We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #35 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Went from 26 Oct to 2 Nov. We went as a group of 10, 5 teenagers girls and 5 adults, all of us had a great holiday. We booked adjoining rooms for us and kids which we got. Food was plentiful you could never go hungry, always a good selection even for our vegetarian. The snack bar was open 11.00 till 6.00 throughout the day highlight was the burgers. Staff were very friendly, drinks were larger than average measures. Rooms and pool areas were clean. Only thing that spoilt holiday were Spanish pensioners who were quite rude but we just avoided them also no entertainment on evening for English ended up playing dominoes to keep ourselves entertained. Went to Portaventura for Halloween which was amazing but need whole day there to really appreciate it. Would definitely go back to Salou and hotel calypso.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S1971C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    693
    418
    156
    200
See reviews for
1,098
446
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here between the 14th and 24th October with my sister and we really enjoyed ourselves.
Rooms - slightly on the basic side, but we were only really in them to sleep so did us just fine, and the beds were really comfortable. We were put in a room above one of their bars, and if you wanted an early night the music from below could be quite annoying. The only thing I would suggest to the hotel is they provide hair dryers - we never took one with us thinking there would be one in our room but there wasn't, and if you wanted one you had to put down a 20 euro deposit. The rooms are also cleaned everyday.
Food - for myself the food was great, there was a variety of things that I would eat for lunch and dinner, however, for someone picky, like my sister, there was very little choice. All she had was pasta and chips with the occasional salad - something to bare in mind when booking.
Pool - when we went the pool was beyond freezing! in our time at the hotel we were only in the pool two or three times and never knew about the 2nd pool until our last day. Although, the temperature of pool might change during the summer months.
Entertainment - we watched the hotels entertainment on a couple of occasions, but found it difficult to hear what they were saying. However, this did not matter too much, because the enthusiasm that they have is second to none when a show is on so they got some laughs from us!
The hotel is set in a great location, only 10mins from the beach and the town, which was absolutely prefect for us, and also close to the theme park.
All in all, we had a great time at the hotel, even with a few minor things wrong, and would gladly go back and stay in the future and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Avoid most, if not all the rooms, on the first floor. We were in 117 and that was above one of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Party of 13 back yesterday . Stayed here again as with March also , loved the al fresco dining during the day , Staff are not very friendly toward the all inclusive people (probably because they are not dealing with cash and tips) Plenty to eat and drink for all the family ,

All got rooms in Calypso 2 which i didnt want basing this on other reviews before but all went well no problems except a broken shower.
Entertainment was on the wind down when we went so only really saw quizzes and the odd game during the day !

Overall for the price you pay and location it is well worth it

9 adult and 4 kids

Room Tip: Ask for Calypso 1 main building , sometimes they cant accomodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Stephen R,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Calypso as your holiday accommodation in Salou and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found a good value for money hotel.

Thanks again for reviewing Hotel Calypso and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the calypso from oct 25th-1st November in the calypso II block. Couldn't fault the hotel at all, the staff were fantastic, we went all inclusive and the food was great( buffet style breakfast dinner and tea) you could have as much as you wanted as many times. The alcohol was great( San Miguel on tap). The staff really put on an effort to entertain every night you wouldn't really need to leave the hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the calypso.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort william scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

stayed on the 22nd-29th october,hotel is up a small incline from the beach+town centre,only 10 minutes walk away,our room 448,was basic but had all you would want,need or expect,rooms were well cleaned every day.the food again was as you would expect,as it was end of season there were a lot of spanish guests,so the menus at lunch and evening were catered for them,however alternatives were available for uk guests,mainly in the form of a bbq,food from this was very good.there was little waiting time at the bars,and the drinks were a good quality,the staff were all very friendly and helpful,especially,for us anyway,the restaurant managers,my sister is in a wheelchair and a table was reserved for us every meal near the door,this was extremely helpful. i would have no hesitation in staying here again. by the way,theres a small bar/shop outside the hotel facing the main pool,we had the best coffee we've ever tasted there!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

after reading reviews about this hotel i was a little anxious to get there but i was extremely impressed.we arrived about quater past 11 the Sunday morning and went to check in.However our room wasn't ready so they gave us our all inclusive bands and told us to leave our bags in the luggage room and call back in a half hour.we went straight out to the terrace and had a few drinks and some lunch.the food at the terrace is exceptional. I've stayed all inclusive in numerous hotels 4 and 3 stars and never given food as tasty and fresh.there was breads,soup,salads,pasta,pizza,fruits,yogurts,ice creams,chips and then the freshly cooked meats such as steak,chicken breasts,hotdogs,burgers and chicken on skewers from the grill.Lola the cook and rudy were very nice and pleasant always.As the weather was so nice when we wer there we spent most of our days up on the terrace relaxing,eating and drinking.

We were giving room 254 in the calypso 2...the room was spotless and had 3 single beds,lovely big balcony,lots of wardrobe space and comfy beds....what more could you ask for. the restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner was fine too...plenty of selection but to be honest i was happy to eat at the terrace bar.the drinks weren't watered down and the measures were nice and big.

all in all,it was my first visit to salou and it won't be my last.Loved every minute of it and I hope to return to the hotel Calypso next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraho86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Calypso from the 4th to 11th October. Staff were really friendly, food very good, chicken, steak, fish, pork, beef, various choice each day. The entertainment was absolutely brilliant. Loved every evening of it. I thought the hotel looked a little tired in the main bar area at first but then decided if I wanted 5 star I should have paid for 5 star. After a couple of hours relaxing with a drink in the glorious sunshine I thought differently. Rooms are plenty big enough. Ours was cleaned every day and we had fresh towels. Reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English. The lovely main beach is approx. 15/20 minutes walk away. Plenty of buses to hop onto if you want a change of town. La Pineda and Cambrills are nearby and excellent beaches. We have already booked to go back in May 2014 with family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#29 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.9 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#23 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#5 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing