We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, something for all the family. Already booked for same resort next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We enjoyed 2 weeks at the El Paso starting from the end of June with our boys aged 6 and 3. Good start to the holiday with cheery porter taking us round to our room in a golf buggy. Room as expected, nice decor, a bit on the small side and small balcony. No fridge in the room however wasn't really a problem for us.Very comfortable good shower etc. Cleaned well every day with new towels. We enjoyed the food and ate at both the Caribe and Port Adventura Hotels which were also excellent. Great pool facilities for children. My boys loved the characters that were always about the hotel. Enjoyed the entertainment. Something for everyone at the theme park. The beauty with the unlimited access was not feeling you had to be there really early to make the most of your day. Sometimes we went to the Theme Park later in the day when it was cooler and quieter and booked our dinner at the Portadventura Restaurant which worked well. Fast passes were excellent and when you have a young family it is great not to have to queue. My husband and I enjoyed the restaurants, the surrounding at the Caribe especially were nice. Kids loved the waterpark which is unlimited access for people who arrive before 1st July. Wasn't much shade there would be my only comment. Going back to the Caribe next year just for a change, liked the playpark there for the kids, fridge in rooms and also the Spa etc handy for me!! Would go back to the El Paso as well in the future though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

This was our second visit to hotel el paso, the 1st with our 3 children (8,3,1) and the second with the children and their grandparents. As you can tell from the fact that we returned, this holiday is ideal for young families and after how enthusiastic my in-laws were about the place I had to write a review.

Rooms - decor maybe not what you would expect from a 4* hotel in the UK but have all amenities that you need and are immaculately clean. Showers fantastic.

Food - having 3 young children I can honestly say there was something for everyone at the buffet. Obviously there was the odd issue with food not being piping but if you balance that with the convenience of being able to walk straight in and feed a hungry brood with no waiting for your order, I know what I'd prefer. Also, our youngest still has a bottle of milk at night and the friendly staff gave us milk and heated it for us each evening. An absolute blessing. Make sure you book to go to the other hotels to eat. It makes a change from the buffet and is nice to have a couple of more formal meals.

Beach club - out of this world. A little touch of luxury and definitely worth a visti or two.

Theme park - fantastic shows, great rides, jump straight to the front with the fast pass system. Up there with disneyland paris without a doubt.

Hotel facilities - pool brilliant and very clean. There was not a single time that I used the pool toilets when I didn't see a cleaner in there. Our children didn't use the kids club because they preferred to stay with the famiily but they loved the mini-disco.

This holiday is what it is - ideal for children. The effort/money has been spent where it counts for them - pool, entertainment staff, food variety etc. I wouldn't go out of choice with my husband but I can guarentee we'll be back for more with the children in tow!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

when you wake in hotel el paso you are meet with a friendly warm greeting when your checked in somebody will take your bags and show you to your room. a great place for kids and teenagers nice big pool very VERY clean! a 5 min walk to port aventura park and caribe water park(also very clean) our room was clean to the only proplems we had was my daughters bed was very noisy (my daughters very figitive at night) so we reported it to our rep who did nothing about it. and we wanted to go to barcolona but our rep was never there to book it so we went by train witch is a lot cheaper highly recamended.


hope i helped some people.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimbo_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This is our third visit to Port Aventura in as many years. We stayed the last twice at the Hotel Port Aventura, which we couldn't fault, and this year tried The El Paso. It did not disappoint.
The pool area was superb for kids and adults, (lifeguards are a bit strict though. We couldn't even play with a small sponge ball). The room was spacious and clean. I wouldn't say the service was as top notch as Hotel Port Aventura. There were no welcome wash bags for the kids this time and it was hit and miss as to whether you encountered a friendly member of staff at meal times. Overall, though, this hotel was, in our opinion, a better choice for the children. There is a big maze to run around whilst waiting for the mini disco on an evening and the 'animadors' the childrens' entertainers were superb with the kids. The children made use of the Kids Club this year and went in three times. The staff there were very good with them. Younger children (ours are aged 5 and 6) are only allowed in for two hours at a time but it was enough for us just to get them somewhere cool for a while out of the sun.. There were plenty of activities for them in there too. (Age 2 is too young to go in and age 12 is too old). A quick tip. If you send your kids to kids club take a spare pair of socks in your suitcase. They aren't allowed in the indoor play area without them (they cost us 5 euros a pair in the hotel lobby shop!).
Superb location, great pool and bar areas, helpful guest services etc, etc. We are booking up to go again next year and will probably choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

After a lovely stay at the El Paso during the first week in June with my Mother and 5 year old daughter, I convinced my Husband to return with our two other children who are 7 and 9. As with the first holiday, the beach club, water park and them park were all excellent.
Now the minus points - the spanish children break up for the summer at the beginning of July, therefore, the Hotel was signifincantly busier than our first visit. This meant that the que for the food hall was bigger and it did seem as if the staff struggled to keep up with the volume of extra customers. Nevertheless, if you choose you time right, you won't have too many problems. It's also worth knowing that bottled water is free with your evening meal - but you have to ask for it. We always asked for a couple of bottles and took one back to the room.
Would we go back? Yes, but we are planning to go back next June so that we avoid the crowds and will have unlimited access to the water park ( they restrict your visit to 1 free day between July 1st and the end of August). In all we had another pleasant stay and would recommend it to others with young families.
As for the little trains, they are easy to tell apart as they have signs in the window next to the driver informing you as to where they stop!! Not too confusing. There is also a mainline train station two minutes walk away if you fancy a day out to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambomambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Arrived back yesterday from excellent 10-day stay with our two daughters; 10 and 13, and find it hard to pick fault in anything about the hotel that is within their control. Previous "complaints" not typical of experience of vast majority of folks we spoke with during our holiday. Yes, lots of Spanish people staying at hotel just now - could this be because hotel is next to Spain's largest theme park ? Found all Spanish people we met to be very friendly and we never saw any preference afforded to them by the extremely friendly hotel staff - try the odd spanish word - it's totally appreciated.
Hotel is spotless. Upon arrival we were given key-cards, express passes for theme park rides and all the additional information we needed - also recieved 100e credit on one of our key-cards to use as we wished at hotel bars or theme park shops.
Rooms no smaller than I'd expect of Spain - we had 2x double beds and never found room particularly cramped. Balcony in tune with hotel design - new theme park hotel, Gold River will have none whatsoever. Good pressure shower in large bathroom. TV and ample storage - free digital safe. Fridge would be good and bring room up to standard - can be hired but expensive at 70E/week. To be honest, air-con kept any stored drinks at reasonable temperature.
Hotel has one of the largest pools in Salou but can be typically chilly on cloudier days. Pool bar and snack bar have standard fastfood fare can be pricey with current rates but again typical of other hotels - expect to pay ~6-euros for a baguette or toasted sandwich.
Drinks cost 2.20e for small water, 2.75 for large soft-drink and 3.25 for a pint of lager.
Buffet food is plentifull and of good standard. We used the e-around" option a number of times. Guest services will book you a table at any of the al-a-carte restaurants at any of the resorts 3-hotels and I assume also once Gold River opens. You receive an "allowance" of 23e for adults and 11.50e for under 12's and use this towards your final bill, paying for any excess - we typically paid another 12e each time. Asian in Caribe Resort, Mexican in El Paso and Italian & Mediterranean in PortAventura Hotel all very good. Hotel entertainment is as you'd expect and is fine to pass an hour or tow - mini disco is hilarious and mix of entertainers no worse than I seen before.
Theme park is excellent but unfortunately as no longer owned by Universal (Spanish bank La Caixa now owns) costs are being cut and park no longer opens until midnight (along with fireworks) for big part of the season - only open until 8pm until 18th July, then midnight for about a month. Park is excellent and good starter for anyone planning a future first trip to Florida and is definately on par with any US individual park. Good mix of thrill rides, as well as gentler ones and a number of really good shows.
Water park is also very good and will be included in your parks tickets - we were able to go any time due to reduced theme-park opening hours. No cost once you're in - they used to charge for beds and inflatables but these are now free. One warning, no outdoor shade but there is a large indoor area to cool off.
Salou itself is a bit date - centre is trapped in the 70's. All shops selling same tat. Plenty of bars/eateries all vying for your custom. Old part of town at end of promenade quite nice with old style cafes/ice-cream parlours. Sat night brings out the crowds at the front and there is a good atmosphere towards the marina end, with bands playing, small fireworks display and illumintaed fountains. Farther afield if you want a large selection of shops, Tarragona is 10-min on train -station 2-min from hotel, costing a couple of euros - although no ticket office so we only paid on the way back ! Rep trips are a rip-off and trains/buses so frequent and cheap a lot of people were making their own way into Barcelona - 1h 20 on the train.
In conclusion, the El Paso is a really clean, comfortable hotel. The staff are friendly and helpfull, the foods as good as you'll get in Spain and you have the option of using the facilities and restaurants of the other resort hotels, so you'll have variety should you wish. Ignore the negative reviews and have a ball !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Had read quite alot of reviews and was in doubt when choosing this hotel, and to say it short. I regret we did.

* Short version
Terrible service
alot of waiting - long lines
bad food
Noisy
rooms old but quite big
expendive food-drinks and so on

Good location to park
free shuttle to park and beach club
Beach club was nice


Long version

Travelled there with my girlfriend , as we enjoy theme park quite alot and since El Paso is close to Port Aventura and has the advantage of getting the express card at Port aventura ( but missed the best attractions and you still had to wait quite a bit on several attractions)

OK..we arrived July 5 and we left 8 july. 3 days on El paso.

We arrived around 12.30 and even though it wasnt much people there the check in took forever, over 30 minutes with only 2 couple in front of us in the line. We was lucky and got our room right away. The room was...old..but quite big..we wanst there for the rooms anyway.the air cond only worked with the card in the slot. be careful where you get rooms. very noisy if you get it close to scene or swimmingpool.

There was alot of kids and probably very funny for kids there..dont go to el paso without is my advice.

The beach club the hotel had at the beach was really nice. 7 swimming pools and close to the beach ( public beach) quite expensive there though.

We wanted to try the mexican restarant on El Paso. We got a table and after getting seated they forgot us. After trying to get a waiter for 20 minutes we left and took a taxi to salou ( around 7-8 euro)

The breakfast buffet which was included was very crowded , noisy and quite boring food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huttiheita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $185 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing