We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,603)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveler rating
815
530
185
54
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
530
185
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthomson staffkids clubdouble bedbaby roomhalf boardbar staffmattress toppersoft play areaseparate bedroompool arearoad sidefridge and microwavetotsself cateringevery nightevening entertainmentyoung children
Filter
Updating list...
1,002 - 1,007 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

So the hotel is fantastic, make no mistake. The staff are amazing, from the receptionists to the catering staff, everyone here cares, they all have a sense of humour, they are always helpful, the hotel is always clean and tidy, i really can't say a bad word about them.

Each room is a suite which was perfect for us since our little was in bed by 9-10pm each night so we had our own room as did she. The rooms were of a really good quality, modern T.V's in both rooms, nice sized bathroom, cleaned well most days, great size, good balcony too. The air con could be a little better but was fine on the most part.

The pools, there were 3 of them were great. One for little kids, i.e ideal for under 3, sadly some parents were happy to allow their kids over 7-10 to jump around the toddlers pool with inflatables too, which is a real shame because they had two other perfectly fine pools instead, but what can you do. Perhaps the hotel could make it an under 3's pool officially to stop this? All 3 pools were very good though.

The queues for the sunbeds was a bit of a joke, if you want an umbrella you have to be down pretty early and join the queue, the staff don't remove towels or anything and like everywhere there were times that people don't turn up till 3 in the afternoon for their beds of take 8 beds of two families of 8 when they are hardly there, surely kids don’t all need their own beds?

Entertainment, good on the whole, the Thompson staff tried very hard and were very nice, the only thing i'd say is like most things it all became a bit repetitive after a while. Also our daughter was under 3 so there really wasn't anything for her to join in with. They had announcements each night on the board and there were supposed to be 2 nights a week of mini discos which she would have loved, aimed at the little ones, except for some reason the Thompson staff didn't do it and stuck to the regular games aimed at the older kids.

Food, very good, lots of fish and veggie options, even gluten free if required, however on a 2 week holiday it does get a bit repetitive. If you do a take out lunch in place of dinner it really isn't worth the paper it's written on.

Salou itself has lots of nice parts but beware it also has parts like little England, but not the nice parts. The rundown greasy spoons, the rowdy pubs, Burger King etc, but you can avoid this. Nice beach, nice people on the whole.

Beds, as everyone has said, so rock hard, a real shame, had such a bad back by the end of the trip, i appreciate that it would cost a fortune to replace all of these, but with all the bad reviews about them i think that someone should invest in them.

Inspite of my moans and gripes we had an amazing holiday and if you want a fun place to go with kids over 3 years old and don't mind lots of beer drinking, smoking tattooed folk then this is the place for you. If you are a snob like me perhaps bring your own friends.

Room Tip: High rooms above the kids pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adamdlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We usually stay at Hotel Jamie 1 adjacent to the Golden Avenida, but a week before we left, we were advised that they were overbooked and we were being moved. Lucky us! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and will certainly be looking to stay here again next year. We were on B&B, and what a breakfast! Kept us going right through to dinner. The choice was fantastic, and we thought the quality of the food was very good. We particularly loved the individual omelettes,the fruit juices and the fresh melon and pineapple. There was Cava available as well for those who wanted it! We never needed to hunt around for sunbeds, and it was particularly nice to see a life guard on duty actively policing the pool and nipping any bad behaviours in the bud. The rooms were great - loads of space and storage, a kitchenette, and flat screen tvs - we found the beds really comfortable. The staff we encountered were friendly and efficient, and those on reception in particular spoke really good English. Drinks at the bar were reasonable - 5 Euros for 2 San Miguel, 7 Euro for a bottle of wine. The hotel is well located for bars, restaurants and shops, and about 10 mins walk to the beach. Buses to La Pineda, Tarrogona, Cambrils and Barcelona 5 minutes away. The shuttle stopped right outside the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a week at the hotel - the hotel itself is fine but more 3 star in parts. The rooms were lovely - just been renovated and spotlessly clean and very modern. Couldn't ask for more internally. Unfortunately, our room faced the road and was on first floor right above the entertainment. I was travelling with a 2 year old so not ideal to get an early (ish) night. There was constant traffic noise and shouts/giggles from drunken revellers. Luckily the hotel entertainment finished around 11.30-12ish so we only had to listen to throbbing music for a short time. Our balcony was tiny and was in constant shade. With hindsight, we should have asked to be moved. My advice to hotel would be to allocate the road facing rooms above the entertainment only when all other rooms are occupied. Sound proofing would also be ideal - the headboard of my bed was attached to the wall connecting to the bathroom in the room next door so I could hear the occupants next door going to the loo during the night!!

The food was good - not amazing but plenty of choice and variety. We were full board. There is waiter service at lunch and dinner for drinks but the waiter didn't offer us a drink on two occasions. Don't go for the house wine - it isn't great. The spirits aren't that strong either so stick to beer. At least, you know wheat you're getting.

Pool was huge and clean and could be amazing if the sunbeds/umbrellas were updated. Never had a problem getting a bed or an umbrella though so can't complain.

Staff were friendly and polite. Jonny, from the entertainment team, is the star here He carries the other reps (all female and lacking a bit of oomph!). Reception staff were efficient and friendly too.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor and road facing!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALISON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Well after visiting in September 2012 we again visited from 7th September for 10 days. On arrival we were given room 410 facing the road ( I had contacted the hotel prior asking for a pool view room ) Unfortunately there were no pool view rooms available for the first couple of days. Being a Saturday the noise from clubbers going home down the road was terrible.
The hotel did very well in moving us as quickly as they good to the 6th floor facing the pool and to the exact same room as last year....so very happy.

The staff are superb at this hotel and not one person can be faulted.

The crèche this year was fantastic and is by far the best Thompson run Creche we have visited. Carys and Rachel are great with the kids with structured sessions, this kids loved it.

The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss, but the Thompson team were good and Jonny Rocks was very good, excellent with both the adults and kids.

The only down side were the clientele...... I will set the scene and this isn't being snobby, 09.15, get as much food on your plate and then leave half of it, let your kids do the same. 09.30 get your first pint of the day while admiring your numerous kids names tattooed on your arms. Sit down for lunch of chips and pizza while smoking your 20th cigarette of the day..........

If you can put up with this ( we just laughed ) then you wont go far wrong with this hotel

Room Tip: try not to get any room with 19 or 20 in the number ie 419, 420 they are road side and near the lifts
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdP816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here between 03-10 Sept and had the best time ever. 10 of us travelled out. 6 adults and 4 children 4 and under.

From the moment you check in and get to your room you can't help but feel delighted with the place. Rooms are lovely and clean and with 2 rooms, a sofa, lovely bathroom, kitchen area and a large balcony you have everything you need.

We were lucky to have a pool view. Directly under us was the small toddlers pool and terrace and down the stairs was the main pools and further over again were the crazy golf, football pitch and play park area with a big climbing frame and slides. The kids loved it.

Food was amazing, we ate so much. You can't help it because everything is so nice, you just want to try it all. They even did some brilliant displays with the food. Check out the pics.

The entertainment team were 1st class. Jonny Rocks, Shuuuuutup Shanice and EJ in particular we're brilliant. They were always around the pool and keeping the kids entertained with games. Thompson The Dog made a few appearances through the day to drive the little ones crazy too haha

Daily quiz at 4pm :-) was great and we won on our last day!!

Staff were brilliant and very friendly, always there to help and get you anything.

Loved Happy Hour :-)
Couple of cocktails while the kids are all dancing with Jonny Rocks. Still all singing Chocolatè now around the house lol

We couldn't recommend a nicer place for families and it's only a 15 min walk to the beach. Would definitely go again.

If you book this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oggyboy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews