We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments California
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here by default for 1 week, was meant to stay across the road in the sister hotel but room was too small for our family, mix up with booking. We ended up with a one bed spacious apartment to our delight which was sorted out very quickly by manager on duty. Food can't fault..spoilt for choice and I'm a fussy eater. All staff very nice, no complaints. No excessive noise heard from our apartment that was over the main entrance.. I would have not booked these apartments because of the residential looking pictures provided and that there was no pool on site ( still able to use pool in sister hotel), just shows you and when you wanted peace from busy sister hotel we went back to the Apartments California.. This place should get more credit..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martinad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    40
    22
    21
    8
See reviews for
56
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came here for the second time with hopes things had approved since last year. July 2012 we stayed for 10 days and even though the locations is good, the apartments spacy and clean, and Teresa at reception is helpful and friendly, there are other things that are disappointing. In August 2013 we stayed for 13 days and our first dinner we were sad to see the hotel had kept the same sort of personnel as last year (despite complaints to management!). These foreign girls speak no English but that could be forgotten if they greeted you with a smile. Or greeted you at all... They avoid eye contact and there is absolutely no pleasant atmosphere to eat a meal. They would only talk and smile to Russian guests it seemed but all others were (sometimes rudely) ignored. What a shame! Other hotels in tourist places try to at least make dinner a nice experience with friendly staff, smiles and small talk. Going to dinner would be something to look forward to, part of the holiday fun. But here, none of that. You eat your meal, which in itself wasn't anything to write home about (limited choice), and you make sure you leave the dining room right away for friendlier places. The hotel can also be noisy at night because the sound of elevators, people talking/yelling and slamming doors kind of echoes. So bring earplugs! If the restaurant personnel was replaced by friendly people (and same goes for the short guy at reception, he was quite rude), than this place would get 4 instead of 2 stars as far as we're concerned and in that case we would definately consider coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bordenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

had a reasonable time, the staff were ok but not really interested and did not seem to have a grasp of English.however neither did we of Spanish.this hotel does not pretend to be anything other than ok.it is exactly what it is.i do not think it excelled in any areas , in fact it was average or slightly below in all aspects.
it is a good cheap hotel for a budget holiday.
better for families on a tight budget, it is in a good location, beware the main road. the beach is a trek, but a nice flat road and pavements make it bearable.
port Aventura is a must.
BEWARE OF BAG SNATCHERS AND PICKPOCKETS.unfortunately the place is ripe with thieves and the brits are the main targets.if you are robbed in portaventura you must phone the police and obtain crime ref number or your insurance will not pay up.
the weather is a bit hit and miss but beware the floods if it rains heavy.
all in all would go back and not bother checking other cheap hotels.
excellent value for money.

Room Tip: avoid speakers on roofs and shop air con units below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

really do not understand some of the reviews on this hotel have stayed here 5 times in last 4 years, always found staff to be helpful, courteous, and very civil. one review said there was no light .... you have to switch it on when you leave the lift. cost effective not to have lights on if not needed. fair comment on food, but what do you want sirloin steak every night ?? and anyway in spain it is always chips with everything, another comment was lack of english speaking staff doh!
you are in spain try speaking spanish even if it is only your room number or to order beer or water with a meal they appreciate it.
happy customer

Room Tip: ask for rooms 520 / 420 /425 as all have plaza view tho 425 has sun from about 08:30 in september
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puppet1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is fairly average but for the low price what can you expect?...Crew members with very little English, If you talking in Russian, this is right hotel for you.
Good Points:
-Very close to City center
-Supermarket across the street
-Very large rooms
-clean apartment

Bad Points:
-bedroom very dark, even during the day you need to switch on lighting
-Food very poor quality,almost the same thing every day
- Staff without English... without even basic words
-pool is located across the street in different hotel

Good Place for short holiday but for long holiday not the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Written from the point of view from a young female travelling group

Good points:
Location
Apartment size
Cleanliness
Apartment had a fridge
Supermarket right outside
Great swimming pool 2 minute walk away

Bad points:

Rude staff who spoke very little English, We sat through three evening meals whilst being told that we couldn't have water, and not being told how to go about getting it. We brought in our own on the fourth night but that got confiscated. It took us a while to realise that you had to order and pay for your drinks on the way in.

I'm far from a choosy eater but the food here did not appeal. Very very limited selection. I stuck with chips or vegetarian pasta most nights. It took me 3 evening meals to find the bread buns, they were in an adjacent room. Limited selection, extremely low quality.

Air conditioning wasn't the best, sometimes couldn't tell it was on.

The majority of the staff we not welcoming. In our stay there we met one waitress who returned the pleasantries with us.

Being an all female group in our mid twenties, it would come as no suprise that we wanted to have guests round after a night out. They would not let anyone else into the room other than us, which i thought was a bit ridiculous bearing in mind we had paid for the room.

Noisy. It's all wood and marble, take ear plugs if you want sleep.

Balcony was constantly in the shade.

did i mention rude staff?
The night security manager even shouted at my friend saying that we'd been noisy all week and threatened to call the police, for the sole reason that a guy had walked her home. I won't pretend we were a bunch of angels but we all had a respect for volume levels and other guests, we weren't partying in the early hours in our room making noise because we didn't get in til 7.30am most mornings after the club closed. Really bad attitude and prejudice towards young groups.

In summary, Salou is a great place to go, and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit if they want a peaceful, predominantly Spanish hotel and would eat anything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessyRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was with a heavy heart I read these reviews after I had booked to stay here. However, Apartments California was fantastic and those who have rated it less than three stars obviously have not holiday'd in Spain before! Come on people, if you're going to touristy Salou you're not going to get a 5 star experience! It did exactly what it said on the tin; of course it wasn't luxury but 5 minutes from the beach, an abundance of restaurants and bars nearby and a supermarket right across the road is a pretty good deal. Others complained about nighttime noise although I can't say that bothered me, and OK the food wasn't great, but I'd argue that the low cost drinks and location of the apartments more than made up for it. The worst part was the miserable male receptionist who would absolutely be out of a job if he worked in the UK - his attitude was unacceptable - but if you just want a week in the sun with plenty to do (although hotel is not slap bang in the middle of it all) then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get a corner room which had an enormous balcony; definitely ask for that if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#58 of 95 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.9 mi away
California Palace
California Palace
#44 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments California

Property: Apartments California
Address: C/Prat d en Carbo, 1, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments California 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Apartments California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments California Hotel Salou
Salou Apartments
California Apartments Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing