We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever....again.....going back next year for the 3rd year running”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Salou
southampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever....again.....going back next year for the 3rd year running”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Dont know why people make complaints this is a brill holiday for families and great value for money. This was our second time going to Portaventura and we have already booked for 2014. Made some great friends, had fun on the rides, water park was cool. Get a fast pass to save que's def worth the money. YES there was chips out for breakfast but who cares? no one is forcing you to eat them!!! Cant wait till August 21st 2014 when we go back with friends.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cara-Lyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    784
    473
    168
    118
See reviews for
1,626
198
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

just got back from a week all in at the El paso, my partner and our baby, yes the hotel rooms do need a spam up , but aside from that its lovely, clean pool, friendly staff who cant help enough, amazing selection of good quality food at every meal time, pool side snacks, drinks are good and overall anyone who moans about anything with this hotel is void of having a good time, met some nice people there too, the park is totally brilliant and the shows are worth making time for, do buy the express passes and dont compair it to a few years ago, its changed, its still great, very clean, friendly and good value. booked again for next year and we are looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clk-3982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived home today after a weeks stay. Upon arrival check in was quick and although our room wasn't ready we were given our all inclusive passes our cases were left with the bell boy and taken to our room for us. We strolled around the hotel and Portaventura theme park until our room was ready and had some food and drinks. The service at the the hotel bars, snack bar and restaurant is very quick, the food was very good with plenty of choice. The pool and surrounding area was very clean, the only bad thing about the hotel was the flies at the outside snack bar. We had unlimited access to the theme park and water park and were also able to have a meal at the parks as part of our all inclusive deal. The theme park is fabulous, plenty of rides to suit all ages and the queues weren't too bad. Both parks are kept really clean. Although the holiday was expensive it was definitely worth the money as both my boys aged 8 and 11 said it was their best holiday ever and even better than Eurodisney. We will be booking to go again in 2 years time.

Room Tip: Try and book a room by the pool as it is a quieter area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel el paso is a beautiful hotel and very clean . rooms cleaned everyday and staff so friendly . catering is absolutely fantastic . swimming pools are good and plenty of loungers and 2 poolside bars . theme park and aquatic park only 5 mins away and you get a free train outside reception area . me and my 8 year old daughter loved this hotel and will return next year . I would say this is best hotel I have ever stayed in . plenty to do for kids and salou town centre a short walk away . fantastic holiday and will be back .

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor room 2013 . brilliant location and right next to pool area . very quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks in El Paso (1st 2 weeks in Sept). The rooms were clean but basic. The beds are solid not what you would expect for 4 star, however the maids did come everyday and change towels and make beds. The wasps at the pool bar were very off putting as soon as you had an ice cream, drink or snack they were on it, if you are scared of wasps don't come here there are loads! We stopped eating at the pool bar for this reason and put all our drinks in bottles with lids! The buffet self service restaurant was very good, always had a good selection of foods. The El Coyote was nice the first visit but the second visit it was horrible the staff were not very nice, the food was cold and not very nice. Maybe just bad luck second time round. The reception staff were very nice but there always seemed to be a big queue. Its is a bit of a pain you can not get your room key until 3.00 p.m. so my advice would be to pack your shorts or swimsuits in your hand luggage so you are not hanging around waiting for your room with your travelling clothes. The staff at the bars were a bit moody, no chance of any banter or even a smile from many of them. The theme park was good and the new sesame adventure part was good for the smaller children although I would say we were lucky that out 3.5 year old is big for his age as the height restrictions are very strict a few people we spoke to were a bit annoyed that their kids were allowed on very little. The water park was good although again be aware of the strict height restrictions at the pirate ship, in my opinion they were a bit OTT but then my little one is a bit of a dare devil and was heart broken when he got to the top and was turned away. The life guards at the water park were just constantly blowing there whistles for the slightest little thing, it got to the stage no one had a clue who they were addressing or why? The entertainment at the hotel was good for the kids from 9.15 for around an hour then it was not very good, one night it was a random woman singing with a betty boop dancing next to her, another night it was a guy bouncing balls not our cup of tea. The bars close at 11.30 sharp and they turn out all the lights at the seating area making you feel very unwelcome. In my opinion an extra half hour would be a bit better or even to leave a little music playing and the lights on at least. The hotel only has 1 little gift shop so you have to go into Salou if you need anything. Its is roughly a 20 minute walk or you can take the free bus if it turns up! The pools were lovely my son loved the sunken pirate ship and there were more than enough life guards. Salou beach is gorgeous and Salou in general is a lovely place. I would defo go back but would maybe try somewhere a bit closer to the centre. In my opinion this hotel is a good 3 star but not a 4. There is only so many times you can visit the Park without getting board of it. I would recommend for 1 week but would say 2 weeks is a little too much for this particular hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Reception. Although all staff are, very efficient and speak good English the waiting firstly to be initially booked in then every time for guest services was ridiculous.

Pool. Good and very large with 2 bars 1 serving food (nice snacks, and fast food). Too many biting insects though!!

Restaurant. Very good with a huge choice all tasting great! Al a cart however was just about average (we had booked 2 nights there but only used 1).

Entertainment. Too much kids orientated for us but good if you have to keep kids happy.

All inclusive. Great choice of drinks, we drank wine and beer which was good (as compared with many which give you weak stuff which tastes poor). Excellent closeness to both Port Aventura parks easily accessed 4 mins up and 3mins back.

Very clean and tidy everywhere.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room but still heard pool music.Get one at the far end of block 5 is you need p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieCrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel El Paso the last week of August. I knew what to expect as had previously stayed at Hotel Portavenutura and twice at the Caribe. Booked the El Paso for the All Inclusive option. I was slightly worried because of some of the negative reviews but had the best holiday ever. I really think it's a good alternative to Florida (I know its not as good but it has the benefit of only a 2 hour flight). Yes the rooms are not amazing, but we spent no time in the room apart from to sleep and they are being renovated before next summer. I'm giving this hotel 5 star because of how enjoyable the holiday was and am booking for two weeks next August as we all loved it so much.
Reception can be busy when you check in but we were lucky as we had booked a taxi so missed the queue :-) They are very helpful and explain everything in detail to you. We got there at lunch time but could not get our room till 3pm, we knew this would be the case so we got towels and swim wear ready for the kids.
Pool area is great...yes there were a few wasps, but not a massive issue. Try and get a sun bed away from the bar and the vegetation at the far end of the pool and it's not a problem. Pool very clean and never once had a problem finding a sunbed all holiday. Yes you might not get the exact spot you wanted, but considering it was the summer holidays I was surprised. I have had to do the pool run at around 7am on previous holidays but not needed here.
The food was great, we made use of eating in the theme park once each day, our kids loved the ribs in La Cantina. We tried Jeremiahs and Bora Bora too, also good. We eat twice in the Caribe too, kids loved the food there also. Fish and Chips and Chicken and chips were lovely. The main buffet restaurant was also very good, always something for everyone. Would recommend eating at the El Coyote Mexican restaurant during your stay, book this in advance at customer services. Try and do this as early as possible into your stay to avoid disappointment. Absolutely loved this restaurant, Ribs as a main and Brownie for dessert were lovely. The pool snack bar is great for an afternoon toastie...if you can manage to fit anymore food in! Toasties were gorgeous. Kids loved the hotdogs, burgers and fries too.
The theme park is amazing, they keep it up to date with the latest rides. Can't believe anyone would ever give it a negative review. It really does make this holiday so much better than your standard pool holiday. Evenings are the best time to go to the park during the summer hols when the park is open till midnight and the queue's were never more than twenty minutes long compared to up to two hours during the day.
The Caribe water park is also worth a visit, you get 30% off during July and August. This has been massively extended since my last stay in 2011 and is much better. We went twice during our week stay as the kids loved it so much. And good how you can eat in there as part of your all inclusive package :-)
The bars were all fine, never a problem getting a drink, queue's were never very long and they don't limit you to two drinks per person. Pool bar carte dor ice cream was lovely as were the slush puppies. I definitely recommend the cava, it was gorgeous. The cocktails were premade but were very nice.
Any negatives...of course you can pick a fault with any hotel. Little niggles were:- the wasps at the pool on occasions (not a massive issue), bars only staying open till 11.30pm and certain bars not opening till 5pm. None of this however made a big impact in the enjoyment of our holiday, I've been home nearly three weeks and still have the holiday blues! If your thinking of booking it really is worth it, you'll have a fantastic time!!!

Room Tip: Go to Caribe water park on a Saturday...it's quietest on this day. Have noticed this the past f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BMSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Property: PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing