We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Calypso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #35 of 94 Hotels in Salou
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Calypso”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a very good value for money 3* all inclusive hotel. The food selection was excellent, I cannot understand what people are complaining about, I wonder what food they eat at home! The rooms were spacious with plenty of storage space. The pools are small for the amount of guests staying at the hotel and were always very busy, but this was to be expected mid August.
The evening entertainment was excellent the best I have seen in a 3* hotel. There were 8 in our group ranging from 14 years to 72 years and everyone had a good time. We had no trouble getting more than 2 drinks at a time, yes they were served in plastic cups but this is the norm for all inclusive and bars around a pool area. The hotel is centrally situated with bars and shops 5 minutes around the corner. The beach is more than 800m away, as stated on some sites and takes approximately 15-20 minutes walk. Portaventura a short bus ride away although my children only got on 4 of the rides due to very long ques and rides breaking down.
All in all a very good value for money hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Crooka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso in Salou.

We are very pleased to hear that you were very happy with the level of service and standards offered at the Hotel Calypso, and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to this hotel or one of our other Med Playa Hotels in mainland Spain for your future holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    706
    426
    161
    202
See reviews for
1,118
461
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I returned on monday from a 10 night stay with my youngest son at the calypso, i was slightly apprehensive after reading all the negative reviews on here, but i could not fault it, the staff were all friendly and helpful, and they all work extemely hard, our room was spotless, and as i'm a housekeeper in a hospital i know clean when i see it, towels changed everyday, fantastic shower in the bathroom. The food was excellent and my son is a fussy eater, always plenty of choice, i tried as many of the spanish dishes as i could as i don't really see the point of visiting a foreign country and eating english food. the entertainment was brilliant, always something for everyone.
my one small gripe would be the sunbed queues in the morning, but it did'nt put me off, i enjoyed swimming in both pools each day, they do get crowded at times, but not all of the time. I stayed half board, and i had to queue to pay for my drinks, but i find most places you queue at a bar, so i could see no problem there, i was happy with the plastic cups, i did sometimes get glasses as i was a payer, but prefered the plastic ones as there is no danger of cut feet from broken glasses, you have to remember this is a family hotel and young children often run around barefoot.
I am now saving up to return next year as i enjoyed myself so much, however i will go all inclusive as the price of drinks are very expensive not just in the hotel, but in all of Salou, bars and supermarkets. I would tell most people to ignore the bad reviews on here, after reading some of them i'm left wondering if they were staying at the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank penny52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I went to this hotel this year as there were quite a lot in our party and we read the reviews on the entertainment and thought this would keep the kids amused. This is the first hotel review I have ever written but I felt that our stay was so ruined that its only fair people should know what they are going to get: Ignorant, unhelpful staff. Go to the bar and get put in the "all inclusive" line - get served after the people who are "paying" - and I thought we had already pre-paid!!! Get 13 of your party to go to the bar for drinks as your only allowed to get 2 - irritate all other guests by doing this instead of 3 or 4 of you being in the queue.
Have plastic cups for everything- don't ask for a larger cup, this is also out of the question - therefore another 13 trips to the bar holding up the queue again. That includes our elderly parents as we weren't allowed to get them and the kids a drink at the same time.
Food - we went out and paid for it although we were all inclusive.
Rooms - not bad if you're a couple but DO NOT book a family room - my brother, his wife and two kids had to rollover the beds to get around the room as there was no space left.
DO NOT irritate the room cleaners who get the huff in you happen to be in the shower etc when they want in - they will keep chapping the door every 10 mins till you get out.
I have been going on all inclusive holidays for years and never had such rubbish served. I am not a picky eater and willing to try new things out but ended up eating salad whenever I ventured into the restaurants.
It was sooooo bad that I paid for flight transfers and came home 2 days early.
Good things: the hotel has plenty of seating areas around the pool and bars etc but pool too small.
Entertainment team : very good and in total contrast to the other staff.
The staff in this hotel should stop seeing the guests as a pain and start treating them as their livelihood.
Disgusted.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jmag210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Than you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso in Salou.
We are very sorry to hear that there were various aspects of the hotel which did not meet with your expectations.
The Hotel Calypso is a popular hotel in Salou, with many of our guests returning to stay with us year after year because of the standards and value for money offered by the hotel.
We are disappointed to hear that you were so disatisfied that you left the hotel before your scheduled departure date. The hotel manager and her staff are very keen to resolve any problems our guests have, whilst they are still in the hotel, we are very sorry that this was not possible in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have just got back from a very enjoyable holiday at the Calypso ,Like many of you wanting to see other peoples experiance before you book all i can say its a nice 3* all inclusive .The food was good your never go hungry stuff for everyone s taste and plenty of it .The hotel is a bit dated a few broken tiles etc but nothing you can really moan about of a hotel of this age . Two good sized pools and a kids pool with play ground kept pretty clean ( when people moan about the pool area being dirty the reason for that is people dont put there own rubbish in the bins provided !!!! leaving uneaten food on plates and drinks laying around .Its was a never ending battle for the staff to keep clean ****.Its Not the Hotels fault**** .The entertainment was very good been to many other hotels this has got to be one of the best for in house shows through the 10 day stay .The beach is lovely about 15 min walk not to many inclines . all inclusive drinks were good been to some Al spirits watered down not this hotel . We would definately come back to the Calpso for another Holiday . Hope you find this review helpful in you choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 375paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

just come back from the calypso,it will of been the 4th time we have been, and every time we go it just gets better,the kids love it and never want to come home, the food is really nice, especially in alfressco,and the breakfasts are really nice,there is lots of selection, and the entertainment is amazing the team work really hard,dont no were they get there energy from!! of a day they play games not just with the kids but with the adults,which is good fun, and the staff are really nice and freindly they make you feel very welcome, met loads of great people this year who are all going back the same date next year so it will be like the tv series benidorm ha!! really good for families..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summer201155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Mark them cockney people made the holiday mate you just got the hump because you had to wait for a drink you toby why did you not say nothing to them haha . Funny how every one else had a great time. The hotel was great had a right laugh apple bar was popping off !!! SALOU BANTER !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 04108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

just come back from salou , calypso hotel. we all had a fantasctic holiday. Loads of families got on together. We had a really good time. Weather was really lovely. Staff were really nice and freindly. but some families were unpleasent from diffrent countries and left their manners at home. Food was fantastic. Kids occupied all the time. Entertainment was good. but bit of a carryone with getting the sunbeds on the morning but soon as you get them it is all calm plus we went all inclusive and the kids got loads of coke and we got loads of lager. would go again next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Goldbrough family
Thanks so much for your review of your stay with us at the Calypso. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,935 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#28 of 94 in Salou
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing