We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanguli with Al Fresco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Resort Sanguli Salou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Resort Sanguli Salou
Ranked #2 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Sanguli with Al Fresco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

In general Sanguli is a very well run site, the staff tend to be quite aloof and not very accomodating (particullarly the kids club and the waiters/waitresses) but aside from a few dissapointing experiences we were happy with how the site operated - lots of the other staff such as the binmen, cleaners, security and gardners made effort with our son (always waving at him and stopping to chat). Its a shame none of the pools are heated as the water is ice cold, I also felt the playground didnt really cater for younger children with no swings available. The communal bathrooms and showers are spotless.

We booked with Al Fresco which is where things went wrong - awful dated dirty accomodation with a load of kids acting as 'reps'. The standard line for everything seemed to be 'the van is 8 years old now so we cant get parts'...to give you a few examples our toilet didnt work and we had to put our hand in the cistern to flush it, the door didnt lock properly, the baby gate didnt fit the fixings, the van was covered in the last occupants hair, insect nets were torn, the bbq was filthy and their was rubbish under our veranda. We were next to one of the reps vans and it was a disgrace the way they kept outside, also annoying that we had to ask them to stop talking and drinking at 4am one morning. Apart from that only saw them lying by the pool and on check in and out day.

I would recommend Sanguli for a family holiday but just make sure and book direclty with the park itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping Resort Sanguli Salou, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi,

It's lovely to see you were happy with Sanguli and facilities on site but I'm disappointed to see you did not enjoy your Al Fresco experience.

We do regularly monitor customer feedback and it will be brought to the attention of the relevant department to improve the service we provide. We carry out reviews of our mobile homes to carry out refurbishments where necessary and we are making some exciting changes on this site for next season.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your holiday.
Many thanks, the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    185
    56
    21
    21
See reviews for
456
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

All the reviews are right. Site lovely plenty to do but English very few n far between. Lots of young families there when we went (we took 18 mth) and was perfect. We went for a bike ride which was great. Everything reasonably priced on site. Some of the rv pitches were impressive most had TVs etc. did not make it to entertainment on too late for little one. We booked through groupon with al fresco which was a bargain!! Right between salou and cambrils which are both nice and very different. Beach was lush and never too busy mini golf on site was great too. Will defo be going back with family/ friends

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looloo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had a fab half term week here, plenty to do, close to beach, good accommodation, good food, evening entertainment poor.

Booked a Rossini chalet with Thomson Al Fresco, 2 bedrooms, one double one twin and double in lounge area, chalet was clean, well equipped, centrally located on site.

On site, plenty of activities, good pools with slides, but cold early in the season. Supermarket is well stocked, reasonably priced, there's another just outside main entrance towards the beach which is slightly cheaper, but not much. Both have great bakeries for fresh bread and cakes. On site takeaway is good, but not cheap.

WiFi is available, but connection is poor.

Evening entertainment in open air ampitheatre, well laid out with seating 'booths', waitress service for drinks and snacks. But entertainment was poor, shows were cancelled or changed, quality was pretty poor, but we enjoyed having a laugh at them as much as with them. Been to quite a few family resorts over the years and this was probably the worst for entertainment, felt we were watching them rehearse for when the season picked up. This was the only downside to the park, and it's only a minor gripe.

Off site, short walk to the beach, long flat, plenty of beach huts to grab a drink or snack. Also you can hire bikes from the campsite for a modest charge, long cycle paths along the beachfront in both directions, but check they work ok, a pedal fell off one of ours a few miles from site!

Local bus picks up on the beach side of the main road to go to Port Aventura, the land train picks up at the same point, local bus is a bit cheaper, but takes longer.

TIP - if going to Port Aventura, the lockers that can be found inside the park are a lot cheaper than the one's outside!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping Resort Sanguli Salou, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Derek,

It's great to see you enjoyed you holiday to Sanguli - thank you for your lovely feedback.

It does offer a good location between Cambrills and Salou and the beach promenade walk is a lovely way to spend an evening.

We do hope to see you again next summer.
Many thanks, the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked a mobile home at camping sanguli direct with the campsite rather than through Thomson Alfresco. It was about £300 cheaper, but the thing to remember if you do this, you won't have English neighbours. We were in an area with predominantly Dutch and French and although this didn't bother us, our 14 year old son might have met more friends in the more English area of the site. This was a minor drawback and I have to say, that our pitch was just fantastic and the mobile home was lovely. We went for the Louesian model which has two bedrooms. We did see the smallest ones and they did look tiny.
The campsite is absolutely beautiful and I can't really say a bad thing about it. There are 3 pools. We preferred the one nearest reception as it was much quieter than the other two, which got very crowded and it was difficult to find a sunbed. There are slides and activities at the other pools, but our son just walked round there for football and there was also water polo and other activities.
There are two supermarkets, one at each end of the site and these stock everything you would need for simple cooking. They are expensive but without a car, there was no real alternative. We tried to view it in relative terms in that it was cheaper than eating out.
With regard to eating out, the campsite restaurant is very good and we discovered that it is cheaper than most restaurants we found in Salou. It is definitely worth a visit and far better quality than those on the beach front outside the site.
The whole campsite has a very relaxed feel and all the staff were very helpful. It is very large and was very full in August, but it never felt over crowded. There were some English families, but these were totally outnumbered by the Dutch, French and Spanish. It has a very European feel, so if are looking for a holiday with lots of other English people, then this isn't the site for you. The food in the shop was very Spanish as was the restaurant and we loved that.
We flew from East Midlands direct to Reus with Ryan air and then simply picked up the local bus to the site. Don't waste your money on a taxi, the local company, Bus Plana run services from each flight and will drop you right outside the site entrance for a fraction of the price. We used the same company for a day in Taragona, which is stunning and we also went on their service to Barcelona. Quicker than the train and they stop near Camp Nou, which was great for us as we had booked a hotel there for an over night stay, after a match at the stadium. We booked tickets for the match on the Internet from home and stayed at a small hotel nearby called Bonanova park. Looking at the package prices we saw on arrival, I would recommend you book yourself as its far cheaper and the hotel was just fine, simple but clean and friendly.
All round, a brilliant family holiday and we would definitely return to Sanguli, if we return to Salou.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rubydiamond21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Halfway thru my 2nd stay at Sanguli. I agree with the bulk of the reviews. Almost impossible to fault unless nit picking. So here are a few thrifty tips. Book thru the web site for the best accom. If you can go mid sept after the price drop - Significant savings. Similar savings in may but not nearly as much happening. Fly to Reus. Book early for a cheap flight. Take a bus from the airport (if you can manage the bags/kids). Plana bus parked and waiting just outside terminal. Less than 1/2 the price of the cabs. Worth it. Price of shops on restaurants on site competitive so no need to waste time trying to leave the site bargin hunting. Bus anywhere just outside gate. Cheap too. Suggest - Tarragona old town area v-nice. Finally don't bother with car hire. Extra expense. As I said great bus service and bike hire on or off site. Sea front cycle lanes stretch for miles. So save pounds when losing a few.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wyldwyll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We drove direct to Spain from south wales last September 2012 to the Sanguli Resort with three children age 17,14 and 11.We had booked with Thomson Al Fresco in their caravans/mobile homes within the site.We had a fantastic holiday ! The drive was an experience that I would do again ...minus children lol ! ( Are we nearly there yet .......!!! )
The campsite was spectacular,the place is clean and well kept.Even though the site was busy especially on the weekends when touring campers came it never felt crowded.The pools are amazing something for everyone.You can walk to the beach if you ever feel the need to its a 2 min walk.If you want to go further afield there is a bus stop just across the road that takes you to most places.
Be prepared that this is a very spanish site so most holidaymakers are spanish but we enjoyed that ! No rowdy british gangs round the pool ! The lifeguards are quite strict ..rightly so .. and will stop any rowdiness immediately.
My only complaint was that the Thomson Al Fresco caravans and reps are not that great.The caravan needed a good clean and the floor in one bedroom had dropped but the reps are not interested ..when you walk around the site you see the Sanguli caravans are immaculate aand cleaned regularly.The Thomson ones dont get cleaned at all while your there and the towels dont get replaced !! We were there for just under three weeks and when I asked if we get clean towels was told ..No ..You have to use the launderette on site to wash them yourself.
I would go there again tomorrow but I would book direct with Sanguli due to better customer ervice experience and caravans .If you are looking at this site I can highly recommend!! Get Booking !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We last visited Sanguli 5 years ago and loved it...is even better now! First impressions are it's a massive site full of people and looks very busy (August) but the park is so big and spread out we never felt as if there were too many people in any one area. We stayed in Tahiti suite 13, booked direct with site, perfect location, big grassy area with sun all day to lie and relax on the sun loungers when we fancied a change from the pool area! Inside the bungalow was very clean, sofa beds a little hard but kids never noticed! No reserving sunbeds before 11am, but I went down around 10 most mornings and kept a few, so long as I sat on one they never moved the towels! Although there are 3 pool areas we just used the same one every day, had great slides and swim up bar, kids loved getting a lolly from that every day! The entertainment at night was very Spanish orientated...which we loved, we were in Spain after all! Kids mini disco started at 9, games and dancing for the younger kids, then the shows began at 10, usually dancers when we were there, which my girls loved watching. Then they did dance routines every night...adults enjoyed this as much as kids! The entertainments team work so hard, they seem to really enjoy their jobs! Restaraunts on site were just ok, much better to head out of campsite and turn right, we found a good few places to eat at very reasonable prices. Take away pizzas are lovely! Bakery in supermarket did the nicest apple puffs I've ever had...! Security excellent, very quiet at night after midnight. Beach just outside park, 4 euro for sunbed or 2 for a chair,lovely clean beach and water. Didn't go into Salou at all....got the bus to Cambrils, beautiful town with so many lovely shops and restaraunts. If you go to plana bus office you can get a 10 trip card for 14.90, whole family can use the one card. We went to portaventura one evening, then on way out booked a day at Costa Caribe water park at 30% discount. Well worth it! A perfect family holiday, relaxing but with plenty to keep everyone happy!

Room Tip: Tahiti suite 13 a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank busymum03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
2.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
1.8 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.8 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#42 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Resort Sanguli Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Resort Sanguli Salou

Property: Camping Resort Sanguli Salou
Address: Passeig miramar - Placa Venus, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Resort Sanguli Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 1265
Also Known As:
Camping Resort Sanguli Salou Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing