We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel - great spa, we loved it”
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel for three nights after we'd been to a festival in Barcelona. We just wanted to relax and unwind and the hotel was perfect for this. The pool area is gorgeous, all decking and modern white furniture - they also have squashy beds and chairs which are super-comfy to sunbathe on! There's also a lovely spa that you can use free of charge (although treatments are extra) with a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The rooms themselves are very modern and super-clean, the bathroom was my fave thing - it had one of those 'rainforest' showers as well as a bath. A few people on here have moaned about lack of Wifi, but who wants to check their email on holiday?! We ate in the restaurant once and it was very good value - I think it was 14 euros for three courses and the fish I had was amazing. As for the location itself - the hotel is only about 200 metres away from the massive beach. The resort of Salou itself is a bit cheap and cheerful, but we didn't really venture out much. We did have an amazing meal at a restaurant called Villa Alexander (turn left out of the hotel and walk to the end of the road, then turn right and follow the road up for about 5 -10 mins). It was quite pricey but the food was fabulous and the settings/service was impeccable. The service in the actual hotel could have been a bit better - they didn't seem to have enough staff on and the pool bar wasn't open whilst we were there, but the staff were friendly and attentive. That was probably the only negative. I didn't want to leave at the end of our stay! It was really luxurious (plus the no-kids policy was a bonus!). One tip, though: don't book through a tour operator! One lady had paid £1,000 for her stay, but we managed to get it for about 50 euros per room per night through hotels.com!

Enjoy! xx

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemStGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 638 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed for a week at this hotel, thinking it was a good place for our holiday the only thing i thought was nice was the room. The serivce at breakfast was bad young staff didn't know what they was doing.I must say not there fault,, the eveing meal was very poor we ate out after the second night as for salou it's self i won't be going back there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bodenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Nice Hotel & Friendly Staff. We had no problems at all at this hotel, weather was a little iffy at this time of year but, thats no ones fault. We bought some iron on transfers to iron on to our own tshirts from tshirts-ontour.co.uk and because these supply a few of the bars in the main area with staff tshirts, we got discounted drinks when we wore ours! We had a very cheap night for just wearing a tshirt - it was fab!
Pool was very clean & although one day our cleaner missed cleaning our room - we let reception know that we had been forgotten & when we returned from our day at the pool we found a little note from the cleaner apologising - which was a nice little touch!
Would go back again, but probably at a different time of year.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
Thank gemzie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We travelled out of season to this popular coastal area and enjoyed a great hotel with an attentive hotel team who made us feel welcome and comfortable even though there were very few guests in resident.

Being a 4 Star Hotel, it deserved its rating, but we would just recommend some care on additional charges. Whilst these were not massive, they were not expected. For example, there was a safety box in the room and you'd be forgiven for thinking it came with the room, but in fact you had to pay daily for its use, similarly with the internet connection.

It would have added to our experience to have complimentary tea & coffee facilities in the room. Also, given that the hotel was under-occupied, it would have been a nice touch if the offer had been made as to whether we wanted to change our room, for any reason. That said, the accommodation was of a high standard.

We found the hotel team particularly helpful and the hotel breakfast very good.

This was definitely a great break just before the Valentine weekend and the hotel made all the difference.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJStk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

just a beautiful hotel to stay in. staff were very friendly. breakfast was lovely and well presented every morning. just off the main beach in salou.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
1  Thank dbt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Stayed for one night after flying into Reus before travelling to Valencia. Very impressive rooms with comfortable beds and a huge modern bathroom. An excellent breakfast is provided with a good variety of buffet food. Hot breakfast is cooked to order if desired.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.
We were recommended The Arena restaurant for dinner; no english menu was available however the waiters did their best to translate for us. Unfortunately the main courses were slightly overcooked (seabass) but the dark and white chocolate dessert was delicious. Would recommend a visit to Tarragona a lovely city; would like to return one day and spend more time there in order to see all the sights.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Lovely hotel in a great location. It is very modern and stylish, not at all like your usual holiday type hotel. The rooms are to die for with enormous bathrooms. A fabulous wet room which was just perfect after spending a few hours on a double width sunbed. We went bed and breakfast only and this was perfect for us as we like to try out different places to eat each night. As it is a very small hotel you probably wont get too much variety for evening meal so suggest you go B&B only. The location is excellent, very close to the wide beach and prominade only 2 mins away. shops, bars and restaurants just down the road. We went to Barcelona for the day to visit the nou camp and to see the evening fountain display which was magical. First time in Salou and first time to the Magnolai, but we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#13 of 93 in Salou
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#44 of 93 in Salou
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Blaumar
Sercotel Hotel Blaumar
#24 of 93 in Salou
765 reviews
1.4 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Address: Madrid 8, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Salou
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $85 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing