We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change is Good!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playas del Rey Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

In the past we have stayed at larger, all inclusive hotels which leave you feeling numb and with their corporate, production line style holiday. This year we made a conscious decision to try something a little different. Thomson describes this as hotel as being ‘Small & Friendly’ which proved to be an understatement. Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful, in particular the waitresses and reception staff. An example of this; we had a night flight and a late pick up from the hotel. The bar staff had offered us blankets to sleep on, a chap from reception and one of the waitresses stayed after their shifts to wave us off.
We were well aware that this hotel has had a recent refurbishment and some previous ‘regulars’ were a little critical of this and the new management. The hotel is modern and the work has been carried out to a high standard and although some might find the décor a little ‘1980s Habitat’, it is bright and fun, certainly not a negative. The cleanliness of the hotel was second to none. The food was well cooked and flavoursome. We stayed on a half board basis and overall have no complaints. It would have been nice to have a few more choices but overall, the German styled menu was good, a pleasant change from the usual chips, burgers and cold pizza!

Some reviewers have commented about the bar prices. We’d all love to see JD Wetherspoon prices, alas they are not. I would however reassure people that they are comparable to other bars in the resort.
In a nutshell, if you want a quiet, relaxing beach holiday then this is the Hotel Playas Del Ray is a great place to stay. It is also the ONLY hotel that my wife and daughter have agreed that they would love to return, enough said!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheRealClarkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Having just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel.l feel that l had to write this review.As soon as we entered hotel we were made to feel welcome,the room was exceptionally clean and very modern.We had booked half board,at the beginning of the week we had choice of two starters this changed to one after a couple of days, my husband struggled with this so he asked if he could melon,and this was no problem,if you want good,tasty food,adequate portion sizes then this hotel is for you,if you want large portions and chips with everything it isn't.The only downside to this hotel is the cramped sunbeds,it makes you feel claustephobic they are crammed so close together.True you can sunbath on the roof terrace,but there are no umbrellas,and it gets very hot..The beach is nearby but 2 sunbeds and a umbrella cost 10 euro 80. add that up for the week,it is very expensive. Overall though a very nice hotel.Mrs P Crane

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pat186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Room excellent, clean, well presented, good colours used in the decor. towels, and sheets changed regularly. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was well presented and a good variety of healthly food, including the best yoghurt i have ever tasted.
reasonable size pool and sun beds available around the pool and on the roof of the hotel.

Could do with a little of entertainment in the evening. Drinks at bar good with 25% off for residence.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dvdmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our stay was very enjoyable with a room on the top floor overlooking the sea - the staff were always pleasant and helpful, the rooms spotless and comfortable. We booked on a b&b basis and breakfast was well presented and replenished on a regular basis. Whilst there we celebrated our Silver wedding and recieved a bottle of champagne from the management which was a lovely touch. The only dissapointment albeit not a major issue as you are so close to the beach was the lack of sunbeds around the pool......you had to be up early to secure one. Apart from breakfast we didnt eat in the hotel as it is quite expensive, however there is Eureka just up the road with fab food & good prices but it is advisable to book. Bar Rumba across the road is a great place for a few drinks & friendly banter. We would definatly visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor overlooking the bay is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wallerholiday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Having recently spent a short break in this fabulous "boutique" hotel, we were treated superbly. Lovely room overlooking the bay. Booked half board and found the food to be of excellent quality. Three course evening meal - clean plates every night. Couple of lunches on the terrace also. Background music far more pleasant than "bingo" and karaoke - also spent a couple of evenings on the outside terrace.bar and restaurant staff were more than pleasant. On our return to the UK we immediately booked for a September break. Met many guests who had been going to this hotel for over 20years who did not like the changes and would continually critisise, but would definitely recommend Playas del Rey for R & R.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ayrshire009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Like a lot of the latest reviews we as a family have stayed at least 12 times over 10 years It was a truly unique,friendly and welcoming hotel in fact a home from home. We met the same people time after time and always had a great stay in the hotel Sadly although it is still spotlessly clean (always was)everything else has changed If you just want somewhere clean to stay then yes stay here BUT if you want a nice friendly welcoming stay with friendly people in the hotel a great evenings entertainment and and a place where you can stay in the daytime and enjoy a drink a light meal and a good laugh then stay elsewhere because that has all gone We felt like intruders and spent as little time as possible in the hotel and just went to the beach everyday we have never done that before. We paid in cash as we were leaving and there was the odd 50cent on the bill as my husband was getting it from his pocket he was told "you still owe 50 Cent) payment was taken without so much as a thank you! Did you enjoy your stay? will you be back ? nothing No I am sorry unless you have a yacht up in the marina you are not wanted that was made very plain. To everyone involved in the hotel before it became (Boutique) ha ha in other words horrible Good luck Pepe Gieslle and Hanne and thank you for many wonderful years As one former guest/friend (who would have been staying in September for the 20th time) said "A motorway service station would have more atmosphere" ( he has booked elsewhere for September)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariam02, Gerente at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Most of all I would like to thank you for your comments, some of them really help us to improve.
Hotel “Playas del Rey” was one of the first built hotels in Santa Ponsa and has been opened for our guests during summer months for many years so that clients and friends enjoy the family atmosphere and service according to the hotels category.
This is the reason for which many of our guests have always come back to the hotel and some of them have even come several times during the same season.
Hanne,Gisela and Pepe were in charge of the hotel for all those years and undoubtedly thanks to them this establishment has become a reference for a well spent holiday in Santa Ponsa.
I would like to express my gratitude to all them for the excellent job they have done.
After all those long years their well deserved retirement have logically come.
Hanne decided to retire completely from tourism industry and sold hotel “Playas del Rey”.
The new owners decided to make the hotel much more modern and what followed was the complete reformation of the entrance hall and the redecoration of all rooms.
All of them now have new card – doors and safe deposit boxes were installed in each room.
A new restaurant called “Energia” was also launched. It offers fine dining for local residents too.
All clients who wish to come back to our hotel are welcome to do so, but please have in mind that the hotel has changed its philosophy to suit present times and naturally some of the people who use to run it before will no longer be part of the staff.
Nothing lasts forever. In Spain there is a set phrase (cliche) which says – “renew or die” and we are convinced that the time to renew has come so that we improve.
Please accept our sincerest apologies but return to the past is impossible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Having booked with Thomson before the refurbishment of this hotel, our experiences were different to what we had expected from the hotel. However, regardless of any changes we still had a wonderful holiday.

The hotel reception is modern, light and airy. Not particularly homely at all and had a 'cold' sort of feel about it. However, in contrast to some other reviews - we found the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. They helped us with numerous queries and provided insightful local knowledge during our stay.

The rooms we averagely decorated, nothing special. However, they were kept spotlessly clean by the cleaning staff. The safe worked out as 3 euros per day and a 10 euro deposit was required for use of the television. Rooms a tad crowded with 3 of us in, but bearable. Balcony had pool and bar view.

The bar area followed the same 'boutique' feel about it. However, although drinks were expensive (but not extortionate) the bar staff were charming and made friends with us.

The poolside was slightly small, but we generally preferred the beach anyway.

We opted for the bed and breakfast option and breakfast was nice. Bacon, egg and sausage along with toast, continental options and cereal etc. Basic but nice.

Restaurants we ate at nearby that we would recommend include; 'el balcon de maria' , 'nelson del mar' and 'fat sams'.

This was our first time staying at this hotel, and therefore our views are not tarnished by past expectations. I can understand and sympathize with those visitors that disapprove of the changes made and I do agree that some areas of the hotel do need improvement. However, we found the hotel staff lovely, the food good, and the other guests friendly. I would definitely return again to this hotel, but I can understand how the changes made may have dissatisfied returning guests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidaylover63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playas del Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playas del Rey Hotel

Address: 76 Via Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $64 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playas del Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Playas del Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playas Del Rey Santa Ponsa
Playas Del Rey Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing