We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked!”
Review of TRH Jardin del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRH Jardin del Mar
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overbooked!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay in the jardin del mar. On booking the holiday we paid for a sea view room therefore that it was what we expected on arrival. Our room was not ready on arrival and we were told we would be put in a room with just a window with no balcony for 24 hours. We then were allocated a room the 2nd day of our holiday which did not have a sea view but overlooked the carpark! On complaining about this - the manager was very unconcerned and blamed the holiday company, no apology was given.
The apartment was fine, very dated but clean enough. Air con very weak.
Some staff were very helpful but others very miserable.
Good location, no overspill of noise from the square which was great for the kids.
We didnt join in the sun lounger race but always managed to get a bed.
Some nice places to eat.
A visit to paguera and camp de mar is a must - beautiful beaches

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcode_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    427
    342
    127
    114
See reviews for
565
329
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

just back from a week in the jardin del mar ,over all a nice place but rooms need a bit of t l c badly, no toaster kettle ect you will have to hire them out for your stay,crazy this day in age. staff were lovely and helpfull grounds very nice pitty the rooms let this down alot.the lifts are dangerous just be carefull it can eat you up somethime .the location makes up for all that stuff is only 2 mins fron the square which is great for all the family ,if your not pushed about your room this place is perfect for you, enjoy your hols ,x x family from limerick ireland

Room Tip: try get 1st or 2nd floor its easy to get to the pool by the stairs dont need to use the crazy lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirelyvalintine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have just returned from a 2 week trip to Santa Ponsa, Spain. We had an amazing time and the hotel was super. Although the rooms are small (with 4 of us in one apartment - 2 kids 7 & 12) we didn't care as we spent most of the time out in the pool or out and about. We didn't once join in with the sun lounger race, we like our sleep to much. But we got 2 loungers EVERY DAY of our holiday!! We took our own travel kettle and cheap toaster from Tesco after reading reviews. After re-reading some of these reviews, I have got to say that some ppl do half moan. At the end of the day, you are on holiday, should be enjoying the spanish sun and being with your family or loved ones. The hotel room is somewhere to leave your clothes and sleep in at the end of each night.

The rooms are cleaned 5 out of 7 days, towels always fresh (I felt I needed to use them to keep up with the maid). The cleaners are lovely, left my daughters teddies arranged on her bed everytime she cleaned. Toilet roll left everytime cleaned also.

The pool is amazing, as is the food from the bar. The bar has stunning views which you can enjoy whilst you eat or drink. Both our kids and us adults loved the pool area. Our son took up table tennis and loves it.

Reception know a little english, but they do well. I think ppl forget we are english going into a foreign country. I spoke to reception once or twice (for postcards/trips etc) and they managed to sort all I asked for out. I even asked them in spanish to photocopy something for me. They did it for free and saved us 18 euros getting into the water park (if you fly with ryanair, check out there on-flight brochure).

On departure (12 noon), there was a locked room we could leave luggage and still go for a swim. Then you could ask reception for the gym changing room key and get dressed for the trip home in peace.

Taxis are easily found, with a taxi station 2 mins away. Approx 12 euros to Magaluf, Palma Nova, Pirates show, Marineland.

Nothing to do with the hotel, but Marineland is a must, as is the Pirate show. Our 2nd time and loved them both just as much. Western water park is good but quite simply a rip off!! If you think Alton Towers is expensive, you haven't been to Western Water park! There is also an excellent mini golf called Golf Fantasia in Palma Nova, you can do all 3 courses or 1 or 2. Both times we have visited and done all 3. It takes up most of the day, finished with a dip in the pool to cool down.

Every night there is entertainment in the square. Katies Kitchen is fantastic value and cracking for food. Plus free wifi! And Maria, well all I can say is that she is a gem!! Both kids love her! Poundstretcher is the place to be for souvenirs, gadgets, they sell everything!!

I would have given the hotel 4 1/2 but haven't got that option. The only reason I knock it down slightly is due to the poor self catering facilities. The pan we got was too small to cook spag bol for 4 and it was annoying. Also the lounge beds in apt not great but still slept well.

Room Tip: Go for the bit extra, the sea view, its amazing, well worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LollyLawson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from a 9 night break. Overall had a very nice time, was very concerned about hotel and being over booked but have to say we had no probs. At arrival staff were friendly and quickly checked us in. On arrival to room was happy very clean although on 4th floor when requested ground as have 3 children under 5, however view very nice just were extra vigilant with kids. Kitchen very basic, no electric toaster or kettle, just a kettle that you put in Stove that was fine for us. Air con not ice cold but adequate, sun bed run is ridiculous especially when people in large groups reserve lots of sun beds and barely half of them get used all day, very selfish. No entertainment or music what so ever round the pool and only once saw a nice lady for an hour or so who brought paints down for the kids and water polo. Didn't try food so can't comment. Overall nice hotel, basic rooms, good pool, we found it clean and the staff pleasant and friendly.
Would however say though booked hotel due the fact of being near to the square, however the square we found to be a bit tacky, with everyone crammed in, know everyone else seems to like it but not for us. Much more enjoyed the restaurants and night life down in Santa ponds more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolelouise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned and would say that there are minor issues but overall this hotel is good. I do agree that there are minor issues. The day staff do not speak good English with better more helpful service at night. There is no entertainment and I think they are losing revenue from the bar from this.
However, the rooms are clean (does everyone change their sheets and towels daily at home?) and the pool was clean and warm. We did have the sunbed issue later in the week as it got busier but this does happen at many hotels.
The location and views were amazing.
I would say that with Arkles cafe just across the road, with fab service, excellent and reasonable food and a takeaway service (great for a morning coffee), you do not need to pay the hire costs for kettles and toasters in the hotel.
We had issues with 3 noisy Italians upstairs for our whole visit and, although the security man was trying, he did not appear to have any back up from the Management.
The Square is a 2 minute walk and provides fab, free entertainment, with The Crown our favourite bar (thanks Mike).
For a nightcap please visit Pepe in Afters Bar, again just across from the hotel. It is quiet, with fab music and still great for kids. 2 euros for a lovely large glass of vino.
All in all, I would say you can make a great holiday without too much effort.
Lastly, if anyone just returning has found a Nintendo DS, black with a Super Mario cover and stickers on the front, please, please let me know and I will pay for it's return. My 7 year old is distraught!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at TRH Jardin Del Mar for 13 days in August with my wife and two kid’s age 9 & 13. The hotel is a large size with a lot or different nationalities. The one bedroom apartment was basic but adequate but could do with a refurbishment, the kitchenette does not have a Microwave, toaster or kettle although there is a boil on the stove kettle but be prepared to wait a while for hot water, these can be hired from reception for 10 euros per week which I think is poor as these items should be supplied free in your apartment in a 3*, there is a TV with BBC1, 2 & ITV1 & 2 which is great. The rooms were cleaned everyday with bedding changed once a week and towels changed every 3 days. The Air conditioning was a real bonus; a definite plus is at that time of the year, the room we were allocated had a lateral seaview so you could see the sea just, but a room overlooking the pool would have been better as you get the sun most of the day and a fantastic view across the bay, we did try to change but was told the hotel was full, but whilst at reception we heard a lot of people asking so suspect this would just be a standard response.
The hotel states that it has a fitness suite, well I wouldn’t !!, there is a rickety cross trainer and 1 bike and that’s your lot, so don’t bother taking gym gear with you.
The pool area is quite big but as usual there is not nearly enough sun beds, people were queuing up from 8.30am to be first line at the sliding door, these doors opened at 9am and at that point there was a mass stampede which was quite comical the first time you saw it but if you didn’t get a sunbed by 9.15 then you’ve had it for the day, but annoyingly some people were putting down towels then not turning up until late afternoon which I think is terrible....take note all you selfish people!!. The pool bar is ok and sold food and drinks from 11am till 5.30pm, but a 2 euro for a Coke it soon mounts up especially with kids, the bar staff were pretty miserable and hardly cracked a smile whilst we were there, so miserable service equals no tip!, being polite cost nothing to make someone’s holiday better. There is a small set of stairs at the back of the hotel pool area leading to a small cove, this was great for the kids to snorkel, do some fishing and jump of the rocks.
The is no entertainment in the hotel itself but a few minutes from the door is ‘the square’, which is like a courtyard with loads of pubs round the outside and chairs in the middle, they have live acts on every night and has lots of money eating machines for the kids. Overall, I would go back to the area although maybe not the same hotel, but who knows!!
There are plenty of restaurants close by and they were all nice for eating out, but we enjoyed Restaurant Miami and the Chinese directly across from the hotel best, so ate there twice.
Overall we enjoyed our time in Santa Ponsa and would visit again.

Room Tip: Try for a pool view on a high floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmygea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we arrived at the hotel about 9:30 at night and was dealt with at reception very quickly and we had only booked side view room but once we got our room we were very pleasantly surprised to see we had a full on sea view looking over pool and out to sea, rooms were quiet basic but were very clean, there was 4 of us sharing room 2 adults & 2 children and was nice to see they had put 3 beds in bedroom and one in living area already made up for us, hotel is in ideal position only 2 minutes walk to square which has a good variety of entertainment on every night, the worst thing about this hotel is the sunbed situation as mentioned by others but on a couple of occasions we went to pool at about 11am to find 2 or 3 sunbeds available. i would recommend this hotel and thought all the staff we dealt with were vey friendly and polite

Room Tip: the view from full sea view were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.2 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delfin Siesta Mar
Delfin Siesta Mar
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Deya
Apartamentos Deya
#35 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vista Club Apartments
Vista Club Apartments
#28 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ona Surfing Playa
Ona Surfing Playa
#22 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Jardin del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Jardin del Mar

Property: TRH Jardin del Mar
Address: C/ Huguet des Far 1, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRH Jardin del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the southwestern part of Mallorca, overlooking Santa Ponca’s bay. We offer apartments with air conditioning and private balcony. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, with a solarium with fantastic views. All apartments have a kitchenette and a fridge. The Jardín Del Mar Hotel has a bar-cafeteria with big TV screens. There is also a snack bar by the pool. Among the leisure facilities, customers will find a gym and a beach volleyball court, sauna and indoor pool (not available from May to October).The hotel is located 10 minutes drive from the lively resort of Magaluf. Customers will find Santa Ponca’s beach in about 5 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRH Jardin del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Jardin Del Mar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Mar Majorca
TRH Jardin Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing