We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it a lot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playas del Rey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playas del Rey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Liked it a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This modern, smart and friendly hotel is well located and was good value for money. The staff were attentive, chatty and, well, plain nice (Manuel, Dania and Marco take a bow!). The food was also good - breakfast was continental buffet style with a good choice. Dinner menu on half board was a little limited and portions were not massive (which suited us in the hot climate) but excellent quality. It's less than five minutes to a lovely beach. We had a wonderful week's stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    91
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
65
178
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

i stayed in this hotel in 2009 before the refurbishments. i loved it then but adore it now!! the staff are excellent and communication was brilliant. i emailed the hotel earlier to request a certain room and on my arrival, it was there for me with complimentary fridge.
the breakfast is excellent, so much choice with very good quality products. this is the first hotel abroad that i have been able to drink the juice. with regards to the drink prices, the bar across the road was much more expensive and it was serving cheap local spirits at an higher price than the hotel's imported liquer.
the location is excellent as it is next to some excellent restaurants ans the free wifi in the hotel is an added bonus. i will definately be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is first class. We spent 12 nights there in August 2012 as a family vacation. It is located a few minutes walk from the main beach and some excellent restaurants. Breakfast was great...extensive range of hot and cold food including cured and cooked meats, cereals,cheeses, fruit and pastries accompanied by fruit juices and coffee. Service from the attentive and meticulous staff is commendable and the levels of cleanliness for a beach resort hotel is to our minds, unsurpassed. Rooms are spacious, well maintained and spotlessly cleaned by attentive maid daily. Pool area is well maintained and decor in and around hotel has modern appeal. The hotel is perhaps aimed more towards couples than families but the staff were nevertheless accommodating with our youngster and given that Santa Ponsa is a family resort I would encourage the hotel management to maintain a family-friendly approach...the hotel bar was fantastic - understated chic with a trendy vibe and good background music and the bar man, Mark was extremely professional. friendly and mixed all drinks from cocktails to gin and tonics with flair and attention. Nothing was too much trouble day or night..Our breakfast server, Jean-Claire was also very attentive and always welcoming with a smile. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples and families looking for quality accommodation in a great location. we will certainly return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolmandliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is not the Ritz but it is Ok and the Food is superb, the dinner hall is fantastic, massive range of cooked and cold meats. Freshly cooked prawns on offer too! Pool area was clean as was the majority of the hotel and the rooms are immaculately cleaned everyday. Recommend for a relaxing week.....

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the front road as you can hear the noisy crowds in the bars up till 4am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tellitlikeitis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A lovely hotel with super location to beach and restaurants. The interior was tastefully decorated and the exterior space was well used. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend booking this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cate22W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was just a 5 minute walk from the gorgeous sandy beach in Santa Ponsa and very close to many restaurants catering for all tastes, also local souvenir/convenience stores. What we liked most about this hotel was it's cleanliness, smashing hotel with a friendly personal service from all the staff, especially the reception staff, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room's 312 and 313 over looking the pool, above the bar were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotdog_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A fantastic small hotel .Exceptionally clean .Very friendly and helpful staff .Rooms are on the small side .Situtated on the quieter side of the resort but within a 5 min stroll to the beach and night life .There are some very good restaurants beside the hotel the best for us was NO 8 .Breakfeast at the Hotel was very good and lots of variety....more »Only negative was no fridge in the rooms but you can hire one .We had a lovely week at this hotel and will definetly book it again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#13 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#2 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
#5 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#15 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playas del Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playas del Rey Hotel

Property: Playas del Rey Hotel
Address: 76 Via Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playas del Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Playas del Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playas Del Rey Santa Ponsa
Playas Del Rey Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing