We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT FOR THE IRISH OR BRITISH !!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Delfin Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Delfin Mar
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NOT FOR THE IRISH OR BRITISH !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed in this hotel in July 2011 although we were booked for its sister hotel Delfin Siesta Mar that was overbooked. Being AI guests we found it very difficult, the unhelpful staff did not want to accommodate us probably because we were English speaking they seamed to favour the Europeans more. The pool area is very small and not lots of sunloungers the hotel had no entertainment at all not very good when your AI.

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms are very noisey with road traffic refuse collections etc also dont think all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Katmc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
45
85
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

I just spent 10 days here with my mother late June/early July 2011. We had half-board. The beds were hellish, I hardly slept all night as our room was overlooking the street which was loud (revellers, garbage disposal trucks early morning) and the management had forgotten to give us adequate curtains for the room. I asked for an extra pillow but for some reason did not get it until almost 2 days later which was ridiculous. I was told I had to "wait" for a certain person to bring it to our room who wasnt on duty when I had made the request. The reception staff were ill-informed and not exactly eager to please! They did their job, unsmiling, and often with no enthusiasm at all. How do these people get reception jobs in hotels at all? The food was not bad but definitely not 5* standard, maybe 3*. The tastiest thing on the evening menu were the beefburgers! The other meat was tough and I did not see much fish. Paella was on the menu though one evening which was very nice. The plentiful breakfast buffet was okay, but the cereals were cheap-tasting said my mum, as were the dates and figs.The fresh fruit however was delicious (melon, pineapple). The breadrolls and baguettes were delicious too, in fact there was a big choice of bread and cakes, but unfortunately the fried eggs and baked beans were cold at 8 a.m. even! The eating area reminded me of a works canteen and the atmosphere was not that great. Tables around us were being noisily and constantly re-set by unfriendly staff.The drinks from the machine at breakfast were revolting, as were the "fruit" drinks from the machine next to it. We could not fault the general cleanliness of the hotel (pool, outside area and rooms) though.The hotel atmosphere itself was a joke, such a pity as sitting round the pool with a drink after dinner was just not enjoyable. It was like sitting in a library, but without the books. The pool itself was very clean but so small that I could only swim a few strokes before reaching the other side. There were never enough sunbeds which interestingly the Brits had laid towels on since dawn, not the Germans! In fact it was a nice young German father who gave up HIS sunbed twice for my mother!!
Apart from one Flamenco evening at the hotel, there was no music, nothing. To be honest, I have booked better hotels in Cala Gran for all-inclusive, which were far cheaper, nicer and where the food was better. Santa Ponsa is a nice place (perfect for visiting Palma or Port D'Andrax etc) but even though the hotel is so close to the lovely sandy beach, I still would not book this hotel again. The hotel just about offered what it was supposed to do (according to the brochures) but not even a tiny bit more. We were a bit disappointed to be honest. I had expected an overall better standard for a 4* hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cinder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

My wife and myself stayed from 23rd April to 30th April 2011.Everrything was just perfect
Selection and qyality food was excellent. Service second to none.Cleanliness 10/10
Just 3 minutes walk to a very nice sandy beach

Negative:entertainment very poor non existence- Unable to get direct view of the sea as
other buildings obstruct ion

Lee Eliades -England

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank browneyesBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

this is a rare find. This hotel delivers on all levels. Food is high quality and good choice ( buffet style)waiters/waitresses ensure clean tables and attentive service. Rooms cleaned to a high standard. Staff are well trained, work very hard and seek to give an excellent service.
Reception staff helpful and as expected fluent in many languages.
Hotel provided Majorcan evening and flamenco entertainment which was again high quality.
Has indoor and outdoors pools which are very clean and well maintained.
Overall, a quality product at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waleshive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was our second time staying at Delfin Mar because we loved it so much the first time. If you are looking for a nice and relaxing holiday in Santa Ponsa, then this is the hotel for you.The rooms are very clean and very nice. There are lots of good inexpensive restaurants and pubs in Santa Ponsa and we hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou00_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

delfin mar hotel is a very clean hotel and has very large rooms. in some ways it is better than many five stars because it has very personal service and the people that clean the rooms are very helpfull and always ask for your personal expectations. both of my daughters loved it very much and they want to go back for next summer espcially because of the clean and very nice beach. i think that i will pay the extra money for this hotel again and go back.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank poland91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed here for a week in mid September. The room was good; reasonably spacious and clean. Public rooms, the bar, the small pool and it's surrounds were all well kept. The hotel is in quite a good location - two or three minutes walk from the beach, near shops and bars, with most rooms having a side sea view balcony. I was particularly impressed by the cheerful and efficient people who made up the rooms daily.

Unfortunately, the restaurant lets the whole place down rather badly. The 'canteen' self service buffet is limited in range, poor quality, poorly presented and (by the middle of the evening), luke warm and unappetising. On my final evening I arrived at 8:00pm only to be told that the restaurant was about to close - they'd changed the opening time without telling me. So whilst I gulped down a main course the rest of the food was quickly removed and the tables noisily set for breakfast around me. No dessert and no coffee. In fact, no service at all, and I wished I'd gone elsewhere.

Which was a shame, because the hotel is really quite a good place to stay. Just steer well clear of the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.0 mi away
Delfin Siesta Mar
Delfin Siesta Mar
#23 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
#34 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#14 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfin Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin Mar

Property: Hotel Delfin Mar
Address: Rei Sanxo 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delfin Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 89 rooms of the Hotel Delfin Mar are designed to maximize the comfort of your holiday in Mallorca. With functional furniture were you can find the space to relax, ideal for family or friends holidays. All the rooms are eqquiped with telephone, TV, safe (payment) air conditioning / heating, hairdryer and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Delfin Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Mar Hotel
Delfin Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Delfin Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing