We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel with excellent amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI Family Life Avenida Suites
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent a very relaxing week with my boyfriend , Food was v good for buffet style (though can get very noisy and confusing when staff divide room with breakfast places before dinner has finished ) . Holiday reps were OK tho tall chap was very good rest of them seem a tad bored . receptionist and actual hotel staff were very friendly . minutes from beach and short bus trip 5mins from cambrills that is well worth a visit best seafood and restaurant setting right beside the harbour and lots of lovely cobbled streets n boutiques. Also a shirt walk to train station to get to barcalona that is more cost effective than going with Thomson and you get to choose when you go and come back just take a map .we also recommend farrgi ice cream and the maya bar right on thge beach at salou .

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for TUI Family Life Avenida Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in June 2012 entertainment was great for kids day and night but my son who is 12 was a bit board no activities for that age or teenagers games for the adults only food was good lovely rooms and not to far from the beach would go back to this hotel again my daughter age8 loved it day and night Thomson entertainment day and night were great.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view otherwise facing busy road but it didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

the room details as listed in the thomson information are still showing two bedroom suites with a double bed and two twin bedrooms sleeping up to six. This was my booking for 5 people but on arrival we were assured there was only suites with a double bed and a twin bedroom which was classed as a two bedroom suites. There are no suites which can sleep 6 people. Thomson should not be allowed to get away with this.

Room Tip: a party of more than 4 sharing should not book this hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hi, Me my wife and 23 month old went to this hotel at the end of september. The weather was great and the staff were just as warm. Plenty to do around the hotel, swimming pools and childrens pool at the top of the stairs were great. My little one loved it. Nice play areas and park for the kids. Soft play area down stairs that is great fun. The food was okay something different most days and the drinks were not bad. I would like to thank Anna in the dining room for making us feel welcome and always fusing around my son. Its not to bad of a walk to the beach as it gets rid of the A/I food and free ice cream. There was a lot on for the younger children that they seem to enjoy as my son was a little too young to join in. We would go back in the future as we like to try different areas. Another good thing is you get a fridge in your room and kettle which is good when the little one is asleep. You have a tv in the front room and one in the bedroom so you can watch different things to the wife.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the kiddies pool at the top, and get a room where you come out over a small w...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jamesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We travelled to Salou on the 21st of September 2012 via Thomson Travel in the United Kingdom. We were originally located in the Golden Port Salou but were absolutely horrified to discover that there were numerous issues with the hotel room which I have highlighted in my review of the Golden Port Hotel. We were transferred to the Golden Avenida Suites Hotel by a rather helpful Thomson employee and absolutely adored it. The suites are modernly furnished, kept absolutely spotless by the maids and we had a beautiful pool view from our room. The hotel staff are pleasant, the facilities are kept clean, the All Inclusive menu at the bar is satisfying (but very basic), the food was lovely and the range of food at meal times was brilliant. We never ate the same food twice during the whole week. The only negative point I have to make about the hotel is that the Thomson reps are absolutely frustrating and their less than entertaining events are just a headache. I wouldn't even bother with them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we stayed here with our 3 children for October half term. The rooms were very clean with plenty of space, the maids serviced the room every morning and changed the towels. The beds were firm as previously mentioned but still comfortable and we all slept well. There was no problem with noise but it was the end of season. Most of the restaurants and shops in Salou were still open, downside being the weather. We had 3 hot days out of the 7 and the rest were overcast with quite a lot of rain, but then that is always the risk at this time of year.
Transfers were quick only about 25 mins and very well organised.
The whole hotel is kept very clean and the pool areas are perfect for kiddies. the food was good and there were different choices every day, the hotel staff are fantastic, genuinely friendly and helpful, we needed a pharmacy and medical advice and Ingrid on reception was very helpful.
The evening entertainment was poor unfortunately 2 of the acts were really very bad, and the childrens entertainment put on by the reps very repetitive. There didnt seem to be a lot going on in the day time for the children and on rainy days the reps seem to dissapear but would imagine in peak season this is different.
We went on an excursion to Barcelona zoo and used the tour company up the road, they were great and it saved us 70 euros, so worth shopping around for the trips as Thomson are a little expensive.
There were 2 mirrors in the bathroom, one of which covered the whole wall, as I know previously this was a complaint but seems to be rectified. You can hire beach towels with just a deposit, they have a book swap scheme, and other items to lend, as well as a laundrette, indoor pool, internet, games room, childrens room, pool tables, 2 childrens play areas and 4 lovely pools. All in all we had a good week and the children loved every minute despite the weather. we used the indoor pool twice but would say that it didnt look very clean on the 2nd day so we steered clear after that.
I think to make the most of this hotel and its lovely pool and outside area we should have gone mid september when the weather was more stable, the beach is only 10 minute walk and has lots of play areas for the children, restaurants are all pretty reasonably priced and buses quite cheap. We took the bus to beautiful tarragona for only 11 euros, this town is well worth a visit.
You get what you pay for with this hotel, a pretty safe bet for a family holiday, nothing out of this world but all round enjoyable, we have some lovely memories and would reccommend to anyone with children but to steer clear during peak times would think june and september is a better time.

Room Tip: choose poolside rooms, and if you want extra sheet changes etc just ask the hotel staff are very hel...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was not what I had been expecting after reading previous reviews. It was clean but the apartment was very dull and basic. laminate floors,dull furnishings. just did not feel like Spain at all , could have been basic accommodation in Britain. We have been to many places in Spain and this was the most disappointing. Salou was like a copy of Benidorm, plus it was the end of season and lots of places were closed. On top of that we had lots of rain even thunder and lightning. The entertainment in the evening was childish in the extreme. The rep at our "leaving meeting". ". gave us some advice on what to do at the airport. " When you go to the airport most people pick the longest queue , don't------ go for the shortest, make sure you open your passport at the photo page, Listen for announcements and look at the board to check for your flight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" this from a girl who must have been a toddler when most of the guests had been going abroad for years!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
1.0 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Port Salou
Golden Port Salou
#5 of 93 in Salou
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#8 of 93 in Salou
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Avenida Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Avenida Suites

Address: Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Golden Avenida Suites)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#3 Family Hotel in Salou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Family Life Avenida Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI Family Life Avenida Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Park Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing