We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tourist Train Salou
Save
Review Highlights
Salou train

Loved this little train journey around Salou .We got the green train and your on it over an hour... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Brenda W
,
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
via mobile
Not hop-on / hop-off, so plan your trip

Having read Trip Advisor prior to using the tourist train, it became obvious that this is not... read more

Reviewed August 31, 2018
Richard F
Read all 213 reviews
  
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
57
41
23
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
41
23
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews your bearings train journey a couple of minutes walk well worth the trip mediterranean village different parts cost euros port aventura great trip llevant beach sea front route portaventura earphones engine sights circuit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always like these little Tourist trains. However this one is definitely not worth it. Very disappointing. We had a stop just a couple of minutes walk from our hotel so decided it would be a nice scenic trip as all the other tourist trains we have taken. It wasn't and we didn't see any scenic. historical or pleasant areas on the journey. Furthermore it advertises commentaries in however many languages but it doesn't say to bring one's own headphones. In addition the cost is a rip-off, I think we paid 12 or 14 Euros each for absolutely nothing. We also had a long wait and the timings don't seem to mean anything. Definitely would not recommend.

Thank MCPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Four Euros for over an hour trip is great value. In fairness not too much to see but it gives an insight into the area.

Thank Racingjohn789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Loved this little train journey around Salou .We got the green train and your on it over an hour cost €10 a couple .I think i would advise you to use this early on in your holiday it gets you to see places you would otherwise miss.Its not a hop on hop off train so if you do get off you have to pay again .

Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

€6 a person and they do nothing and tell you nothing, audio is only if u bring your own head phones and 99% just music. They neglect to tell you that you can't hop on hop off like any other tourist train anywhere else. Waste of time and money and rude.

1  Thank gearoidoloinsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Pointless, you need to be able to get on and off in order to see Salou and the surrounding area without paying again and again.

You might as well get a taxi.

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Having read Trip Advisor prior to using the tourist train, it became obvious that this is not hop-of/hop-off, so plan your trip carefully. We didn't find the route-diagrams at the train stops particularly helpful, but a better router map can be found in the Salou Tourist information booklets. We therefore caught the L1 Yellow route from the Placa d'Europa roundabout, then travelled all along the beach front, back around Cap d'Salou and used it as a way to get to PortAdventura. This represented good value for money at 18 euro for a family of 4.
This taskes around 80 minutes and is a very pleasent journey. Take your own headphones if you want to visted to commentory.

2  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

The best way to get to know your way around Salou. Can be expensive as you can’t hop on and off, bear this in mind when purchasing your tickets. The seating is not all that comfortable but the ride and experience along with getting your bearings of Salou it’s well worth it. We did it in our last day as a time filler with the kids. Wish we had done it the first day. Would of saved us a load of extra walking.

3  Thank TopTravelerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

As others had stated we caught the train thinking we could just ride it to the Llevant beach from our hotel but ended up staying on and getting off on the way back as we had to pay €20 for a family of 4 and wanted our money's worth. In the end we really enjoyed the trip and wished we had bought along earphones to listen to the tour guide version. Salou is beautiful and the train really captures the different areas. Just remember that you are unable to "hop on, hop off" on the train, ticket is valid for one round trip only.

5  Thank loubear78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Wish that I had read the reviews on here first. If I had I certainly would not have used it. We were going to PortAventura for the day and decided that this would be a convenient and fun way to get there. As others have said this isn’t a very comfortable ride, you can’t see half of the things pointed out in the audio and it’s not the quickest of journeys. However it is not that that has really annoyed me. When we purchased a ticket ( a family one costing €15) on the morning we were told by the driver that we could hop on and off at any point up to where we got on. Again the audio description also encourages you to do this too. As we were going to PortAventura this wasn’t an issue on the morning though. The issue arose when we came to return back. Not impressed at being conned out of another €15 for what was literally 3 stops on the way back as it does a circular route so going back was a shorter distance . I felt at the time that I had no option but to pay it as it was late at night and didn’t want to remain stranded. However being totally disgusted and not happy about the whole situation ( being lied to originally and the general attitude of staff on return trip I decided to pay a visit to the Visit Salou office as they are responsible for/ run this service. I found the attitude of the staff that we saw there absolutely disgusting. They were not one bit concerned that I’d been lied to by the driver and the whole attitude was basically that it was my tough luck and that I was wasting their time.
This whole episode has left a not very nice impression of what had been, up until that point, a really amazing holiday. They really need to sort this out and make sure that all of the information provided from staff, audio and other sources are absolutely clear about the costs and the fact that, despite being absolutely encouraged to, you cannot hop on and off without paying again to ensure people don’t feel that they’re being ripped off and taken advantage of which is not a good impression to have of , what is, an official service.
We are going to do another day at PortAventura again however this time we are going to use the taxis which are cheaper, much quicker and more comfortable.

Thank R0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

We had the TUI guide Micheal, he was brilliant guiding us throughout Tarragona so we didn’t get lost. Really educational trip, you learn a lot more about the country. Lovely sites as well. Cheap food and coffee is always a bonus!

2  Thank jadej1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews