We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing with dream views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were here 14th - 21st October with the idea of having a very relaxing week in a high quality hotel, we were not disappointed. The resort features two buildings, the first one has views over the pool and encompasses the more luxurious suites, whilst the second has only standard suites with views over looking the wonderful bay of Calpe, unless you have a ground floor suite which has restricted views of the bay because of trees in the grounds. I believe this building will under go refurbishment with the intention of installing a pool within the garden grounds.

We were located in the second building in a standard suite, which had a seperate bedroom, shower room and toilet. In the living space you have a large spa bath where you can relax and enjoy views out to the bay, a kitchen area with no crockery or utensils (this could be removed under the refurbishment), flat screen tv and settee which can be used as a 3rd bed. Overall the suite was spacious and to a very good standard. Reading through Iberostar brochure they state attention to detail matters, they provide soap, shower cream etc. so why not provide tea and coffee facilities in the suites, if attention to detail matters. We missed not being able to enjoy a late night coffee on the balcony to finish our night and look out over the bay, as I am sure other people would also enjoy.

The staff were attentive and always greeted us with a warm welcome, even more so if you try and communicate in the local language, they appreciate your effort. The only disappointment we encountered was the day and a half to receive an additional pillow, despite two visits to reception. The dining room was spacious with a balcony section giving wonderful views over the bay. There was a wide and varied selection of food from the buffet with something for everyone, although basic in standard was still enjoyable. The spa treatments and facilities were reasonably priced and are not to be missed. The gym is small and basic but a sign stated it will be refurbished, so should improve for next year. The pool area was very good with stunning views across the bay, so lovely to lie and relax beside, plenty of beds were available that you didn't have to rise early to secure one.

The location on the bay is within a quiet area on a hillside 400m from "The square" which is the main entertainment place, and is approx 1Km from the main town attractions. Their are numerous restaurants and bars in the area and on the way down towards the town, some were extremely busy and provided quality and value for money.

Overall, a little more attention to small details and Jardin del Sol will definitely meet our expectations of it's star grading. We will certainly return in the near future to once again experience a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation at Iberostar Suites hotel Jardin del Sol.

Room Tip: The 1st building has the upmarket suites and best views. In the 2nd building request a high floor fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tcp145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned after a 4 day short break. We decided to go all inclusive but how differently we were treated. The hotel and room was great , but alas once the staff realised we were on the all inclusive deal we were ignored. Never noticing us when we sat down at lunchtime in the pool area. Although other customers not all inclusive were served around us. Completing their whole meal before my husband then decided to order our food and drinks at he bar. We complained to the staff on reception about how awkward we felt during the lunchtime service and she came back down to the restaurant to question why we were being ignored. To this one waiter named Antonio proclaimed non comprende. And once again turned his back on us and served other guests. Our 4 day break just to stay at this hotel cost well over £750 it's not a cheap option. Other all inclusive guests were also being treated in the same manner. Never have we been treated so badly and we warn all travellers going to Majorca to avoid this hotel especially if going all inclusive.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank culvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

We are very sorry that you became the feeling that the treatment we provide is related to the kind of services contracted because this is not at all in accordance with our demanding quality standards which prescribe how to exceed all expectations related to guest orientation and client friendliness. We do our utmost to ensure that the stay of our guests is characterized by the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for.

On the other hand we are glad to may understand from your commentaries that you enjoyed the hotel´s facilities as well as the comfortable rooms. We wish to offer splendid accommodation and it is enjoyable to read that you liked it.

Once more we want to thank you for having shared your opinion, rest assured it will help us to improve. We hope to may receive you soon and surprise you positively offering a perfect holiday!

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a seven night stay, what particularly impressed us was the fact that although the hotel was due to close on our last day there (4th November) for a facelift and refurbishment the standards of service food and comfort remained first class right up to the point when they were literally locking the doors behind us for the end of season staff party.The location of the Jardin del sol is not fantastic, and we think a car hire is pretty much essential to get the best out of a holiday in majorca.That being said the hotel looks out onto a very pleasant view across the bay of the costa del calma, and all the rooms face onto the sea with virtually uninterrupted sun on the balconys and terraces.The Executive suites are spacious with large screen satellite tvs and jacuzzis. The dining room is big enough to accommodate all the guests and the buffets from our experience are varied and of high quality with sufficient choice for the fussiest of eaters! Service in the dining room is excellent and its particularly noticeable that the hard working staff are constantly smiling, telling each other jokes and seem to have any amount of time to talk to the guests whilst maintaining a high level of prompt and curteous attention to their work. Reception are helpful and friendly and for the price paid we feel it would be hard to find better value anywhere we have been in our numerous visits to spain over the past thirty years or so.
A great holiday experience overall keep up the good work Iberostar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from holiday after second visit this year, excellent service, glass of bubbly on arrival and very friendly staff, Sherriff and Fillipe at reception were superb, very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Beds were a bit hard but hotel provided an extra mattress which made a big difference. Breakfast was amazing, great choice and friendly staff, all very helpful. Room was clean, terrace was great with fantastic view over the bay, terrace had its own day beds so there was no rush to go to the pool. Overall great holiday and would be happy to recommend and return.

Room Tip: Terraced suite was great, worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent 8 nights in late Sept at this hotel.
Firstly let me say the rooms are excellent large,clean with fantastic views. The hotel is well equipped and and set out and make use of there main feature which is its location and the view.
The restaurant again overlooks the bay being on the furth floor. The food varies,the breakfast was always very good and supplied everything you would or could expect. The lunch was limited but half way through my stay lunch changed to the snach bar beside the pool. The food here was excellent and infact better than the restaurant. Evening meal was ok, with the starters and sweets good, sometimes the main courses were limited but there was always something.
The bar is busy but i never had to wait to long for a drink. Th e waiters split into two groups young fun and helpful always having a laugh and providing a good service. then there was the old and grumpy ones!
It may sound like i am complaining a lot but may i add i would definitely go back. For information Santa Ponca is like irish blackpool not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just back from a week at this hotel - which is our third visit (last time 5 years ago). Saw a change in the food, not as good as before, but still good, particularly breakfast. All staff helpful and friendly, particularly Juan and Esther on Reception. Changed our room, as we were too far away in annex, moved next day and was no problem, Juan had it covered !
No problem getting a sun bed at any time of day. Pool very cold, but once in - lovely !
If you want to eat on the terrace, get to dining room at 6.30, as the tables soon go.
Had a junior suite, which was okay, but in need of a refurb, fabulous view overlooking bay, bed quite hard, shower not brilliant, but at least it was separate and not over the bath !
Santa Ponsa itself was disappointing this time, as the famous Square had closed down last week in September and a lot of shops/bars were closed or closing whilst we were there. It would appear that the season is getting shorter, as we were talking to shop/bar owners who said that they would not be opening again until April and close now in September !
Having said all this, still had a lovely break with plenty of sunshine.

Room Tip: Avoid furthest anex (unless you want to be miles away from reception/dining room)- try for a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have just returned yesterday from a week at this hotel which we booked up to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. When we arrived we were offered a glass of champagne which was very nice touch. The room had views to die for of the bay and we would lie in bed listening to the sea. The first night we decided to have a whirlpool bath together ( romantic eh dont think so) we were lying in the tub and when we turned it on loads of black slimy gunk came swirling around us. I complained to reception who said they would sort it and gave my husband a half hour massage voucher as compensation, however problem kept occuring everytime we filled it up so never got to use it. The breakfasts were lovely and evening starters and sweets were good although main meals left much to be desired and lunch had to be taken downstairs and off set menu. we ended eating out towards the end of the week. entertainment was very poor .
staff very friendly although they made a point of serving the german customers before anyone else. I know this review sounds poor but we just had a bad experience dont let it put you off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dee227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear guest,

We feel honored that you chose the Iberostar Jardin del Sol Suites for such a special occasion and we would like to wish your husband a late happy birthday. We are very grateful for the review you wrote. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

We are very sorry that the problem with the whirlpool wasn´t satisfactory solved and we lament not to have been informed that despite our attempt to remedy this, you were still unable to use it. It would have been a pleasure to find a suitable solution changing your room or finding the correct resolution for the defect.

To continue, we would like to point out that as an Adults Only hotel, our animation program doesn´t include the type of entertainment to be found at many other Iberostar resorts focused on family holidays. Nevertheless, occasionally we do offer an evening program consisting of spectacles with dancers and band. In addition, we organize pilates, aguagym, green fee reduction and walking outing once a week. We also have a fitness center and wellness centre with sauna, Turkish baths and massage at disposal.

Further, it saddens us that we weren´t able to conquest your palate with the main meals and lunches. We strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests so that each and every dining experience proves sensational, offering the most delicious international, Spanish, and Majorcan dishes as well as cocktails, Italian fare, and tasty drinks. It fills us with joy to read that you enjoyed our breakfasts as well as the evening starters and sweets.

We are also delighted to read that you find our staff very friendly as this is another of our prime pillars. It is our goal to provide an excellent treatment and to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel, regardless where they come from.

We hope that your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be, and we would be enchanted to may accommodate you again in the near future, maybe on your next birthday.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.7 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,352 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,003 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites

Address: C/ Huguet des Far, s/n | Costa de la Calma, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $136 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Suites Jardin del Sol is your hotel for two if you want to explore Mallorca. Located in an exclusive enclave on the Costa de la Calma that faces the sea, the Suites Jardin del Sol hotel offers an array of experiences for couples that are in love or that want to fall in love. The 261 rooms of this hotel are suites that include a whirlpool bath and many of them feature spectacular sea views and also have a private pool. The Star Prestige service also grants access to a VIP zone featuring a spectacular pool with hammocks hanging next to the water, an exclusive bar, solarium with sun loungers and Balinese beds, armchairs with a perfect lookout to watch the sunsets and direct access to the sea. And if that wasn’t enough, the Suites Jardin del Sol hotel has a complete SPA Sensations, free Wi-Fi, an All Inclusive accommodation type (optional), two pools, golf course nearby, fitness room, entertainment workshops for adults, two restaurants and two bars with the best ambience... a bit of everything for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Jardin Del Sol Suites Santa Ponsa, Majorca
Iberostar Santa Ponsa
Jardin Sol Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Sol Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing