We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel, staff are all brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Life Avenida Suites
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great friendly hotel, staff are all brilliant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the summer for 2 weeks, 2A, 2C. Couldn't really fault the overall experience.

Room is nice size, and can tell been recently been refurbished. Meals were nice, plenty choice, Anna always found you a seat.

The TC staff all work hard and make your holiday. It's a child friendly hotel so be prepared for the normal kids disco and acts.

The bottom end of the hotel where the footy pitch and golf needs updating though. And again it's a mad rush for beds on a morning, altho a few times it was pleasing to see the reception geezer (wouldn't mess with him!), removing towels that had been there all morning with no one on.

Surrounding area is a bit dirty/run down/graffiti, obviously nothing to do with the hotel. We went to Portaventura for the 1st week, it's a 20min walk. Also went to Barca but not with TC, used the local travel company, much cheaper and same trips.

Overall had a great 2 weeks. Congrats to all staff from the cleaners to the management, you are all a credit and make people come back specifically to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMisterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    449
    152
    44
    15
See reviews for
978
134
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at the Avenida Suites from 10-24 September. I emailed the hotel to ask for a room with a walk in shower rather than a bath. We were alocated room 230 which is a corner room but very spacious. Only rooms with number 30 in them have a shower. We were lucky to get one. There were clean towels everyday if you wanted them. Plenty of shower gel in a dispenser on the wall, soap and shampoo but we preferrred to use our own shampoo. There is a kitchenette with a sink, fridge, microwave, kettle and 2 cups and saucers. Outside the hotel has a sign "Apartohotel" but it is now mainly half board and all inclusive. There is sufficient wardrobe space. No drawers but shelves. The beds are very hard and do get a bit of getting used to.

It was both my birthday and my husbands birthday whilst we were there and we were sent a bottle of cava to our room from reception. Thank you Sarah.

The food in the restaurant was good but some of it could have been hotter. There is a microwave in the restaurant if you need your food warming up a bit. Friday evening is "fish night". There were various types of white fish, shrimps, mussels, king prawns as well as meats. Sunday evening you even get roast beef and Yorkshire pudding, also there is chicken, pork, pasta etc. There is definiately plenty to choose from both at breakfast and evening meal. We stayed half board so I cannot speak about lunch. Thank you to Hana and her staff. Hana if you read this my sister is coming on Friday 4 November following our recommendation.

At the time we went we could always get sunbeds. There were still quite a few under 5 children and also one or two who should have been at school!

It took us about 5 minutes to the main shopping street and about 10 minutes to the beach. The promenade has fountains on it which are lit up in the evening from 9pm.

The outside evening entertainment was quite good which seemed to be on every other evening. Happy hour is from 8.30pm to 9.30pm which is good after your evening meal. Pint of beer and a glass of wine cost 2.15Es at happy hour.

A big thank you to all the staff who are all very helpful and pleasant.

Went to Cambrills which is nice. Also went to La Pineda but there is not a lot there - long stretch of sand and promenade. Went to Tarragona previously which is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools are quieter. We did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nora42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned home from a weeks stay at this hotel. Tues 24th Sept - Tues 1st Oct. Being a party of 10 with children ranging from 7-17, we were hoping for a fun but relaxing holiday and this hotel didn't disappoint. Nothing was too much trouble. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left all staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and It's the most welcomed we've ever felt.

When arriving at our hotel you couldn't fault anything. From the restruant to the pool side to the bar, they took extreme pride of their hotel. Rooms were cleaned daily and a change towels were given and the bed sheets were changed.
Rooms were adequate, we could of done with more cutlery as only had 2 spoons. Had a sink, fridge, kettle and cups. The beds aren't as bad as everyone makes out. We had a great night sleep every night, could of done with some more pillows though. Balcony very big with table and 4 chairs with 3 washing lines. Very nice bathroom too.
The presentation every single day in the restruant was absolutely amazing, it needed more variety of food but there was always plenty of everything.
Can't fault anything about the swimming pools. All 4 pools (big pool, indoor pool, kiddys pool with slides and a baby pool) were all excellent. Every day there was a lifeguard from around 9-9:30-6.
And again can not fault any members of staffs from the cleaners right through to the reps. Jonny has so much energy but all of the reps always went the extra mile to make the children happy!
The bar staff.. We have never met bar staff so happy in their work. Every single one of them went out of their way for everyone. All so friendly and chatting.
You're in the ideal location for all shops in walking distance. 20-30 minutes walk to Portaventura.

A huge thankyou to each and everyone of the reps / staff, especially Hana for sorting out the problem for the inbound flight.
Definality will be returning!!
A big thankyou, love the Gregory family x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just come back from a two week stay at the Golden Avenida Suites Hotel. This is a Thomson Family Hotel. Since My husband Frank (74) and myself at (66) we were a bit worried there would be a lot of children. We needn't have bothered. we arrived on the 10th Sept. and had a wonderful stay. We were on the 6th Floor with two room. One Twin and the main room with a double bed, microwave, fridge and sink , sofa, flat screen TV in both rooms and a large balcony overlooking the pool area. The staff were great and did everything to make our holiday good. They had a kids club and didn't have a lot of children running round. The Thomson Staff especially Johnni Rock, Shaneece and Emma Jane were great. We played bouls, killer darts and other games in the afternoon. At 4pm there was a quiz. The other Thomson reps were very helpful and everyone did their best to make our stay unforgettable. Went to Portaventura, and Decades show, had a great time. Its the first holiday we have spent so much time in the hotel, met some lovely people. Good entertainment for kids and adults. Stayed in hotel bar most nights reasonable prices, we were half board will go AI next time. Looking forward to going back next year

Room Tip: We were in room 607, High Floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thimblebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Golden Avenida for 11 nights in September 2013. The hotel is great, service is friendly and helpful, food was good and our room was overlooking the pools. No noise at night, great entertainment and if they could do what you wanted they would. No issue with getting sunbirds and an umbrella every day although I was too much of a wimp to brave the cold swimming pool. My only complaint would be the hard beds and this did become a annoyance after a week had passed. Apart from that everything was set for a thoroughly relaxing holiday. Would recommend and would return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have just returned from weeks holiday in this hotel and had a very enjoyable time. Accommodation was spacious and clean, although balcony was quite small and room overlooked the childrens pool on first floor and therefore had very limited outlook. We were half board and there was a very good choice both for breakfast and evening meal. All staff were very pleasant and check in was quick. Bar staff were all friendly and the service was very good. What really made the holiday were the people that we met there who were all really friendly - special hello to Ros and Fred!! Would definitely recommend this hotel. Salou is a lovely place and this was sixth visit - something for everyone and the beach bars are a very good way to people watch while having a nice cold beer!! Weather was superb for the time of year - never saw a drop of rain and hardly a cloud.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main pool seem to have better outlook and had sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linden5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

So the hotel is fantastic, make no mistake. The staff are amazing, from the receptionists to the catering staff, everyone here cares, they all have a sense of humour, they are always helpful, the hotel is always clean and tidy, i really can't say a bad word about them.

Each room is a suite which was perfect for us since our little was in bed by 9-10pm each night so we had our own room as did she. The rooms were of a really good quality, modern T.V's in both rooms, nice sized bathroom, cleaned well most days, great size, good balcony too. The air con could be a little better but was fine on the most part.

The pools, there were 3 of them were great. One for little kids, i.e ideal for under 3, sadly some parents were happy to allow their kids over 7-10 to jump around the toddlers pool with inflatables too, which is a real shame because they had two other perfectly fine pools instead, but what can you do. Perhaps the hotel could make it an under 3's pool officially to stop this? All 3 pools were very good though.

The queues for the sunbeds was a bit of a joke, if you want an umbrella you have to be down pretty early and join the queue, the staff don't remove towels or anything and like everywhere there were times that people don't turn up till 3 in the afternoon for their beds of take 8 beds of two families of 8 when they are hardly there, surely kids don’t all need their own beds?

Entertainment, good on the whole, the Thompson staff tried very hard and were very nice, the only thing i'd say is like most things it all became a bit repetitive after a while. Also our daughter was under 3 so there really wasn't anything for her to join in with. They had announcements each night on the board and there were supposed to be 2 nights a week of mini discos which she would have loved, aimed at the little ones, except for some reason the Thompson staff didn't do it and stuck to the regular games aimed at the older kids.

Food, very good, lots of fish and veggie options, even gluten free if required, however on a 2 week holiday it does get a bit repetitive. If you do a take out lunch in place of dinner it really isn't worth the paper it's written on.

Salou itself has lots of nice parts but beware it also has parts like little England, but not the nice parts. The rundown greasy spoons, the rowdy pubs, Burger King etc, but you can avoid this. Nice beach, nice people on the whole.

Beds, as everyone has said, so rock hard, a real shame, had such a bad back by the end of the trip, i appreciate that it would cost a fortune to replace all of these, but with all the bad reviews about them i think that someone should invest in them.

Inspite of my moans and gripes we had an amazing holiday and if you want a fun place to go with kids over 3 years old and don't mind lots of beer drinking, smoking tattooed folk then this is the place for you. If you are a snob like me perhaps bring your own friends.

Room Tip: High rooms above the kids pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adamdlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Port Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Life Avenida Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Life Avenida Suites

Property: Family Life Avenida Suites
Address: Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Golden Avenida Suites)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#3 Family Hotel in Salou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Family Life Avenida Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Park Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing