We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a family place!!”
Review of Almonsa Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almonsa Playa
Ranked #83 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel was sold as a family resort apartments! We were the only family in the apartment. Everyone else was from Uni on one big drinking party called salou fest. Not once was we informed of this. We had been salou many time but in different parts this came recommended by 'on the beach holidays' as a family resort.

The apartment was very basic which would of been nice but it was disgusting. It was not clean and the floor sticky on arrival. It's smelt of mould. The bin under the sink was full of rotten food from previous guests. The fridge did not work. The boiler only lasted long enough to do the washing up and a very very quick shower for one. Not 5 of us. The bed sette was broken all the slate were broken and unusable. Despite requesting a cot we had to wait to get one and it was a) broken and the sides would not stay up and b) fility. It was all stained and horrible.
The bathroom has an ants nest in it and the sink was falling away from the wall. Many of the light bulbs were blown. The apartment was meant for 6 but only 2 cups and 4 plates no bowls. It was all dirty. There was also no kettle and it took us a day to get one which was a nightmare trying to prepare milk bottles. All the bedding was also filty and the sofa bed was full of mud.The toilet was not attached to the floor. The window in the kitchen area has glass slates missing which was big enough for someone to climb through.

No security safe for us to put our passports or money in.

The pool was closed for2 days while they cleaned it and got broken glass out on the day of it opening our boys kept finding bits of glass everywhere.

On day 2 we spoke to the reception about the weather in England and he said bet you are sad to leave tomorrow. I said we was not til Friday we was shocked and alarmed as the following day saw over 600 Uni students arrive. We did not sleep then more than a few hours. They got in about 5/6am the were being given loud wake up calls at 7am.

This was not a family place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonNkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 267 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Good: low price and although the restaurant was in the basement the food was okay for our vegetarian diet. The Bad: the coach drops you off about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, down alleys, up hills etc., with us having to drag and carry our luggage. The Very Very Noisy: There is no getting away from the boom boom boom boom boom from the nightclub until 5am followed by the crashing of the bottles into the skips in the morning. The door banged close and we could hear the guy in the next place over playing music and singing out loud till all hours. In the end I had to beg him to stop and thankfully he did. So, if you like sleeping all day and partying till dawn, this is the place for you. PS my husband had to mend the bed before we could sleep in it. The air conditioning is only in the living area and not the bedrooms. We felt we were taking our lives into our own hands when using the lifts because you had to pull the door open to get into it, it was poorly painted and was not big enough to fit a wheelchair using one lift to get you to the first floor, then take a second one to your floor. We saw two women carrying their friend in the lift while another friend dragged the wheelchair up the stairs..very disturbing.

Room Tip: You have been warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlands60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Myself and boyfriend, both in our 20s, arrived for a ten day stay. The room was quite large inlcuded a kitchen equipt with fridge, hob, cutlery and plates/pans etc. We had a sofa and TV (only got disney channel but know other rooms got news channel). Sofa into two beds. We had a double twin room. Balcany was big.

Our room was in E Block, I would stress to ask for a room in the A, B or C block. The noise from the club was very loud as we were right above this! However, it was finished by around 5 and we were out till 3/4ish most nights so didnt really bother us that much. Also ask for free air con so you can keep the doors closed which helps with the noise.

The room was cleaned every day. (Not sure why other reviews say they didnt get this) We had the beds made, fresh towels and toilet roll every day.

The pool was cleaned every morning and was lovely. Nice size and plently of beds. They have the bar with air hockey table etc inside.

The restaurant was fine.
Breakfast was 8-10 - toast, eggs, bacon, beans. Cornflakes, pastries and fruit. We went half board which was fine. Tea time was also 8-10 which included chips everyday, fish, chicken, pasta and salads. Basic but you get what you pay for. Drinks also very cheap.

For what we paid we had the option to eat out and would recommend Uncle Sams and the Taj Mahal indian.

The location of this hotel was perfect!!!!!!!!!!! Right in the centre, close to the beach, bars and restaurants.

Would recommend going to Portaventura. Amazing day out! We got our tickets cheap from a bloke in the irish bar, Danny Boy.

We paid approx £300 each for this holiday so didnt expect much on arriving at the hotel however for what we paid, it was pretty good. I would stay at this hotel again but request the quieter blocks. We had a fab time in Salou and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _Vicki_051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Apartments very spacious.great location.only down side is towels changed every 5 days,also buy your own toilet paper,
snoopys night club next door,
great breakfast served in the hampton restaurant close by,
also great food value in the steak house,

Room Tip: ask for rooms aways from night club side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wexf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

to start our dogs have a beter place to sleep .it is like going back to the 80,s it,s never been updated. never go there the place is falling apart there is also a night club under the apartment which go,s on untill 7 am in the morning 7 days a week it is not a nice place to go thank you mike and pat garvey

Room Tip: no rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Some people have written very bad reports on this hotel but i really cant understand why. Its probably one of the cheapest hotels you will ever stay in and genuinely it has nothing wrong with it. For £100 including breakfast you really cant go wrong.


It has a great location too being right in the centre of the Salou.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, the pool is always clean and hotel staff are very friendly. The hotel probably could do with a paint but its no biggy.

We stayed here for the week with a 9 month year old baby and found it great. The rooms are huge which is great if you have kids or are carrying baby stuff.

We stayed in room C-82 which is great if you have a Baby as you dont hear much noise from the club just round the side of the hotel.

I can understand that some rooms will be noisy but if your there for a good time and partying then this really isnt a problem as by the time you come in on from a night on the tiles the clubs will have shut anyway.

There are a few points which some people might not like

1/ Lifts are very small so a large Pushchair isnt ideal.
2/ Rooms are Cleaned before arrival but only once a week after that unless requested.
3/ Needs a lick of Paint and some TLC but this is mainly down to Guests not showing respect.
4/ You get what you pay for.
5/ If you have kids try and request a higher room to avoid Noise from Club( try and request a room Facing the Las Vegas Hotel or Round the Back of the Hotel(not facing Beach)

Breakfast was nice every morning and a Special Thank you to the breakfast Staff as there made the stay amazing.

Our son Jake loved the restaurant Manager who made a big fuss everytime we came down.

Thanks. Im sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewAndDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here with my cousin early september, the apartments are large but basic, dated and not the cleanest. However as we were only away for 4 nights this was fine and the central location was a big bonus. These apartments are best suited to guests who want to go out and party till late and sleep in the day. They could be cleaner and need refurbishing but they're okay for what you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
0.2 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#53 of 93 in Salou
1,738 reviews
1.1 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#72 of 93 in Salou
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel SunClub Salou
0.5 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#44 of 93 in Salou
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Complejo Riviera
Complejo Riviera
#75 of 93 in Salou
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonsa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonsa Playa

Address: Montblanc 4-6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range: $45 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Almonsa Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almonsa Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonsa Playa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing