We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OVERPRICED SUBSTANDARD FOOD” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson del Mar

Meson del Mar
Ranked #40 of 164 Restaurants in Santa Ponsa
Price range: $0 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
oldham
1 review
“OVERPRICED SUBSTANDARD FOOD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Avoid at all costs ! Firstly the service is terrible with surly waiters. We ordered the suckling pig which was a combination of scrag ends belly pork and such. To make matters worse it was obviously just chucked into a deep fat fryer. Leaving you with a rubbery crackling and bones and over cooked pork. This cost 15 euros ! My wife ordered a chicken breast dish which was pieces of under carcass formed into a breast roll. Also be aware of the charge for olives and bread as highlighted in previous posts they charge 1.80 euros a head. There are far better places to eat in Santa Ponsa and will cost you half of what this place charges. Just for info the Sheradnaze and Balcon de Maria are all part of the same chain so you will experience the same at each establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    157
    62
    44
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced, awful service, food ok, paying for the views.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We waited 25 minutes for a drink, service wasn't good and when we did finally order food we felt rushed by the waiter, he was keen to move on. Views are amazing, especially at sun set which is probably why the food is over priced. Food was ok but nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzf_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This restaurant can get very busy so book a table if you want a sea view. Good menu, just watch the bread and olives they bring to your table. Costs about 1.6 euros per person, you can refuse it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank minkymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good dining experience, but double charged me!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I dined here twice on my recent trip to Mallorca. Beatiful grilled seafood platter the first time, and simple fish meal the second. Service was good (except one water was a bit daft), and both my mum and I enjoyed the experience. And obviously the view is gorgeous.

Unfortunately a bitter taste is left in my mouth on return to reality - they have charged me twice for our first meal. Apparently I entered my pin twice - pretty sure I didn't. Dodgy?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is the best place to eat in Majorca!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I go to Majorca a lot, everytime I go I go here at least twice! The most amazing sunset view and a huge array of food available on their menu. Lovely sangria and wine selection. The staff are extremely busy but never mess up. Id recommend here to everyone! You should request their firewater for an amazing display. The paella is amazing also. Play centre for the kids. Back again next week! YAY

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaz020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson del Mar also viewed

 
Santa Ponsa, Calvia
 
Santa Ponsa, Calvia
Santa Ponsa, Calvia
 

Been to Meson del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing