We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazement”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions. Even at this time of year.
A few days before we arrived the Spainish Government had chosen this hotel for the pensioners who got reduced rated between €25 to €35 per night. Some of the British had been told there would be know change to entertainment but it would be better going for dinner about 7pm to 8.30pm.
The food was changed for the Spainish. We had to drink out of plastic cups for drinks and polystyrene cups for tea and coffee
As all inclusive customers had on bracelets we stood in separate queues for alcohol of juice for kids.
The man who did the disco would not put on music for the kids to dance
He said he was only there for the Spainish. They eventually opened the apple bar. I have never felt so discrimanated in all my life
One couple had been at the hotel 6 weeks before with her grandchildren and this was the reason they went back as it was brillaint but they were going home to complain to there agent. A lot had went through tripadvisor I myself have left a good review about the Calypso so it does show that people need to put in reviews for different times of year. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joashjackai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    725
    437
    165
    204
See reviews for
1,171
467
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlederg, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

After travelling here the first week in October to celebrate my first wedding anniversary this hotel looked ok on arrival. The rooms were clean and adequate for just us two but small enough. We took the all inclusive option. The outside dining area was great or so we thought. Food was same every day and sometimes either very undercooked or burnt stupid. The restaurant was cruel. We ate out every day !!!!! Please take my advice on this. I ignored the bad food reviews thinking it couldn't be that bad. It is !!!
The drinks were awful. We actually purchased branded alcohol and just got mixers !! However the beer was ok if you took it mixed with lemonade. The bars did give you free crisps which was a bonus. Coffee at all times was served in plastic cups unless you were Spanish. Then you got cups saucers real spoons etc.
Entertainment was ok but very annoying at times. Shows were good but kids entertainment drove us mad. And yes we have 3 kids so it wasn't the children annoying us lol
It's a good 15 min walk from the middle of salou but we enjoyed this up to 3 or 4 times a day just to get away from the place. The Guinness tavern for dinner and Danny boy for lunch are great. We visited each on numerous occasions over the week.
I would come back to the hotel but not all inclusive as the food and drinks are cheap anyway and at least you are eating what you choose not what is edible.
The rooms were cleaned every day and linen changed 3 times over the week and the staff do work hard and are pleasant. Food really let it down for us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the pool which had the sun all afternoon til sundown. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We paid £250 each for 1 week all inclusive in September. I must admit I was dubious about the price and the 3 star accommodation. We found the hotel Calypso to be excellent value for money. The food was ok, the food served on the veranda was very good and the drinks were what you expect, can't complain at all. It was a five minute walk from all the bars and shops, a good location for the reasonably fit.There was a slight hill to get back up. The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was always hot water and the shower was powerful. I can not complain about this hotel at all. It's not 5 star by any means but is excellent value for money for a 3 star. I would not hesitate in booking to go here again. The resort of Salou is lovely as are the surrounding areas of Cambrills and Tarragona.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Juliaane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had an excellent time here 4-11th October.
Food fab, lots to choose from
Entertainment was great
Staff are all friendly and happy to help
Not too far from shops and restaurants however about a ten minute walk to the beach
Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

To start the rooms had damp walls, chipped tiles and mould in the bathroom,the walls had scribbles of yellow and brown stains, however the beds were comfortable. The balcony was was horrifying with one broken chair, dirt and only a thin piece of plastic dividing us from the next room. The food was appalling we barley ate, the food was uneatable and had flys all over it and not to mention the ants! We also found cockroaches around our hotel room. There are good facilities for kids like the pools, playground and games room. It is also good as it is easy to reach different areas of the place e.g. Theme parks and days out.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We holidayed here in 2001 lovely family room in annexe, air-con very welcome, massive room.
Varied meals and tasty.
A bit of a hike into centre of Salou, ten minutes walk but seemed further, especially when full of local lager and 101 brandy lol.
Port Aventura Theme Park, great rides and shows, easily as good as the Florida Parks we've visited, but massively cheaper admission prices, it's also a challenge trying to save your Daughter from the undertow of the lazy river, in the water park. Good job I'm a strong swimmer or it could have proved fatal, she fell out of her inner-tube and was sucked under, as she couldn't get her footing, Dad to the rescue, keep an eye on them at all times, our fault not the parks !
Overall great resort with Reus Airport near, Barcelona easily accessible too, one of my favourite cities, fantastic zoo !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevethickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

we stayed here from the 26th oct to 2nd nov, we booked this hotel from the reviews and because it was the only Saturday flight we could get, half term for our 12 year old, We seem to be in a minority or we have much higher standards than most because we thought the hotel was beyond awful, it was dirty around the pools well more like filthy, most of the staff were miserable but the worst bit was the hundreds of Spanish pensioners who get a free holiday paid for by the Spanish government and I suspect partly from the Spanish tax they made all the British guests pay.
They were some of the rudest people I have ever come across, they would push and shove you out of the way at meal times, pinch your toast as it came out of the toaster, take your seats if you got up to get something, it was so bad it was laughable, we went with first choice and we were waiting for a taxi outside the hotel and two of the reps were moving some boxes and gave us a couple of kids club t shirts, well that started a mad stampede from the Spanish pensioners and they were just pulling things out of these boxes and taking them, the rep laughed and said they don't even say thank you,Rude,Rude,Rude!!
We were also relegated to having lunch outside with the flies as the Spanish oap's had the use of the restaurant , On three occasions we went to the apple bar where the British entertainment was supposed to be, advertised to start at 10pm it never happened the only entertainment was for the Spanish and they never even bought a drink! The rooms were very small and the whole place needs a good clean and a refurbishment, the food started of ok but got worse as the week went on, it might have been more bearable if the weather was good but it was sunny and chilly on most days, I would not recommended this hotel, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: A good room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Dexter0602,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Calypso as your holiday accommodation in Salou and for taking the time to review this hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the hotel. We appreciate your comment as it helps us to make improvements and understand customer needs.
Please rest assured, your comment will be forwarded to management to take notes and improve the hotel service.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we hope we'll have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
1.4 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#48 of 93 in Salou
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing