We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Life Avenida Suites
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

2 adults and 3 kids travelled here aged 6,3 and 9months.
Reception staff all speak excellent English and go out of there way to make your stay go smoothly, Ingrid , Dana and Boris were particularly helpful.
The rooms are now amazing. The bedroom and living area both had a flat screen tv with uk channels with Disney channel for kids which was fab when they woke early or when we were getting ready on a night, it kept them occupied for an hour.
The pools were brill , on the top there's a baby pool on a decked terrace which we were lucky enoughto get a room onto so we could just jump over with our stuff ;) then the splash pool with slides which was freezing but my 6 year old didn't mind at all. The big pool was great and big enough for a swim in.
We never had a problem getting a sunbed down by the main pool yet the sun bed freaks were still at the door at 8am running for the perfect bed! The pool area was always kept clean and the lifeguard was always alert.
Restaurant- I don't know how people can moan about the food, I really don't. Breakfast- bacon, egg,beans,tomato,omelettes,sausage, toast, cereal, croissants , biscuits, fruit, ham, cheese, salad - what else do you want!?
Dinner and tea times there was always something, potatoes, chips,pasta,chicken, pork, beef, samosas, spring rolls, chilli con carne, bolognese,currys, casseroles, kebabs, wraps, burgers, hot dogs- what more do u need lol
Ana the restaurant manager is brilliant with kids, always happy and chatting to them, my boys already miss her.
Entertainment - johnny rocks and Ej and Bubbles worked so hard permanently full of energy! My boys loved Bubbles in kids club , as for kids club it really was loved by my boys, they went to several sessions and always came out happy looking forward to the next day.
There's a soft play for little ones and my 9mnth old enjoyed it in there too, it was great for her to get out of the sun and have a crawl about.

The all inclusive was superb, Smirnoff was included and slush puppies, chocolate milkshake and the ice cream selection was good too.

The only downside to the whole holiday was the bed! My back is still aching but don't let that put you off as no one else seemed to mind!

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room to get easy access to baby pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justme033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    449
    152
    44
    15
See reviews for
978
134
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 11 nights at the Golden Avenida Suites on our somewhat unconventional honeymoon with our children (aged 11,9,8 and 3 months).
We had requested a pool-facing room as previous reviews had said they were quieter and I think this is probably generally true however avoid rooms 108, 109, 110 and 111 if you want to go to sleep before midnight: they are directly above the entertainment / bar area and you can hear every word of every song that is played. When we complained we were offered another room however it was road-facing and we decided hearing the disco until midnight was preferable to hearing the drunks staggering home and shouting until 7am so stayed where we were. Our room (one of the 2 room suites that sleeps up to 5) was spotlessly clean with plenty of storage for the clothes required for 6 of us. There was a washing line on the balcony but worth taking some pegs as items did blow off in the wind. Both rooms had a tv so kids could watch something different to us.
Reception staff were incredibly helpful and gave us a complimentary bottle of cava when they realised it was our honeymoon. Ana in the restaurant obviously enjoys her job as she always greeted us with a smile and was lovely to all the children.
The food for the meat-eaters was excellent (according to my husband). The options for vegetarians were limited: plenty of cheese and there's fish if you're a pescartarian but lots of the salads had bits of ham in them, the chef in the morning really wasn't fussed about throwing bits of ham on to the tray of pancakes and although there was pasta at lunch and dinner, the tomato sauce often had meat in it. On the plus side, there is a gluten-free (limited) menu. You need to ask for it but the hotel can provide pasta, pizza, bread, cakes and biscuits.
The sunbed dash has been well documented in other reviews and is a pain: doors to the pool area open at 8.15am but you probably need to queue from 7.45am if you want a parasol. The baby pool on the raised deck is less busy and we always managed to get 4 sunbeds and a parasol here. This pool is suitable for under 5s.
My children had a fantastic time. They were in the pools most of the time but also played table tennis, football and used the playground. Being all inclusive meant that they could have as many lollies, slushes, ice creams and toasted sandwiches as they wanted from the pool bar during the day.
We ventured into Salou itself one day but it wasn't really our thing: rather too 'Brits abroad' for our liking - lots of 'egg and chips' restaurants and nightclubs. We're glad we went all inclusive at the Golden Avenida as it meant we didn't have to eat out.
Overall, a great holiday. As I didn't like Salou itself, I probably wouldn't go back however the hotel itself was well worth going to.

Room Tip: Pool facing but not directly above the entertainment area / bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Avenida for 2 weeks in Aug and we loved it!

Don’t know where to start…It’s the best family holiday we have ever had.

From the minute you walk in you are greeted with a smile by the lovely reception staff Sarah, Dana, Boris and Ingrid, they will go out of their way to help you if they can.

The rooms are lovely, we had Room 208 – 2nd floor looking over the pool it was perfectly place and very little noise in the evening. In the main room we had 2 singles beds pushed together, a sofa (bed), kitchenette and flatscreen TV with loads of English channels – Sky sports, Sky News, BBC2, ITV, channel 4 or E4 I think and a couple of kids channels. Then there is a bedroom with 2 single beds and another TV with all the same channels, my daughter loved being able to watch cartoons on her TV while we were getting ready to go out. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed regularly. We had no problem with the bed, we thought it was really comfy.

The Kids Clubs are great, my little one had never been in a kids club before and I wasn't sure if she would want to but she LOVED it, she couldn't wait to go. They had a drop in Kids club at 1.30 to 3.30 for all ages and the another one at 4.00 to 6.00 and them some nights they had an evening kids club from 7.00 to 9.00. It was great in the day to keep her out of the sun for a couple of hours and she loved it. They also have a creche for toddlers and that seemed really popular also.

There is so much to do for the kids and the adults if you want to take part. From Aquafit in the morning, water-polo and all sorts of crazy pool games during the day to some fun and cheesy shows in the evening. The Thomson entertainment staff work so hard day and night, I don’t know where they get the energy from. Johnny Rocks, EJ & Shaneece and all the Kids Club staff are amazing, they work so hard to make your kids holiday fun.


The restaurant was great, loads of choice for breakfast: cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, freshly made omelettes and pancakes, fried egg, sausage, bacon, loads of fresh bread and rolls. Lunch and dinner was a great spread, loads of salad and veg choices, freshly grilled meat and fish, the usual meats in sauce, potatoes, rice, pasta or you can even opt for hot dogs or burgers with chips if that’s what you fancy. They even have a little kids section where they often did chicken or fish gougons and pasta / chips. We never had trouble finding something nice to eat. The restaurant staff work really hard and a big thanks to Ana who loved greeting all the kids with a straw and gave them a sweet on the way out.

The bar was fab, they had Smirnoff and many other named brands included in the AI, the bar staff were also great and worked really hard, always running around.

It really is a brilliant hotel, the staff are amazing they work so hard to keep the customers happy, the reviews are right, it’s brilliant for a family holiday and we will definitely be back, maybe even next summer.

Room Tip: Room 208 - 2nd floor looking over the pool perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweetie-pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights all inclusive would recommend and can see why people re-book year after year only 20 min transfer time to! The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our 'Suite' was spacious with 2 flat screen TV's with Sky Sports!!! There was a sunned rush in the morning but that was mainly people with small children wanting a spot by the children's pool tree are plenty of sun beds. The restaurant was lovely the food was always fresh, with plenty of choice, fresh fish being cooked on the griddle, various meats and kebabs being cooked to your liking. Ana the restaurant manager was lovely always took the time to speak especially to the children. The Thompson reps - Jonny Rocks, Shut Up Shaneece and EJ and all the kids club reps full marks to them they work so hard keeping the kids and adults fully entertained. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, friendly and relaxing. Salou itself is a large and busy resort with something for all ages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just back from a fab holiday at the above hotel - travelled with thomsons with my husband,7 year old daughter an 9 month old son an we couldn't fault the hotel and service at all.

The rooms were up to date modern an suitable for a family with a baby, the hotel was spotless, the food and drink of a high quality but what made it was the helpful friendly staff in all areas who couldn't do enough to make your stay comfortable and fulfilled.

The entertainment was second to none and we hardly saw our 7 year old who loved the kids club - especially shanezze !

The resort was nice - could have been a bit cleaner but didn't spoil anything.

Only downside beds very hard !

Room Tip: Try and get a pool side room as the road can be very noisy day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just arrived back from a fantastic week at The Golden Avenida suites, wow.... what a super place to stay. On arrival we were given the key to our room and were very pleasantly surprised as it was a suite with a small kitchenette , Double bed, plenty of storage, plus a separate room with 2 single beds, sofa and 2 flat screen t.v`s, air conditioning ....and a very nice bathroom...all spotlessly clean.

The pool area is lovely and there are plenty of sun beds... we never had a problem finding 3!! The bar staff are very helpful and the drinks are branded...i.e vodka is Smirnoff... the snack bar provides a wide variety of meals, some not included in all inclusive but you could get toast, pizza, burger, toasties etc... great for kids.. . The restaurant is only small (compared to some), but there is plenty of room. The food is amazing, always fresh fish being cooked on the griddle or fresh pork chops/ lamb chops, we had fresh salmon, tuna, roast pork lion which was totally gorgeous, roast beef, also lots of Spanish food, the salad bar was always filled to the brim with gorgeous mixed salads, meats and cheese, breakfast was good... although i don`t like the Spanish bacon, the sausage was lovely, fresh pancakes and omelets were made as you required and Ana the restaurant manager was superb, always asking if we had enjoyed our meal. I heard a few people moaning about the food, but realized they were only eating chips, burgers and pizza which were plentiful but who goes to Spain to eat chips and burgers???? certainly not us!!
Salou has a lovely beach, plenty of shops, bars and restaurants, We hired a car and went to La Pineda which is nice and Cambrils which was beautiful, we also drove out to some quaint Spainish villages.

The Thompson animacion team work so hard to keep everyone happy, even when it rained they had games and quizzes to keep everyone entertained, Johnny Rocks and 'Shut up' Chanice are fantastic.. :) The kids loved them, there is also a kids club for smaller children.

There is a small indoor pool which came in handy as a few mornings it rained but usually by lunch time the sun had come out and it was glorious...

Salou is a lively resort with plenty for either young or old... Overall A superb holiday :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elliotmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned after a fortnight's half-board stay at the Golden Avenida Suites and we had a fantastic holiday. Arrived at the hotel mid-morning and having read some recommendations on Tripadvisor I'd emailed the hotel a few weeks previously and asked for a high-floor pool-side room. We had exactly what we asked for and the room was an ideal layout for us as a family of four. A twin bedroom for the children with their own flat-screen TV (BBC, C4, SkySports and Disney Jr) and a double bed for us in the lounge as well as a separate sofa, another TV and a kitchenette with microwave, kettle and a fridge. The only crockery provided were two cups,saucers and a couple of teaspoons. The bathroom was very modern. Just a couple of small personal gripes about the room - first of all it could have done with another mirror in the lounge or bedroom because the bathroom mirror was constantly steamed up when we were all showering but it really wasn't that big a deal and secondly, the double bed was hard but we asked for extra pillows after the first night which was a big improvement. I wasn't aware of a huge sunbed rush at 8,15am. We tended to take our towels down when we went for breakfast about 9.30ish and always managed to get a space The food at the restaurant was lovely with plenty of variety and a special mention to Ana, the restaurant manager who is delightful. The Thomson Reps (Hana, Jonny and Jenelle) were on hand regularly to assist with trips and the Entertainment Reps (Shaneece, Jonny Rocks and EJ) worked so hard to keep everyone entertained without being pushy. Credit to them all. Salou was a bit bigger than what we we've been used to and Llevant beach was incredibly busy, but we found out after our first visit that it was a Spanish bank holiday hence the crowds. Couple of recommendations - we visited Port Aventura in the evening when it's half-price entry. Much cooler and minimal queueing (didn't do Shambala). We were so impressed that we returned on one of our last evenings. Another activity which the kids loved was Bosc Aventura, a high-wire ropeway with zip wires (about 12 Euros). Visited a couple of times in the evening and the bungee trampoline was also a bit hit there - 4E for 10 mins which I thought was pretty good value. All in all we had a smashing time and I can highly recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-view room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatrinPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Port Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Life Avenida Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Life Avenida Suites

Property: Family Life Avenida Suites
Address: Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Golden Avenida Suites)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#3 Family Hotel in Salou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Family Life Avenida Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Family Life Avenida Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Park Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing