We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

When we arrived (10th July) we were met by a beautiful hotel. The receptionist big and modern and has a superb view out to sea. The receptionist was very helpful and offered us a cold drink on arrival. Once checked it, which took no more then 5 minutes we were off to our room (731). Our too was on the top floor and had a superb view out to sea. We were lucky as the sun was on our balcony in the afternoon. The room as a whole was big a bright, double bed, dressing table and chair and a sofa and coffee table. We also had a fridge and hair dryer. The balcony was huge with 2 sun loungers, 2 chairs and a table. The room was very clean. A safe is €3 a day and a returnable deposit of €15
The pool area is big and the pool clean again with good views around the bay. The only problem is pig ignorant Brits getting up at 6.30/7 to reserve sunbeds. We got up at 9 and never had a problem getting one and on the occasion we didn't we asked and promptly they brought out more.
The food served in the restaurant was superb. Breakfast was English or continental. Sausages, bacon, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, hash browns, potatoes, fried bread. Toast. Also cold meats, cheeses and lots of pastries etc. Lunch was a buffet but we chose to eat in the snack bar where you could have pizza, burgers, chips, salad, sanwiches.
Dinner was again a buffet, lots of different things to choose, pasta with 2 different sauces, 2 meats show cooked, potatoes, veg etc.
One night we tried the 7 course meal, this is free if all inclusive. It was amazing.
Drinks if all inclusive are self service in the restaurant, wine, beer, water and fizzy. During the day you can get spirits, cocktails etc.
The entertainment is good and run by an English girl called Kylie. During the day you could play water polo, bowls, aqua gym and even scuba dive in the pool on a Thursday. Evening entertainment was good to, bingo 2 nights followed by a quiz. We also had a Michael Buble tribute, a Caberaet and Kylie singing.
The hotel is a five minute walk down to shops, restaurants, bars and supermarket.
We couldn't fault anything about the hotel Only the Brits who tarnish our image yet again, one setting light to his bed and another who got arrested. I thought this was adults only after all.
Don't listen to the moans about anything, they tend to be from the older clientele who have nothing else to worry about, if there is something you want then the hotel will provide it for you. Just ask!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Sameb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Sameb1987,

In first place, thank you for your motivation words. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome. Your positive words motivated us to keep on working with illusion and enthusiasms.

Thank you for share your experience with us and we hope to welcome you again.

Best regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

For a group of 16 to 20 year olds (at first) the hotel didn't seem suitable. We had been transferred to "Punta del Mar" from it's sister hotel (100m down the road) "Jardin de Playa" due to our rooms being trashed on arrival at around midnight. It had been a long day; we had a terrible bus journey around to the hotel and being transferred to another hotel was not what we wanted to start our holiday off with. However, everything worked out for the best...

We arrived and instantly, our first words were "wow!" The reception area was absolutely stunning, not knowing what the view from the reception looking out at sea was like. It seemed surreal at first, how we'd been transferred to such a lovely hotel compared to our previous. The reception was just as nice as every other inch of the hotel and we certainly made use of the all-inclusive.

We were put into two separate rooms (528 and 517) which were fairly close to each other and both located on the 5th floor. There was only a few minor problems with the rooms, the first being in 517 with the air-conditioning not working correctly - this was soon rectified. The view from the balcony over-looked a beautiful sea, with cliffs on either side into miles of deep blue water. The beds were comfy with plenty of room for toiletries, clothes and personal belongings etc. however, the bathroom door in 528 did not close properly which made things a little awkward.

The hotel rooms were regularly cleaned, with clean towels every other day. However, our stay lasted for 10 nights and our bedsheets weren't changed at all throughout the stay. This wasn't too much of a problem as we mainly used the hotel room for sleeping and recovering from previous nights out in Santa Ponsa and Magaluf. The maids were friendly when they came into the room but spoke very little English, and didn't understand that we didn't speak Spanish.

The restaurant was spectacular, the food we ate from the buffet was just as nice as the look of the restaurant itself. The waiting on staff and the chefs were very friendly and spoke English - they were also very helpful throughout the stay. The only problem at first was that we didn't know what some of the foods were, but eventually more and more labels were placed around the buffet unit. There was plenty of vegetarian options and fresh food was constantly being brought out so none went cold.

The swimming pool had a very calm, relaxed atmosphere. Sometimes it was almost too calm as there were speakers around with no music playing. The snack bar by the pool had a wide range of food and drink throughout the day. The staff were very friendly with everyone, and were helpful throughout our entire stay.

The blue bar was the best thing about the hotel. Antonio that worked behind the bar spoke excellent English, and he always had a smile on his face. The blue bar was the perfect place to drink before a night out in town, with a wide range of spirits and cocktails to choose from whilst drinking there.

Overall I had a fantastic stop at Punta del Mar, possibly the best holiday I've had. However, I don't think I would stop at the hotel again. We felt out of place throughout the stay as we were the youngest in the hotel. "The Strip" (for night-life) was around a 20-30 minute walk at night which wasn't a very nice walk on the way home during the early hours of the morning. Despite this, we all had a fantastic stay in the hotel and would definitely return to Santa Ponsa again.

Room Tip: No need to ask for rooms with a view, as every room looks out at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank phildennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Skipton,

Thank you very much to share with us your opinion about your stay.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sentido Punta del Mar.
We want to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the bedsheets. Normally we changed them every third day.

Thank again for your feed back

Best Regards

Petra Macalikova
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived on 22nd June very tired and hungry and we were last off the coach. We entered the reception and thought it looked lovely but then we booked in. The receptionist was not very helpful - it was quarter past nine by now after being without food since one o'clock we asked where we could get some food. The kitchen is closed was all we got. You can not get any snacks at this hotel after five o'clock. A couple in the bar told us we could find food in the little village about ten minutes walk away. This was not a good start to our holiday at all. It could only get better which it did I am pleased to say. Our room was very nice and modern with a flat screen television which had all BBC and ITV channels. We did have a fridge but it went off when you left the room and it was empty. We always go all inclusive and have a couple of bottles of water and some soft drinks in there. We had to go to the village for bottled water. We asked another receptionist for bus timetables and other queries and she was very efficient and helpful her. She was Dutch and her name was Marjan. Our room was kept very clean by Maria and the entertainment was kept alive by Kylie - she kept our brains working with her numerous quizzies. She also had a lovely singing voice. The food in the restaurant was very good, nice and fresh with lots of different vegetables and fruit - I think it would have been helpful to have signs on the food to tell you what they were. On the whole after the first day we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: I only saw our room but I believe they all had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I arrived at this lovely hotel on June 23rd a little apprehensive as to what we might find, given all the problems regarding the refurb and no information forthcoming from Thomas Cook. We should not have worried, although the work was still continuing this in no way interfered with us. As already stated in other reviews the reception area is lovely and the views are amazing. The staff were very nice and we were offered ice water/orange juice whilst checking in. Petra was very nice and introduced herself, as I had contacted her by email before leaving England regarding the refurb. She had upgraded us to a Junior Suite which was very good of her and very much appreciated. The room was very spacious with a king sized bed, glass fronted double wardrobes, bedside tables, large TV, sofa, chairs, 2 balconies, and a great view, we were on the second floor (206). Our air con was not great so we slept with the balcony doors open all night with no problem.
We found the food to be okish, nothing was labelled and I found battered brussells and broccoli an aquired taste!!, but you could normally find some thing to eat, even if it was chips!!.
We also found the reserving of sunbeds a pain, we watched them arriving as early as 6.30am just to get the comfy double beds, no one else got a look in. We were lucky as the hotel was not full, but would agree with the others that you will have problems getting one when it is.
The spa is the best that I have tried anywhere and I found it very invigorating, I also had a massage which although a little pricey was worth it.
All the staff at this hotel wre very friendly and happy and nothing was too much trouble for them. Kylie who did the entertainment, was great and worked so hard she also has a very good singing voice.
Given time, I think this hotel will tick every box for anyone wanting a very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with no children( always a plus!!). I would certainly return here again in the future,

Room Tip: All rooms have great views but I believe they get better the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastbourneGoatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was by far the best holiday I have been on to date. The staff were very friendly and the decor in the hotel was lovely. The hotel was always kept nice and clean and looks fresh too. Has recently been renovated. There are a few tethering problems such as the Air Conditioning but this is to be expected after what the hotel has just been through. Would highly recommend this hotel.

The food was lovely and always cooked prefectly. Lots of different types of food to choose from and also vegetarian options!!

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the ocean so not one room has a bad view. If travelling here I recommend going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear LisaM,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appologize for the problem with the air conditioning. We have alredy resolved this matter.
Thank you again for your feedback.

With kind regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

just returned after 10 days at this beautiful hotel,its still a work in progress but Im sure that it will be brought up to the standard of a 4 * it advertises to be. The rooms are lovely and spacious but the lack of a fridge is definately something that needs to be rectified. They wanted to charge an extra 40 Euros to rent one,I stood my ground and finally management relented,but we shouldnt have to have this hassle. All staff are lovely and very helpful,although they could do with some extra in the dining area. The views are breathtaking and being an adults only hotel definately made it very relaxing. A 5 min walk into town and very quiet at night.. I will return

Room Tip: All rooms look wonderful with a sea view from each. I believe that its only the suites that come wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel: Very modern, very clean, great design and breath taking views. Loved it.
Reception: The reception staff was amazing, very nice people, always ready to help with anything, always smiley and friendly. You can see they are working hard and really are trying their best to represent the hotel well and make you feel welcome. The reception area was amazing! Modern, clean, fresh, great views!
Rooms: We were allocated to a big room on the 6th floor (616). Amazing sea view! The bathroom was massive with a great shower. The bed very comfortable. A table and 2 chairs on the balcony. Sofa and two wardrobes. The air condition was a bit loud but never really disturbed our sleep. We also had a flat screen TV with some English channels. The room service was also very good.
Restaurant: Very clean, fresh looking restaurant. The service was efficient, everyone very friendly and hard-working. Always with smiles on their faces.The food was very good. Everything fresh and well presented. We could always find something that we really enjoyed. There was a grill station with very tasty meats served every day. We also had an opportunity to have a lovely 7 course meal in a la carte restaurant. It was absolutely amazing! The service we received there was 5 stars and the food was excellent.
Blue Bar: A perfect place to relax. You can watch a sunset lying on a sun lounger and drinking tasty drinks. Antonio working there is an amazing person and a very professional and skilled bar tender. He was always very friendly to everyone and always had a massive smile on his face. A really positive person. You need to try his sangria! The best one we have ever had! Although it looks like handling a blue bar is a bit much for one person only and it must be exhausting.
Spa: Very nice, clean, great decor, very relaxing. The lady working there was very friendly and pleasant. We used sauna, steam room and water massages every day. The spa also offers massages, wraps, manicures, facials etc.
Pool area: The pool was lovely, clean and really big. The water temperature was just right, not too cold, so it was nice and pleasant from the moment you get into a pool. The pool area was very clean, sun loungers new and comfortable. The only problem was that every day there were people sitting at the pool bar tables waiting for sun loungers to be free. We never really had a problem with getting one (about 8:30am every day) but if you come any later you may not get one. The fact that people are reserving the sun beds seems to be an issue, as they leave a towel on them very early in the morning and often don't use them for hours! The hotel is supposed to have a no reservation policy for sun loungers. This need to be reinforced better as everyone paid their money but not everyone gets to use the facilities equally. I do think that the hotel should invest in some more sun loungers and parasols as well.
Entertainment: You have a chance to play games during the day and enjoy some evening entertainment 6 days a week. The daily entertainment is organised by Kylie, who is working hard to make sure everyone is having a good time. You can play darts, water polo, french boules etc during the day. In the evening there's usually some music, dancing, quiz and bingo. Kylie is also a very talented singer! Veli is responsible for keeping you fit during your holiday. We had loads of fun doing aqua gym with her every day at 12:00 (really recommended!). She also does yoga classes, fitness, body toning etc, An amazing, warm and friendly person always made sure we were having fun during our holidays and treated us like friends. We had a really great time with her!!

I hope we will get a chance to return to this hotel in the future. Thank you to all the staff that made our stay pleasant and fun. You are all doing an amazing job!
All in all, we had a wonderful time at the hotel. We met lots of lovely people, too many names to mention. Thanks everyone for a great time!
Alex and Laurence

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ninjabunny155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear ninjabunny155,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sentido Punta del Mar. We are delight to read that we did fulfill your holiday expectations. We also would like to thank you for your friendly comment about your stay. We will check the point with the sunbeds. Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards

Petra
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.8 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 181 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $97 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing