mar. Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you the next year again.

With kind regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just spent two weeks at this renovated hotel. It was a great place before the changes but is even better now. It's become all inclusive with no children which is great for us 'older' people. If you like the beach this hotel is not for you but staying around the pool is just as good. It has three pools not too big but big enough. The water could be warmer but it does the job of cooling you down when it's too hot which it was on most days. The choice of food suits everyone as far as I could see. They have a new 'blue bar' which is on the upper floor with cocktails and veiws second to none. All the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. Entertainment every night from two lovely young English girls who were a delight. O.K. there was also bingo and lots of quizzes but hey what do you want for your money! Some people may complain about a film company taking over the pool for one day but it didn't spoll our holiday at all. You must remember that the first two weeks of october is the end of the season and most bars are closing so it was quiet at the hotel but that's what we wanted!

Room Tip: If you want a 'private' balcony for sunbathing ask for the fifth floor. If you want terrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

very nice area beautiful views from hotel room very small room for two people very little storage facilities no regrigerator room was never cleaned properly full week apart from bathroom sink beds never changed until last day food ok but waiting a lot for food to be replenished a-la-carte menu a joke lots of sunbeds but no room to put them anywhere result we sunbathed only one day would not go back two this particular hotel.

Room Tip: ask for on floor as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we stayed here 8/10 to 15/10 and had a good holiday, we read poor reviews and tried to cancel and go somewhere else but this would have cost us far too much so I e mailed the hotel to ask for a jr suite as these seemed to get the better reviews. We checked in very efficiently(with cool drink) and were given room 310, as it was'nt on lower floors we thought we would look at it before paying the extra e30 per night upgrade to a jr suite. I could not fault it at all, so we kept our standard room, it had a very private balcony overlooking santa ponsa and as the weather most of the time was cloudy/rainy we could still sit outside as it was sheltered. The room had a real double bed ( not two singles pushed together) a large flat screen TV, comfy chair and coffee table, large mirror fronted wardrobe and a nice modern shower room with hair dryer. The food was O K,not great, but could always find something to eat, breakfast the same. we only had lunch once during our stay, and that was at the pool bar and usual pizza, burgers chips etc. We did go to al la cart restaurant one evening and can't understand what all the fuss was about, We both had an upset stomach the following day, cant blame that, but two other people who ate there a couple of days earlier said they had the same thing !!!!!! We found all the staff friendly and helpful. Overall I would say the four star rating is too generous at the moment, more soundproofing in corridors required and a lounge/entertainment room is seriously needed as we went once and felt as if we sitting in a cheap caravan park cafe, and bingo/ quiz are not my idea of entertainment. The blue bar is lovely and went there most evenings ( weather allowing). would I go again probably not, but we didn't have brill weather and I think that as a big effect on your holiday. I would recommend the 'Come fly with me' show, maybe a bit expensive but worth every penny. and cant end without thanking Thomas Cook rep Rita,she's a gem.

Room Tip: seems that your holiday will depend on which room you are allocated, rooms overlooking santa ponsa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laplaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

had 11 days at punta del mar 3 10 12 to 14 10 12 the hotel was spotless food was excelent the entertainment was fun Jenny and ashley made our holiday,they did a fantastic job,allways smiling and pleasant,made the games we played fun,which is what you want on hols,but if you dont want to play they dont force you GILL AND ROB LLANDUDNO i

Room Tip: we were on 5th floor no noise lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillwilliams0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Room:
We had also read the reviews about the room selection, but decided not to book a junior suite. We emailed the hotel beforehand to ask for a quiet room on a high floor with a sunny balcony, and Room 507 gave us exactly that. The very large balcony got the sun all day and had 2 chairs, a table and 2 loungers. Room 507 was halfway between the lifts and stairwell, which is noisy, and the air con units near room 501. The room had 2 beds pushed together. They weren’t overly comfy, but OK. We had a flat screen TV but no fridge, even though rooms a few doors away did. There was no hair dryer. We agree with a previous reviewer about the building works. No doors seemed to fit (see also Spa below), and on our last day, there were many buckets collecting ceiling drips from the heavy rain. People mention staying on the “reception side” or the “Blue Bar side”. This meant little until we realised the angle of the two wings of the hotel. Basically the latter rooms see the sunrise and most of the sunset, and so get the sun all day. If you prefer a cooler room, opt for the “reception side” which face west.

Bathroom:
This was beautiful to look at but impractical due to lack of shelves to put things on. The shower head shot water out at all angles when we arrived, but this was quickly resolved by the maintenance man who took it away to clean. After that, it was perfect. Shower gel was not replenished and I had to ask for some at the spa, having got nowhere at reception (see also Reception below), and then help myself off the maid’s trolley.

Main Restaurant:
The main dining room meals were good, as were the lower grade staff. Our complaint is that guests on half-board frequently took out numerous food items from breakfast, unchallenged. On one occasion, someone actually collected 2 dinner plates of food at lunchtime and took it to eat by the pool. Conversely, on the only day when we should have pre-ordered a packed lunch but forgot, the head waiter tried to stop us taking out some fruit and cake. Unfortunately, we have to say that there seemed to be different rules depending on nationality. (See also Reception below)

A La Carte Restaurant:
We ate in the so-called A La Carte restaurant once. Although it was very nice, the receptionist failed to pass on my veggie request, and the chef had to do his best ad hoc. I say “so-called” because this was actually “Table d'hôte”, i.e. limited or no choice.

Pool bar:
The snacks we ordered were of good quality, particularly the tuna salads. The youngest bar tender was very efficient and friendly, and loved people to try out their Spanish.

Evening entertainment:
The pool bar and lounge area let the hotel down for the evenings. It was like an echoey cheap canteen, with furniture to match. If Sentido thinks anything coloured white and blue makes it alright, they’re wrong. We only saw a couple of acts in the evening as it was not a pleasant place to sit.

Pool area:
The water was cold, but as the October temperatures exceeded our expectations, it was refreshing. We had no problem getting sunbeds, but there was a large German group in the hotel who seemed to go out every day, so we may have been lucky. The major plus point is that the area gets the sun all day, so there’s no need to shuffle to another area to avoid being plunged into the shade.

Blue Bar:
This was possibly the best area of the hotel for several reasons: the extremely sociable and efficient bar tender called Paco; the all-inclusive nature of the hotel which led to guests meeting for pre-dinner and post-dinner drinks; the sunset views. We met some lovely couples from Scotland, Leicester, Nottingham, Llandudno, Southport, etc. It is the friendliest hotel that we’ve ever stayed in.

Spa:
We used the spa pool, sauna, steam room and showers several times. On 12th October, the day before our departure, the pool was heated and it was delightful. Before that it was very cold. The sauna was kept hot, but the steam room was cold and draughty due to an ill-fitting door.

Reception:
This is one of the hotel’s disappointments. Aside from Petra, the hotel’s concierge, the other reception staff were inefficient, unhelpful, surly and understood English only when it suited them. Examples: I asked about the SwissPost stamps sold with postcards at the local shops and just got a shrug, when surely they should know about something so common. I asked where the Daybreak fitness class was and was told to go to the gym, but as it was in the Blue Bar, I missed it. This was appalling as it’s an advertised feature on the Sentido website and had been operating 6 days a week since the start of the season. As mentioned above, they failed to inform the A La Carte restaurant that I am a veggie, despite asking if we had any dietary requirements. The head receptionist was totally unconcerned that there had been children around the hotel, including one who was running up and down the 7th floor walkways knocking on doors. She alleged the child was helping a guest move in. When informed that there’d been other children in the hotel, she couldn’t care less. Finally, when checking out, the head receptionist started to deal with us and then broke off to talk to a German woman who had just appeared. What a difference to the reception team at the little Hotel Paraiso Beach in Es Cana, Ibiza.

Management:
The hotel manager was seen but not heard, and he made no attempt at all to acknowledge his British guests. As others have mentioned, Thomas Cook Germany took over the whole pool area and both pools for filming for a whole day and early evening. Initially, our rep (Rita) told us it would be one pool and half the pool area for half a day. The hotel management made no attempt to inform guests, other than by notices in the lifts. Even these notices then disappeared. There was ample opportunity for the hotel manager to gain goodwill from guests, maybe by putting on free shuttles to the beach or to the nearest other Sentido hotel (at Cala Vinas), or maybe to another hotel. However, all we were offered was a free trip to a market for a few hours, and that offer came from Thomas Cook UK, not the hotel. To those who haven’t been to the hotel, this may sound petty, but there is no other outside area at the hotel. I believe they did open the Blue Bar area before its usual 16.30 opening time, but drinks were not available. To add insult to injury, the film crew were still there the next morning and only left the area an hour or so later after some heated arguments. The filming gave rise to much speculation about the hotel’s future because several child actors were brought in, strangely for an adults-only environment .Although it didn’t affect us personally, the TV/card room was also closed for several days for use by the film crew and then for a conference. Following the filming, the manager closed off part of the Blue Bar for an evening, taking the tables away, and allowing paying guests access only via some steep steps. One British guest used a wheelchair and was effectively room-bound whilst all this was happening.

Fitness Classes:
I had been looking forward to the fitness classes. Having finally located the Daybreak class, I found it was the last session to be delivered by the highly-experienced instructor. Apparently the 2 entertainment girls were to take it over, and the afternoon session was to be scrapped totally. As the Daybreak class is advertised via Sentido’s website as yoga and tai chi, I had no desire to risk personal injury being coached by a person with less knowledge than myself, and so gave up. We were around the pool area most days at 12 noon, but the advertised Aqua sessions never took place. We were asked twice if we wanted to participate but, as the girl hadn’t even brought out any music or water aids, it was clear what answer she wanted.

Overall impression of the hotel and Sentido:
The website says “On arrival at a SENTIDO Hotel & Resort you are greeted with a smile, a refreshing towel and a welcome drink.” Well, we got a small glass of orange juice! One out of three! It also says “Our hotel newsletter brings you tips and information about the resort and its surroundings.” What newsletter? It says that the Adults-only hotels have a “Weekly White Night”. I don’t know what that is, but we noticed nothing. For the Punta Del Mar, it says “The hotel has direct access to the sea”. Well yes, if you like climbing over rocks to a rusty ladder or throwing yourself off the rocks!
This hotel does have beautiful views and light and spacious interiors and could be fantastic, but sadly there is much to be done. Also, as there is so much variation in rooms that cost the same, we will not stay there again as we may not be so fortunate next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on “Blue Bar side” get sun all day. Rooms on "reception side” face west and are cooler. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wacktle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.8 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $102 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing