We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at El Paso for one week at end of August with hubby, daughter and son-in-law and 13 year old grandson. My comments as follows:
Reception
Long queues to check in, but gave you lots of info and staff very pleasant and helpful. Reception lounge area has lots of comfy chairs and sofas to sit in but as its the only area with free wifi, its always full of the younger generation with their various tablets/laptops/phones etc.
Our room.
I had emailed with room requests a few weeks before our holiday, asking for bunk bed for our grandson and a room in the 4000 block with a pool view. I got a nice email back saying they would do their best to give me what I asked for, but couldn't guarantee it. At check in we were given rooms in the 3000 block (Iguana) with no pool view and no bunk beds. The rooms turned out to be in quite a good location, halfway between the pool and the main reception/restaurants and bars, and since the room had a single bed for our grandson, we didn't make an issue of it. In fact, there didn't seem to be many rooms with a decent view of the pool, mainly because of the trees around it. Furnishings in the room were fine but not luxurious, with a digital safe but no kettle or fridge. Balcony was small and in one of our 2 rooms the single bed was across the balcony door which made it almost impossible to get out onto. The bathroom had hand soap at the sink and liquid soap in the shower. There were sufficient towels in the bathroom with pool towels available from reception at no charge. Decent sized wardrobe but not many hangers.
Pool
The pool is lovely and very big, but a bit cool, even at the end of August. Plenty of sunloungers and we never had a problem getting 5 together, as long as you were flexible about where you sat.
Food from the pool bar was good, with the highlight being the cheese and ham toasties that appeared mid afternoon every day. Yes there were lots of wasps around whenever you tried to eat by the pool, but I don't really see what could be done about that. Plenty of lifeguards on duty all the time.
Restaurant
One of my usual grouches on holidays is that the food in buffets is not really hot - well here, for the most part, it was hot. Plenty of choice, something to suit everyone, with 3 themed nights every week, Italian, Mediterranean and Chinese I think they were. We found the inclusive drinks to be of a good quality- my daughter is a bit of a wine buff and she found all the wines to be good.The menfolk drank the beer (Estrella) which they said was good. I drank soft drinks and Sangria, which was very good. We didn't try the a la carte El Coyote restaurant, because it had much less choice of menu and we liked being able to pick and choose a bit of various dishes rather than just having one served at your table. Breakfast was good except as mentioned in other reviews, the bacon was fatty streaky and a bit undercooked, and the fruit juices were a bit watery.
Bars/Drinks
This was our first ever all inclusive holiday and it was lovely to be able to have drinks whenever you wanted without having to dip into your wallet. Soft drinks were from self service machines at the pool bars and in the restaurants. My own particular favourite was the self serve coffee machines in the restaurant and lobby bar. They served lovely Lavazza coffee, which I can drink by the gallon - the milky coffee was great. They also have water dispensers as well - we took a couple of empty plastic bottles to keep some in our room.
Entertainment
We didn't notice any activities in the pool, which would have been good for the kids. The evening entertainment was what you would expect - singers, the chap juggling balls etc, but it wasn't bad.
Computers near lobby bar were available at a cost of 1 euro for 10 minutes. The games room had table tennis and air football type games.
Staff
We generally found that if you were polite and smiled at the staff, then they would respond in the same way.
General
We found the hotel mini train useful for going to the theme park, although there is a short cut that goes off the terrace at the back of the Lobby Bar. We used the hotel's free shuttle bus into Salou. The mini train that goes down into Salou costs 3 euros per journey and one day we got a taxi into Salou that cost about 8.50 euros. I agree with other reviews saying that Russian/Eastern European holiday makers in the hotel don't seem to understand the concept of waiting their turn and at reception and in the restaurant would ignore anyone waiting and just walk straight up to the front - so annoying. Also, in the theme park the Spanish visitors seemed to thing that being Spanish, they had priority over visitors of other nationalities and would just queue jump all over the place grrr!!! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found it to be good value for money when you take into account the free theme park entry (we did buy express passes which were well worth it). Would recommend it for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GenieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 2,273 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from end of August to the 9th September we was very impressed and the little one loved the pool and theme park, the food was nice even though almost same every night but enjoyable and the restaurant was very clean and staff cleaning up all the time, the room was clean and tidy a little worn due to volume of guests but ok. Most people slate this hotel but we had a great time and the pool was clean and life guards was always watching and little one had hours of fun and we did sun bathing by the pool, the theme park is great and being all inclusive you can eat in the parks too and the water park is brilliant which was free from 1st September we have already booked to go back here next year as a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the pool are the quietest, block 4000 is a good block close to restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Dont know why people make complaints this is a brill holiday for families and great value for money. This was our second time going to Portaventura and we have already booked for 2014. Made some great friends, had fun on the rides, water park was cool. Get a fast pass to save que's def worth the money. YES there was chips out for breakfast but who cares? no one is forcing you to eat them!!! Cant wait till August 21st 2014 when we go back with friends.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cara-Lyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

just got back from a week all in at the El paso, my partner and our baby, yes the hotel rooms do need a spam up , but aside from that its lovely, clean pool, friendly staff who cant help enough, amazing selection of good quality food at every meal time, pool side snacks, drinks are good and overall anyone who moans about anything with this hotel is void of having a good time, met some nice people there too, the park is totally brilliant and the shows are worth making time for, do buy the express passes and dont compair it to a few years ago, its changed, its still great, very clean, friendly and good value. booked again for next year and we are looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clk-3982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived home today after a weeks stay. Upon arrival check in was quick and although our room wasn't ready we were given our all inclusive passes our cases were left with the bell boy and taken to our room for us. We strolled around the hotel and Portaventura theme park until our room was ready and had some food and drinks. The service at the the hotel bars, snack bar and restaurant is very quick, the food was very good with plenty of choice. The pool and surrounding area was very clean, the only bad thing about the hotel was the flies at the outside snack bar. We had unlimited access to the theme park and water park and were also able to have a meal at the parks as part of our all inclusive deal. The theme park is fabulous, plenty of rides to suit all ages and the queues weren't too bad. Both parks are kept really clean. Although the holiday was expensive it was definitely worth the money as both my boys aged 8 and 11 said it was their best holiday ever and even better than Eurodisney. We will be booking to go again in 2 years time.

Room Tip: Try and book a room by the pool as it is a quieter area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel el paso is a beautiful hotel and very clean . rooms cleaned everyday and staff so friendly . catering is absolutely fantastic . swimming pools are good and plenty of loungers and 2 poolside bars . theme park and aquatic park only 5 mins away and you get a free train outside reception area . me and my 8 year old daughter loved this hotel and will return next year . I would say this is best hotel I have ever stayed in . plenty to do for kids and salou town centre a short walk away . fantastic holiday and will be back .

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor room 2013 . brilliant location and right next to pool area . very quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaun w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks in El Paso (1st 2 weeks in Sept). The rooms were clean but basic. The beds are solid not what you would expect for 4 star, however the maids did come everyday and change towels and make beds. The wasps at the pool bar were very off putting as soon as you had an ice cream, drink or snack they were on it, if you are scared of wasps don't come here there are loads! We stopped eating at the pool bar for this reason and put all our drinks in bottles with lids! The buffet self service restaurant was very good, always had a good selection of foods. The El Coyote was nice the first visit but the second visit it was horrible the staff were not very nice, the food was cold and not very nice. Maybe just bad luck second time round. The reception staff were very nice but there always seemed to be a big queue. Its is a bit of a pain you can not get your room key until 3.00 p.m. so my advice would be to pack your shorts or swimsuits in your hand luggage so you are not hanging around waiting for your room with your travelling clothes. The staff at the bars were a bit moody, no chance of any banter or even a smile from many of them. The theme park was good and the new sesame adventure part was good for the smaller children although I would say we were lucky that out 3.5 year old is big for his age as the height restrictions are very strict a few people we spoke to were a bit annoyed that their kids were allowed on very little. The water park was good although again be aware of the strict height restrictions at the pirate ship, in my opinion they were a bit OTT but then my little one is a bit of a dare devil and was heart broken when he got to the top and was turned away. The life guards at the water park were just constantly blowing there whistles for the slightest little thing, it got to the stage no one had a clue who they were addressing or why? The entertainment at the hotel was good for the kids from 9.15 for around an hour then it was not very good, one night it was a random woman singing with a betty boop dancing next to her, another night it was a guy bouncing balls not our cup of tea. The bars close at 11.30 sharp and they turn out all the lights at the seating area making you feel very unwelcome. In my opinion an extra half hour would be a bit better or even to leave a little music playing and the lights on at least. The hotel only has 1 little gift shop so you have to go into Salou if you need anything. Its is roughly a 20 minute walk or you can take the free bus if it turns up! The pools were lovely my son loved the sunken pirate ship and there were more than enough life guards. Salou beach is gorgeous and Salou in general is a lovely place. I would defo go back but would maybe try somewhere a bit closer to the centre. In my opinion this hotel is a good 3 star but not a 4. There is only so many times you can visit the Park without getting board of it. I would recommend for 1 week but would say 2 weeks is a little too much for this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#43 of 93 in Salou
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 93 in Salou
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $173 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing