We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We paid £250 each for 1 week all inclusive in September. I must admit I was dubious about the price and the 3 star accommodation. We found the hotel Calypso to be excellent value for money. The food was ok, the food served on the veranda was very good and the drinks were what you expect, can't complain at all. It was a five minute walk from all the bars and shops, a good location for the reasonably fit.There was a slight hill to get back up. The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was always hot water and the shower was powerful. I can not complain about this hotel at all. It's not 5 star by any means but is excellent value for money for a 3 star. I would not hesitate in booking to go here again. The resort of Salou is lovely as are the surrounding areas of Cambrills and Tarragona.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Juliaane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had an excellent time here 4-11th October.
Food fab, lots to choose from
Entertainment was great
Staff are all friendly and happy to help
Not too far from shops and restaurants however about a ten minute walk to the beach
Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

To start the rooms had damp walls, chipped tiles and mould in the bathroom,the walls had scribbles of yellow and brown stains, however the beds were comfortable. The balcony was was horrifying with one broken chair, dirt and only a thin piece of plastic dividing us from the next room. The food was appalling we barley ate, the food was uneatable and had flys all over it and not to mention the ants! We also found cockroaches around our hotel room. There are good facilities for kids like the pools, playground and games room. It is also good as it is easy to reach different areas of the place e.g. Theme parks and days out.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Abbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We holidayed here in 2001 lovely family room in annexe, air-con very welcome, massive room.
Varied meals and tasty.
A bit of a hike into centre of Salou, ten minutes walk but seemed further, especially when full of local lager and 101 brandy lol.
Port Aventura Theme Park, great rides and shows, easily as good as the Florida Parks we've visited, but massively cheaper admission prices, it's also a challenge trying to save your Daughter from the undertow of the lazy river, in the water park. Good job I'm a strong swimmer or it could have proved fatal, she fell out of her inner-tube and was sucked under, as she couldn't get her footing, Dad to the rescue, keep an eye on them at all times, our fault not the parks !
Overall great resort with Reus Airport near, Barcelona easily accessible too, one of my favourite cities, fantastic zoo !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevethickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

we stayed here from the 26th oct to 2nd nov, we booked this hotel from the reviews and because it was the only Saturday flight we could get, half term for our 12 year old, We seem to be in a minority or we have much higher standards than most because we thought the hotel was beyond awful, it was dirty around the pools well more like filthy, most of the staff were miserable but the worst bit was the hundreds of Spanish pensioners who get a free holiday paid for by the Spanish government and I suspect partly from the Spanish tax they made all the British guests pay.
They were some of the rudest people I have ever come across, they would push and shove you out of the way at meal times, pinch your toast as it came out of the toaster, take your seats if you got up to get something, it was so bad it was laughable, we went with first choice and we were waiting for a taxi outside the hotel and two of the reps were moving some boxes and gave us a couple of kids club t shirts, well that started a mad stampede from the Spanish pensioners and they were just pulling things out of these boxes and taking them, the rep laughed and said they don't even say thank you,Rude,Rude,Rude!!
We were also relegated to having lunch outside with the flies as the Spanish oap's had the use of the restaurant , On three occasions we went to the apple bar where the British entertainment was supposed to be, advertised to start at 10pm it never happened the only entertainment was for the Spanish and they never even bought a drink! The rooms were very small and the whole place needs a good clean and a refurbishment, the food started of ok but got worse as the week went on, it might have been more bearable if the weather was good but it was sunny and chilly on most days, I would not recommended this hotel, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: A good room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dexter0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Dexter0602,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Calypso as your holiday accommodation in Salou and for taking the time to review this hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the hotel. We appreciate your comment as it helps us to make improvements and understand customer needs.
Please rest assured, your comment will be forwarded to management to take notes and improve the hotel service.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we hope we'll have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Went from 26 Oct to 2 Nov. We went as a group of 10, 5 teenagers girls and 5 adults, all of us had a great holiday. We booked adjoining rooms for us and kids which we got. Food was plentiful you could never go hungry, always a good selection even for our vegetarian. The snack bar was open 11.00 till 6.00 throughout the day highlight was the burgers. Staff were very friendly, drinks were larger than average measures. Rooms and pool areas were clean. Only thing that spoilt holiday were Spanish pensioners who were quite rude but we just avoided them also no entertainment on evening for English ended up playing dominoes to keep ourselves entertained. Went to Portaventura for Halloween which was amazing but need whole day there to really appreciate it. Would definitely go back to Salou and hotel calypso.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S1971C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here between the 14th and 24th October with my sister and we really enjoyed ourselves.
Rooms - slightly on the basic side, but we were only really in them to sleep so did us just fine, and the beds were really comfortable. We were put in a room above one of their bars, and if you wanted an early night the music from below could be quite annoying. The only thing I would suggest to the hotel is they provide hair dryers - we never took one with us thinking there would be one in our room but there wasn't, and if you wanted one you had to put down a 20 euro deposit. The rooms are also cleaned everyday.
Food - for myself the food was great, there was a variety of things that I would eat for lunch and dinner, however, for someone picky, like my sister, there was very little choice. All she had was pasta and chips with the occasional salad - something to bare in mind when booking.
Pool - when we went the pool was beyond freezing! in our time at the hotel we were only in the pool two or three times and never knew about the 2nd pool until our last day. Although, the temperature of pool might change during the summer months.
Entertainment - we watched the hotels entertainment on a couple of occasions, but found it difficult to hear what they were saying. However, this did not matter too much, because the enthusiasm that they have is second to none when a show is on so they got some laughs from us!
The hotel is set in a great location, only 10mins from the beach and the town, which was absolutely prefect for us, and also close to the theme park.
All in all, we had a great time at the hotel, even with a few minor things wrong, and would gladly go back and stay in the future and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Avoid most, if not all the rooms, on the first floor. We were in 117 and that was above one of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyLoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,084 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#48 of 93 in Salou
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#42 of 93 in Salou
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $53 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing