We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all-round and great theme park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good all-round and great theme park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Read many of the reviews on here and heart sank! Don't worry though.

Room was plenty big enough for 4 of us with huge double bed and also bunk beds. Beds were very comfortable and room very clean, quite modern and well maintained. Had a balcony although fairly small.

Restaurant (main one) was fine, don't expect anything too fancy, buffet style with the addition of plenty of fish & meats cooked whilst you wait. Kids found plenty to eat. Only downside was breakfast, queues were big, coffee/tea machines always breaking down-we didn't have 1 breakfast as a family as we were all in different queues at one time or another-gor a bit frustrating, especially with rude foreigners (mainly French). Other restaurants were a pool-side one, serving chips, burgers, salads, which was fine for wehat it was and the other pool-side bar which served really nice ice-creams as well as drinks etc.

Staff - reception very friendly, about half of the restaurant staff were very friendly, the other half a bit down-beat, a bit like staff in the UK.

Pool was excellent, very larger and not too deep, guards were great. They do blow their whistle quite a bit but only at kids mis-behaving. Our kids didn't get told off at all and they were having plenty of fun, the one's that were getting told off were the ones that had water pistols shooting random people in the face etc., so good!

Theme park was excellent, many of the rides on par or better than the likes of Alton Towers, just not quite so many. Tip-go at night, on some of the rides we didn't have to queue at all, in the day 1hour plus, usual theme park. Was really impressed with cleanliness of park, toilets etc were really clean, especially considering the number of visitors.

Water park-don't bother, really un-impressed, good job we only had to pay 1/2 price. Long queues for average slides. There's a park in Pineda that's mean t to be better.

Salou itself-a bit boring, typical 70s resort, quite nice beach though and usual shops.

Would I go again-yes I would, although we do like to go to different places each year I would have no problem returning.

Thomson as usual were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EifionWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    684
    389
    137
    90
See reviews for
1,386
166
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

just returned from the el paso hotel and had a fantastic holiday, we were a party of 7 no little kiddies with us. the park was great didn't have to queue for very long especially if you went in after 9pm when your room key acted as a fast past to the rides. the food was excellent again not much queueing if you timed it right, we always had breakfast between 8 and 8.30am no queues and different times for dinner and again didn't really have to queue to long. you are able to eat in the park and you get beakers for drinks around the hotel and in the park a certain places, these are very easy to find and was brill because the weather was very hot and we were always refilling them, great system. we stayed at the hotel portaventura 2 years ago and were a bit worried that it wouldn't be up to that standard but no worries were actually perferred this hotel. just really sorry had to come home, will defo go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mealessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Travelled with Thomas Cook. We could have booked direct but found it to be slightly cheaper with an agent. On arrival the check-in was swift, efficient and everything well explained by a professional and English speaking Spanish receptionist. In fact the level of English was perfect on all dealings at reception.

We had never stayed anywhere all inclusive so have little to compare this with. The breakfast was fine. Repetitive, but fine. Marriott breakfasts are repetitive. What can you really do with breakfast? We opted for the pool bars during the day which combined fast food with some healthier salad alternatives. The children (4 and 10) however opted for the hot dog and burger option. The evening meal was varied with tables waited on for drinks. (Tip - ask if you want another drink bringing. They will only offer one drink during the meal, but certainly drink more if prompted). The all inclusive package entitles you to one meal at El Coyte on site. The food is basic Mexican, but being waited on makes a change from helping yourself to the buffet. Book early in your stay to avoid disappointment as El Coyte is only open Tuesday-Saturday.

The drinks in the bars are good. Dry white wine, medium bodied red, beer (served in half pints, but keep getting up is good for you!). There is a full range of spirits and other drinks. They are all locally produced but of a sufficient standard that you should not bother paying for superior brands.

The Port Aventura theme park is great for children of all ages. There is something for everyone. We found that it was best in the morning, heading back to the excellent hotel pools for early to mid afternoon when it was hotter. The Beach Club is not included as part of the package, but you get discounted rates (approximately £20 for a family of 4). Food and drink is expensive in the Beach Club, but we only went once and would recommend it. You will find it much quieter than a day by the hotel pools.

About to book again for next year.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I was a bit apprehensive about staying in this hotel after reading older reviews. I was delighted to find the reviews were inaccurate. This hotel was clean , the food was excellent and the staff were warm and friendly! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a great family holiday

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We returned yesterday after a wonderful time at Hotel El Paso, we were also apprehensive after reading the reviews, the hotel is the best All Inclusive we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many around the world. We have never stayed in an All Inclusive where you get a theme park included in your holiday and discount to a water park and beach club. Your all inclusive extends to food and drink in the theme park too, it is your typical theme park food but it does the job.

The food was plentiful, yes they do chips, hamburgs, chicken nuggets and hot dogs but they are trying to cater for everyone and at least you know your child will eat some of this, my child does not normally eat on holiday but at least he ate something, albeit rubbish, but he was on holiday. The salad bar was the best we have ever come across.
You did have to queue some nights to get into the restaurant, but it was only for a minute and nothing to complain about. Breakfast is the same each morning but you don't have to have the same every morning there is plenty to choose from.

The swimming pool is fantastic and the lifeguards are great and not little hitlers like someone suggested. I saw one of them squirting the kids with a water gun and having fun with them. They do a very good job and are very tentative and you feel very safe letting your child play alone in the pool.

The entertainment on an evening is late and is for the children but it is a family holiday hotel and the kids do enjoy it. If the children are happy then so are the mums and dads.

We never had to queue very long for a drink and all the staff were very friendly too.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday and one week is not long enough, so we are booking to go back next year for two weeks.

If anyone has any questions you can email me. Hope you have a fab time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazbar0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We had limited choice and little time to choose our holiday so we were probably in a better situation than some regarding the El Paso. We knew what to expect and it largely delivered as expected. For info it was myself, my wife and our 4 yeat old son on the trip. First the pros -

Transfer from the airport is great, just 20 minutes. Brilliant since we had the wee guy.
Lovely pool area with a great kids pool. Though as other's have said just what is the point of all that gritty sand?!
Room was pleasant enough. We asked for a quiet room and we got it. Though we stayed just a week and don't think my back would have lasted on the bed much longer than that - was like concrete! Also Air-con not great, took about two hours to cool the room. OK, now I don't know if the room really is a pro!
Unlimited access to PortAventura theme park. Meant we could come and go as we pleased and use it just for an evening when cooler. The Water Park is also excellent, that was probably our favourite day.

OK we move on to the cons and they pretty much revolve around the all-inclusive nature of the hotel.

The food - for one night it would be fine, for seven it's shocking and I can't imagin having it for a fortnight. The same cheap slop every night and the same prison style queuing system to get it. The one night in the a la carte restaurant is ok but let's not get carried away, you'd find better Mexican food in a Taco Bell! Even worse is the atrocious snack bar. The food has to be seen to be believed there. Our favourite was when the horrible looking Spanish omelete never got eaten at breakfast they just cut it up, put it on rolls and served it at the snack bar!

The service - appalling. If unfriendly, lazy disorganised service is your thing then this is the place to go. There were maybe two serving staff who would raise as much of a smile. Some seemed to go out of their way to be bad mannered and rude. The system at dinner was shocking. You'd wait ages for someone to take your order for a drink and then as long to get the drink. Forget putting in a second order, you'd have to physically corner them for that. So much for all-inclusive. The bar is ridiculously under-staffed and too small and the drinks served in tiny measures including the beer. You don't even get a half pint.

Vasically they take you're money for an all-inclusive stay and then they work as hard as they possibly can to give you as little back for your money as they can possibly get away with. This could be a lovely hotel but at the moment they seem quite happy to rip their customers off. A real shame.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I was not looking forward to my holiday after reading some of the reviews on the run up to our holiday.
However, things could not have been better once we got there.
Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, and helped us on numerous occassions when we wanted information.
Rooms were very clean and were cleaned every day.
Queues were not long for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
It was easy to get a drink at the bar as the bar staff worked flat out to serve you. The Sangria is brilliant !
Lifeguards were excellent, and were actually quite friendly to the children, showing them how to jump in safely.
If possible go to the Beach Club,early on in your stay, as you will want to go again. it is so relaxing.
There is a little train platform at the bottom of the road which is handy if you want to go to tarragona or barcelona, and it is cheap to use, saving you money on organised tours.
Instead of always eating at the hotel you can eat out at certain times at selected cafes in the park. We did this a few times and had great meals, especially at Bora Bora cafe. We also found this to be helpful when we went to the Caribe water park and used our passes to go to the park for lunch and then go back to the water park.
The only thing I did wrong was buy express passes, but that was my own fault, I did not look at the rides on the ticket and was disappointed that it did not include all the rides. Also the night we went (Friday), there were no queues at any of the rides, so it was easy to get on to the rides.
If we were to go back to Salou I would definitely go back to the El Paso. It is great on lots of levels, as well as being a great hotel, you also have the theme park, the Caribe water park, and the Beach Club to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kennythebrocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Property: PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing