We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveler rating
819
540
187
54
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
819
540
187
54
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomson staff kids club double bed baby room half board bar staff mattress topper soft play area separate bedroom pool area road side fridge and microwave tots self catering every night evening entertainment young children
Filter
Updating list...
1,309 - 1,314 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Myself, my husband and two children stayed in the Golden Avenida Suites in August 2011 for 2 weeks. We went self catering but ended up eating in the hotel for the second week. Loved this hotel. Close to the main street yet still on a quiet street. Food was lovely and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Would definitely recommend it and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tina447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I spent a week at the Aparthotel G A Suites at full board and I had a lovely time, I will definitely be going back. The rooms are of a good standard and cleaned daily. The staff were really nice especially the restaurant and bar staff very helpful.
The food was adequate but not outstanding, breakfast was the best. It was a bit repetitive.
The best was being 10 mins away from the beach and local shops and local buses run all the time. Plenty of places to eat and some fantastic trips to book to go on. Barcelona and the downhill bike rides I would definitely recommend. Salou is fantastic and the people are so friendly. I loved my week in Spain.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My partner and I booked this Hotel mainly because of the great reviews, and also the price was very reasonable. However on arrival we were not very impressed ! The room, although a good size was greatly in need of a refurb, The kitchen area in particular with a cupboard door missing, and grotty cooking utensils. There were 2 HUGE saucepans you could cook stew for 10 people in..... but nothing smaller. The 2 frying pans were dirty with grease, and were so old and out of shape they were only fit for the dustbin, and the electric kettle had visible wires sticking out and we had to wiggle them about to get it to work !!
We had an enormous balcony, but unfortunately it looked out onto the road, and didn't get any sun whatever.
I'm really pleased we went self catering however, as the Hotel was full of children which we discovered at the welcome meeting. Only couples with young children would appreciate the entertainment, and the venue was more like a canteen and not at all comfortable. Hence we ate out, and found alternative places to go in the evenings. Also the swimming pools, indoor and outdoor were always packed with children, so we didn't use them either. The whole experience was more like a holiday camp than a family Hotel.
The staff on reception were lovely and very helpful, but we found the bar staff abrupt and miserable on the two occasions we used the bar. The maids were friendly enough, but were quite happy to see we had made our own beds, and just gave the room a quick sweep and changed any wet towels.
I believe that Thomsons are planning a grand refurb in 2012, but it will still remain faimily orientated, and not really suitable for adults wanting a relaxing break.

Room Tip: choose a pool view....... not overlooking the road.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank myholscarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I'll start with the positives-good location,size of apartment good,view over pool. Excellent food both in choice and presentation and nice dining room staff. Reception staff great very knowledgable/helpful. Outside area large and plenty of tables and plenty of sunbeds.
Bar needs upgrading quite shabby and the entertainment was poor and cheesy.Went 2 wks after the kids summer holiday break so thought it would be ok-it wasn't,loads of kids with terrible parents,who get drunk and leave thier kids to look after themselves. Hygiene wasn't good in general areas and also our apartment. Not cleaned sufficiently in the bathroom and kitchen. This hotel is being refurbished for 2012 and it needs to be. If you stay ask for a pool view as road side was noisy and in the shade.

Room Tip: higher floor and over the sun terrace seems quieter
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We went to this hotel as a family party of 9. Ages 4-81. Four of us had stayed here before some three years ago, and we had enthused about the hotel, so we had egg on our face for what we found. The Hotel reception staff were superb, as before, very helpful and knowledgable. Food was very disappointing, it was ok the first couple of days, but the hotel was closing the day we left, and we felt they was just using up what was in the cupboard. It was boring and we found it diffcult to find something to eat. Fortunately the food in the area is very reasonable. The restaurant ran out of juice/beer a couple of days before we came home. We felt this was not acceptable as we had paid for and expected to get the same service as customers in the previous weeks. The day time entertainment was almost the same of every day. The childrens entertainment was identical every evening, no variation at all. The rooms and balcony was not cleaned on a daily basis, the rubbish was taken and the beds made that was it. You could smell sewage in the bathroom. But if they are re-vamping the hotel that will sort those problems. The jacuzzi was brilliant and the children loved the indoor pool. We had three adults in our apartment and we found we had plently of room and a double balcony. There was no instructions in the room, for the telephone, microwave/grill, air conditioning etc. The water was lovely and hot. It did take 20 minutes to run a bath to cover your legs, but the shower was superb.
At 44 euros to go into Port Aventura, it wasn't feasible. Five of us had been there before, but didn't think it was worth another visit at that sort of money. We found the local large taxis's very reasonable. as are the buses. We have been to Salou about a dozen times so obviously we like the area, the closeness to Reus airport and the shorter flight time being a large factor. It would be interesting to see how the revamp goes.

Room Tip: Ask for high level to avoid noise, and a pool view, its better than overlooking the road.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Colleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews