We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent a week at this hotel in September and had a fantastic time, First of all the views from all round the hotel are spectacular, it must be in the best position in Santa Ponsa, right on th cliff top. We were on the first floor looking over the bay to the harbour, got up every morning to a different yacht anchored right outside our terrace. We loved our room location, suited us very well. Just along the corridor took us to the bar and the pool. As stated in previous reviews the hotel is in much need of an overhaul but could'nt fault it for cleanliness and lets be honest flaking paint isn't going to put you off your dinner. The food was always good and always a great choice, and the dining room staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. I think it helps if you are nice to them and at least try to thank them in their own language.We had a wee problem about our transfers to the airport and I cannot praise the reception staff enough for the help they gave us, First class service from all the staff we encountered. The hotel is probably about a twenty minute walk down to the beach and main area but it is all uphill on the way back. Five minutes walk from the hotel though takes you to the Square, which is a selection of bars and shops with an open air stage that has different acts on every night. Great atmosphere and very family oriented, didn't need to go any further.An added bonus was the weather the week we were there, absolutely glorious with not a cloud in the sky. We heard that the hotel is to be refurbished and will be All Inclusive. I hope it doesn't loose any of its charm and they manage to keep their staff. We would go back as we had such a good time and met some lovely people.

Room Tip: All rooms have a seaview, just depends what floor suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    464
    191
    98
    57
See reviews for
204
1,086
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

just arrived back from punta del mar,went with my husband sister and brother inlaw.we had a fantastic holiday staff very friendly and helpfull cleantowels every day pool and views lovely.good selection off food we went alinclusive and staff couldnt do enough for use.i read a few reviews before we went and was a bit worried.people moan about minor things would defo go back .it was very quiet as we went 8th october but weather was brillent.hope they keep it alinclucive as the drinks are very high priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

not disappointed with our second visit - .requested same room - 308. nice touch from hotel - wine and fruit in room as previous guests. all staff friendly and helpful - our room was always clean and tidy with fresh towels every day.restaurant staff extremely efficient - food excellent. take care at pool - tiles very sliippy when wet. hope this will be remedied at time of rumoured refurbishment. with such beautiful views - it seems such a shame that the pool area at night is not used to its full advantage i.e. candlelit tables lots of fairy lights and some good music to dance to. i^ll keep my fingers crossed,

Room Tip: lots of reviews say avoid 3rd floor - never been a problem for us
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank blueeyes048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

we have just returned from a 6 day break at the hotel. we loved it!! people moan about the most minor things! the hotel was always clean. never once saw a bug of any kind! hotel staff always friendly, especially the man on receptiom. Yes, the hotel is in need of a facelift but whos looking at a crack in the wall or the odd chipped tile when you hav amazing views over the sea!! the room we had (530) had an AMAZING view of the sea and we watched the sunset every night - bliss! the room was huge too, with an ensuit with a shower and a seperate bathroom, an "L" shapped sofa (can be used as beds- which we did one night) there was a small T.V that had BBC news and if you did want to watch more then you could pay to get all channels (i think this was 2 euro a day).

it was about 5 mins walk to the square with restaurants, bars and cafes. and live music in the summer (this stopped on 3/10/2012) for the season. but afew of the bars stayed open there. would reccomend the crown pub, friendly and good drinks!
it was about 15-20 mins to the main santa ponsa town and beach- we only went once and got a taxi. 5 euro each way. beach was nice but through palma nova beach was nicer.

we wanted peace & quiet and relaxation on this hoiday and this is exactly what we got. the hotel had mainly older guests, french, german and english - but this didint bother us. didint see any of the nights entertainment, so cant comment on that.

The pool area was great, plenty of sunbeds, tables and chairs-again with some great views of the bay & it got the sun all day!! drinks abit pricey, but it didint say anywhere you couldnt bring your own drinks in, so we did that afew times.


overall, for beautiful views and a relaxing holiday i would definatly reccomend this hotel. if you like to be in the centre of everything and like lots to do, maybe stay somewhere closer to town.

hotel is getting its facelift in january apparently - so will be looking to go back again when it is!
we went 30th sept

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and sea view rather than pool view- best view to watch the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank judith_chalmers_manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Have just returned from the Punta Del Mar with very mixed views. The hotel certainly has good views but it is let down by a number of things. Staff - some are very rude including restaurant staff and reception. Entertainment - non existent and the entertainment that there was ( a bloke singing in French). Hotel full of French hardly any English. Location - 25 minutes walk to local beach and bars etc. Anything local shut up. Price - very high drinks prices in hotel. Cleanliness - towels only changed once in a week and bedding not changed at all. Safety - like one of the other reviews we paid for a safety deposit box. On returning one day the wadrobe had been left open although shut when we left room. Safe untouched on this occasion. On returning back to our room 3 days later our safe had been opened and left open even though we had locked this with a code only we knew. We had taken all our money with us and luckily our passports etc were all left. On reporting to reception we were told they didn't know how this could happen and would inform the manager. Yet we never heard anything from the manager. We have written this down on our Thomas Cook form as certainly this issue needs looking into. It made us feel very unsafe. This hotel is geared to older people but then would be too far for them to get to the beach etc. I have stayed in many hotels across the world including Australia, USA, Hong Kong, Canaries, France, Mainland Spain. If people think this hotel is good then I hate to think what the bad hotels are like. The security really needs looking at and the entertainment is the worst I have ever known. Hence we will not be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisadb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Found the Hotel overall to be very clean and tidy. The room we occupied was number 215 which offered a tremendous view over the bay. The room was decorated to a high spec' although there was a lack of storage (drawers) for clothing. There was no hair dryer supplied.
Even although it was clearly stated in the brochure that each room had either a bath or shower yes there was both but on attempting to run the water for a bath it was found that the bath taps appeared to have been blanked off. On enquiring with the lad in reception he stated that taking a bath was not allowed.Shower only.Why no shower caps supplied.?. Strange situation. After having mentioned this at reception shortly afterwards a technician arrived at the door and handed in a bath plug even although the bath was fitted with a plug. This was hillarious. During the weeks stay there was no change of bed linen. One change of towels.Television. If one required all channels these had to be paid for. The only channel that could be received, which was of any interest, was B.B.C. World News. Disappointed in this. The food was found to be of a high standard and there was plenty of it.I have holidayed for many years and stayed in lots of Hotels but could not believe the lack of pool furniture at Punta Del Mar. There was no sun bed mattresses and the sun brollies were an absolute hoot. They comprised of a mixture cheap brollies and one had to scamper about looking for proper fittings in order to erect them into the homemade bases. Supply of tea at the pool bar was quite amusing. On asking for a pot of tea (for one) with two tea bags I was told that only one is allowed and any additional tea bag had to be paid for. I ask you.The Hotel was found to a bit isolated with no supply of Daily Newspapers and this caused a bit of a problem as you had to walk a good distance to obtain one and I have a slight problem in walking any distance. There was no public transport serving the Hotel with the result a taxi had to be hailed. I overheard a number of clients expressing similar views.
Whilst I enjoyed my stay at this hotel I would not return because of the location.

W Bruce.
Carluke.

Room Tip: The rooms beginning with the numbers 2 or 3 all face Southwards and offer a great view. All are at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just back from one weeks stay at this hotel. We travelled with a one year old baby.The hotel was extremely noisy and we were woken up v early every morning with noise from the restaurant staff getting ready for the breakfast rush. Hotels needs alot of renovations done to it, pool area always busy and not enough beds and parasols to go round. Food in pool bar very bland. Drink at the hotel bar extremely expensive. Staff okay but not overly friendly. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and have never stayed in a hotel that is noisier than this. If you like your sleep do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.9 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.9 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Property: SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing