We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar uites Hotel Jardin del Sol
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I first visited Jardin del Sol in April of this year and have just returned from my second vist from 5th-16th September.

I booked a suite with seperate bedroom and asked for a high floor to make the most of the sea views. This time I was in the first building, which I preferred as it was closer to the restaurant, reception and bar, and only involved using one lift, not the two you need if you are in the second building. The suite was on the 6th floor, which was two below reception and two above the restaurant.

The suites are large and clean, with beds, wardrobe (containing safe) and dressing table in the bedroom, then seperate room for shower and toilet, jacuzzi bath and sink open plan to the living area, then a breakfast bar, then the main living area with sofa, coffee table, and long table with flat screen TV. Then out onto the balcony, which wasn't huge, but had a table and two chairs, with a clothes airer on the wall. There is also a cupboard which opens out to reveal a kitchen type set up with a couple of rings, a sink, and then a fridge underneath which was the mini bar containing 2 cans of coke, 2 cans of San Miguel, 2 still, and 2 fizzy water. There was still plenty of room in the fridge to store your own drinks if needed, as the mini bar was only free if you were all inclusive.

We found the air con efficient but very noisy, so didn't use it very much, but there was a ceiling fan in the bedroom which worked very well to keep us cool.

The food ranged from good to excellent. A couple of mornings there was even cava available at breakfast! We had lobster one evening at dinner, but there was always a good selection of fish, meat, salads and pasta,with beautiful fresh fruit always available. One little niggle for me was the dining room terrace. The views from there are fantastic, and it is a lovely place to eat, but obviously seating there is limited. I noticed that there is a sign up offering to book a place on the terrace (for a cost, I think of 7 euros). We would often be sitting inside and see tables with reserved signs on them the whole time we were eating. However we did get a terrace table a few times, so managed to have the experience.

There were always sunbeds and parasols available when we went down to the pool, usually that would be at about 10.30, but even later than this there seemed to be enough to go round. The pool was lovely, never too crowded, and I specially enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi which was not used by many people.

As we were half board, all drinks and snacks were signed for as we had them, and then we paid on checking out along with the rest of the bill.

This is a lovely peaceful hotel, it's surprising the difference it makes to stay at an adults only hotel, the staff are really pleasant and eager to please and it is maintained to a high standard. I will definately be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnabelleCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    518
    192
    92
    45
See reviews for
191
1,343
47
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the South West part of the island about 30 minutes drive from the airport in Santa Ponsa. Just a little out of the main town it sits on a one way circular road, as it hugs the coastline there is not much to see from the main road area. If you are hiring a car it is worth mentioning that there is no car park and on street parking is limited.

The hotel itself is scenically placed on the edge of the Santa Ponsa bay, with sweeping views down to the beach and across to the opposite side, the main lobby area having huge picture windows to take advantage of the sight of all the boats that come and go.

Checking in was a little time consuming, our room not being available immediately it was suggested we have lunch by which time the room would be ready - it wasn't but we were offered a free room upgrade and the room was ready within an hour after that point.

The hotel is 8 floors with the lobby being on the top floor, restaurant on the 4th and bar on the ground floor, when we got to it, our room was a very pleasant surprise. The room was huge and very well appointed with settee on balcony, very comfy bed and a drape, one minor thing down to personal taste was the verge jacuzzi bath - situated in the bedroom, you either love or hate it. The was a separate shower with massage function and separate wc. It also had a flat screen TV (still no large choice of English channels) and big settee which doubled as another bed if needed. Within a large wardrobe concealed a fridge, cooker and sink hinting at the previous life this hotel may have had. There is ample room for clothes and also a safe (small additional cost for use).

It was implacably clean as was the rest of the hotel, open public spaces and loo's etc. The staff are very friendly and speak good English.

Food quality was on the whole very good with bread and pastries made on site, big selection of hot dishes each night and lunch. We stayed all inclusive and found the drinks all branded and also included the cocktails which to be fair were concocted with far more care and diligence than most establishments! The restaurant has an excellent balcony view but as prime location you may have to wait a bit for a spare table. The bar service is good, well stocked and the cocktails well above average, there is little (none on some nights) entertainment but as I find most entertainment hit and miss it is something that does not bother me but may be an issue to people not leaving the complex at all.

The pool area had a reasonably large kidney shaped pool with the benefit of also having steps leading to a jetty into the sea. The surrounding pool area was clean and also had some day beds.

The spa looked ok - we didn't use it and the indoor pool looked small but again we didn't use it on our stay.

The staff did an amazing job in clearing up from apparently the worst storm to hit that area in 30 years while we were there!

There are some signs of wear and tear here and there, with some of the day beds, gazeebo's and soft furnishings looking like this season is all that is left in them - this did not detract from our stay however we are booking into the hotel again next year and it will be interesting to see if things are kept up to scratch. I guess the worst example of this was when I went onto the balcony and the whole rail came loose, only just being able to pull myself back - obviously straight onto the phone where a repair was affected immediately.

On the whole it is a good value hotel, due to its position it is all up and down and may not be suitable for everyone just in terms of the hassle factor, but you can't deny it's value and excellent position, maybe not a hotel you would want to stay in for the entire duration of your holiday but for people wanting a quality base to visit fabulous Mallorca - this takes some beating.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MandS_Abergele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Third visit here and it is a Superb hotel. Adults only which is a bonus. Felippe on Reception is a sweetheart. The staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you, The food choice is great but despite the hotel respectfully asking for long trousers to be worn by the men at dinner, you will always get those who think it is ok to wear shorts. Shame really because most of the women did "dress for dinner" so their partners who wore shorts were disrespecting them too! You are never rushed and being able to sit and relax over a meal is a real luxury for those of us who never seem to get the time at home. We usually come here in May which is much quieter and were amazed how busy the island was, but it is obviously good news for the locals and their business's and it didn't spoil our trip one bit. Fab time, will definately be back next year. Keep up the good work Iberostar, this hotel is a gem!

Room Tip: The normal suites are lovely, but the honeymoon suites (superior suites) are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice the second time we got up graded the room even had a shower on the balcony lovely rooms with a bath in the centre lovely views of the sea - out of santa ponsa a bit - it is close to the square with lots of english bars. go on the glass bottom boat trip you normally dont get good views on these trips but this one beautiful colourful fish and the boat has a bar"" by tickets from the "captain birdseye man" on the corner down by the birds in the trees. you can get bus in the centre of santa ponsa to palma and other resorts. but the taxis are good and advertise the prices on a board at the ranks. we are a couple aged 55 and 52

Room Tip: all rooms are good all over sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just stayed for our 4th time . As usual the staff at the hotel were fantastic Sheriff and especially Fernando in the dining room with Tanya and Enrique .
The room are fabulous with the Jacuzzi. I sent an e mail a few weeks before requesting two rooms to be together and to be on the same floor as previous visits which they did with no hesitation .
We met an amazing couple from Scotland who made our holiday (Rays Babes ) who we hope to see next year.

All in all an excellent holiday in a good hotel yet again, The only criticism I would make is I found the food not to be of 4 star quality . I thought that this year the choice was limited and boring . I think there needs to be more choice as was in previous years the food seemed to be not of the same quality and choice in the evening
as previously . I have stayed in many 4 star hotels before and I think this hotel is not in the same category food wise as others . But saying that I will staying there again next year .

Room Tip: all have good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from 11 nights hotel was superb staff very efficient and friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Keep fit instructor Rosa very good, look forward to seeing her next year

Hotel in a good location for people who enjoy walking to the centre of santa ponsa (approx 20 min walk), did that at least twice a day

Room Tip: We had junior suite, good location great facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristCraigavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The positives > Fab view from our room and the room was very clean. The not so positives > I had been looking forward to staying at this hotel after viewing the photos on line it looked amaizing, very stylish and plush, well worth the money i thought!
I cant express my dissapointment, the room was basic, nothing special to look at not what i was expecting at all. The kitchen held a fridge and a cooker but there was no cuttlery, crockery, kettle, nothing. I later found out from reception that you could hire these things, never been to a hotel where i had to hire a kettle. Next to the kitchen was a huge jaqcuzzi bath, no wall seperated this from the kitchen/ sitting area. Ridiculous waste of space. The shower was situated in a tiny cupboard, you had to keep the door open when having a shower as the heat was so intense it made you feel light headed.
The coffee table had a huge chip out of it and the sofa smelled like someone with bad bo had been lying on it.
Walls so thin you could hear next door drying their hair and using the toilet.
The photos on the web page must have been taken by a magical photographer as they did not resemble the room i was in.
The pool area was great if you liked lying like a sardine, too many loungers all squeezed together, felt as if i was invading the space of the people lying next to me.
Glad to be home.

Room Tip: If youre looking for something special dont stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 48princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar uites Hotel Jardin del Sol, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Madame,

We hope you had a nice journey back home and that your stay in Mallorca was as pleasant as it could possibly be.

We are sorry that the room and it´s equipment couldn´t satisfy your needs. Luxury and comfort define the Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardín del Sol's guest suites. Fully equipped with the latest technology and terraces offering breathtaking views, all rooms in this Santa Ponça adults-only hotel feature double Jacuzzis for the ultimate in relaxation. We have different room types at disposal and we can only imagine that there must have been confusion during the booking as all of the types are precisely described at our webpage. As you comment that your room was not fitting the advertised conditions, we are afraid that the reservation might have been of another category than the one you saw on internet. As we feel sad about your disappointment, for coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

Also we lament that our spectacular pool area could not delight you, our architects tucked it away in a gorgeous enclave of the Bahía de Santa Ponça on Majorca's impressive Costa de la Calma creating a peaceful seaside oasis perfect for romantic getaways. In order to increase the intimacy we do our very best to take advantage of the available space without invading your privacy and place the sun beds leaving optimal distance between one guest and another, we apologize for being unable to meet your expectations.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation and once again we want to thank you for your feedback that helps us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar uites Hotel Jardin del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar uites Hotel Jardin del Sol

Property: Iberostar uites Hotel Jardin del Sol
Address: C/ Huguet des Far, s/n | Costa de la Calma, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar uites Hotel Jardin del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardín del Sol, a Spa hotel in Santa Ponsa. This four-star all-inclusive hotel is located in a beautiful spot on Santa Ponça Bay, Costa de la Calma, Majorca. An adults-only hotel, it has a wide range of luxury suites and the exclusive Star Prestige area, where guests will find everything they need to spend the best and most exclusive vacations. Star Prestige: Find out the benefits and exclusive services of this new area. Book your accommodation in the new Star Prestige. In this exclusive area, you will enjoy personalised service, a separate check-in/check-out reception, a lobby including an exclusive rest area and newspapers daily, the Star Prestige Bar, a terrace affording stunning views, an exclusive sunbathing area with Balinese beds, a swimming pool with loungers, a heated outdoor Jacuzzi tub, exclusive discounts at the SPA Sensations, free admission to the hydrotherapy area and free late check-out (subject to availability). The Perfect Couple's Getaway in Majorca. The Costa de la Calma's tranquillity and excellent beaches attract a multitude of travellers looking to relax and disconnect from their daily routine. The IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardín del Sol is a peaceful seaside oasis perfect for romantic getaways. Adults-Only (+16). The IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardín del Sol is an exclusive adults-only resort in Santa Ponça. All of Jardín del Sol's entertainment offerings provide the most enjoyment to guests while balancing Costa de la Calma's relaxing atmosphere. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to 3 devices – to use during your stay. Jacuzzis in All Rooms. Luxury and comfort define the IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardín del Sol's guest suites. Fully equipped with the latest technology and terraces offering breathtaking views, all rooms in this Santa Ponça adults-only hotel feature double jacuzzis for the ultimate in relaxation. Asian Wellbeing: The IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardín del Sol offers the exclusive Spa Sensations, a hotel spa concept in which relaxation techniques are applied to the mind and body and where guests can experience maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Iberostar uites Hotel Jardin del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Jardin Del Sol
Iberostar Santa Ponsa
Jardin Sol Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Sol Majorca
Iberostar Uites Hotel Jardin Del Sol Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing