We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel”
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Salou
East Coast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Travelled from Reus Airport on bus, only 6 euros and the driver called out our hotel stop as we arrived which was very helpful. We were able to book into our room althought it was only about 10.30am. Great room and really appreciated the quiet air con which we kept on constant because it was so hot and humid (this automatically switched off if you opened the balcony door). Pool and spa reasonably quiet for time of year. I would recommend going half board at this hotel as the food was fabulous and quite reasonably priced. If you turn left out of the hotel and then right at the bottom of the road, the walk along the promenade was lovely and lots of colourful fountains to look at along the way. Great cocktail bar when you get to the end of the promenade (can't remember the name of it but it was the upstairs terrace connected to the disco. As we were on the 9.45am ryanair flight we booked a taxi for our return 28 euros. This was our first time in salou and would definately recommed this hotel to couples who want to have a quiet relaxing break .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    236
    61
    26
    23
See reviews for
47
403
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We went to Magnolia on honeymoon. It was perfect, the location, food, and decor. Our room was huge, with a big balcony, and a huge shower, and wardrobe. Cant fault it! Breakfast had lots of choice, very Spanish. Outside pool was small but lovely, and spa was great for relaxing in the evenings. The staff were friendly and helpful. the location was quiet, and 2 mins from the beach. The only thing I would say is that I wasnt impressed with Salou overall. The promenade and beach was lovely, and a great location for getting to the theme park, but it was quite full of typical brits restaurant, and shops so we used to go to nearby Cambrills for dinner to experience the real spain. the theme park was so packed in August, it was a bit of a wasted trip as we hardly got any rides, but otherwise it would have been great.
This really felt like a boutique hotel and is one of the only 4 star hotles in Salou.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I stayed in this hotel in September this year and was very impressed by the quality of the rooms. - they were clean, nicely decorated and had a great shower/bathroom area.
The pool and bar area was again very modern and nicely decorated. Only down sides were the walls in the hotel were paper thin (we couldnt hear our TV over peoples conversations in the next room at times!) however we were lucky in that the people in the next room wernt night owls so didnt keep us up late!
-only other down points were the breakfast would also not be to everyones liking - it catered very much for european tastes!
That said I loved this hotel, I would go back in a flash, and its centrally located but still far enough off the beaten track so your not in a noisy area. I enjoyed Salou too, and thankfully didnt experience the crime mentioned by another reviewer - I would highly recommend taking a trip to Tarragona or Barcelona when there - the public transport is cheap and frequent!

  • Liked — Quality/Spec of the room and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Thin walls between rooms!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Great hotel room, and facilities.
Great standard of room, with flat screen TV, large bed, and hydrotherapy shower/wet room- want one at home now.The spa is with sauna and jacuzzi also available free of charge. Free breakfast, as we booked directly through hotel website. Min walk to beach, has lovely pool area and far enough away from the noisy bars, that doesnt effect sleep :)
Recommend hotel if you are looking for high standards and excellent customer service within Salou area.
Only issue was taxi from Reus to Salou (10 min drive) cost €30- expensive for such a short journey!

  • Liked — Wet room
  • Disliked — Only BBC world news & sky news- english speaking channels
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sammielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for 1 week from Sept 13th with my husband and i have to stay it was one of the most relaxing holidays ever, the hotel was very quiet at night also so just as well the town of Salou is buzzing but i liked the fact we could have a mad night out on the town and a nice quiet relaxed night the next night.

The rooms were spotless and the bathroom the best ever, very modern with a big comfy bed. Breakfast was very standard i stuck to fresh fruit and toast each morning which was grand, didn't dine there otherwise as the choice in Salou was so great.

The pool was my favourite, at it's busiest there was about six people on the most comfortable sun loungers ever, it was closed away from the public with nice relaxing music playing in the background.

Overall we loved our hotel and loved Salou and would have no hesitation in going back in the morning - i wish!!!

  • Liked — The Pool Area
  • Disliked — Possibly the only English TV was the news but hey thats not really a problem
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aisling81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

At Reus airport and decided to treat ourselves to the taxi rather than take the bus. This was €30 and took maybe 15-20 mins. We arrived early (9.45am) and didn't expect a room to be available, but the reception man couldn't apologise enough anyway. Went for a walk and coffee and when we returned the room was ready (508). I was pleased with the room. It was a very good size, and the bathroom huge. My only disappointment was that the water pressure for the shower was not strong and therefore diminished its enjoyment. The view was very good considering the hotel does not face the sea. The king size bed was very comfy but I could hear next door's alarm in the morning. Breakfast was very adequate. Not much hot selection but lots of meats and pastries. The evening 3 course meal seemed very good value at €18 plus some supplements but we didn't try as hubby had already spotted another restaurant he wanted to go to. The pool area was very peaceful. There were only a few other couples at any one time. The pool, however was cold and the jacuzzi opening times meant that we never got to use it. The pool bar was erratically manned and we had to ask for service on occasion but staff were always pleasant. The beach and bus stop is a two minute walk. Check out was 12 noon, which I thought was very generous. I would definately stay again and ask for that room as it is one of few with a sea view.

  • Liked — Modern design, peaceful
  • Disliked — Pool was a bit cold, Services arn't advertised e.g. pool towels, bar snacks
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

we have stayed here on 3 occassions in the summer of 08 whilst visiting our son.The hotel and Salou far outweighed are expectations but unfortunately Salou has a real crime issue at the moment and visitors should be aware to take extreme caution when out and about. We were robbed in the street from people claiming they wanted to help us when they reported bird muck had dropped onto us after they had sprayed us with green paint. they took money and credit cards from my husband and after a struggle the two were fotunately unable to get my bag, my son who works in salou has also been pick pocketed twice in recent weeks.

  • Liked — modern and contempory
  • Disliked — not enough parking space . only 10 spaces available for the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ss55sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Blaumar Hotel
Blaumar Hotel
#25 of 94 in Salou
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,933 reviews
1.6 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 mi away
H10 Salou Princess
H10 Salou Princess
#14 of 94 in Salou
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Property: Magnolia Hotel
Address: Madrid 8, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Salou
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing