We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Calypso is an excellent, friendly value for money hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Calypso hotel offers first class acomodation, excellent entertainment,complete with child friendly staff and a great selection of food and recreational facilities, be it the children's play area, the four pools, the open area barbeque terrace or the airconditioned Apple Bar, the Calypso presents itself as an extremely well run hotel which I have already reccomended to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Justluvholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,132)
There are newer reviews for MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned a few hours ago from Salou.

My son who is 12 and my mother and Iwere in salou for 1 week and stayed at the Calypso Hotel.

On arrival we checked in no problem and our room was ready. The door was impossible to open however. We returned to reception a total of 5 times and discovered there was a problem with the door, there was a "knack" to opening it..slightly disheartening even 5 days on we still had issues with it.

We eventually got in to our room and discovered that our pool view room had a slight glimpse of the pool but was right over the main entertainment area.

The evening entertainment starts at 21.30 and continues right through until 12 midnight. It is very loud and its impossible to sleep before that time. Wasn't too much of a nightmare for us as my son is 12 and we decided to stay up and watch the shows that were on.

The room had a lovely power shower and lovely clean bathroom.

Please be careful with the balcony, you are up some height and they dont all look that safe. Keep an eye on children at all times and do not allow them to hang over or lean on the balcony area at all.

We were all inclusive and enjoyed free drinks and food. The food was great and the restraunts were clean.

I cannot fault any of the staff at all. The chambermaids made our beds, washed our floors and provided fresh towels daily. The entertainment staff were fantastic putting on shows like mama-mia, dirty-dancing etc.

WIFI is only available within the reception area and often this area becomes crowded and on many occasions the connection is up and down. You can use a PC in the hotel for 1-euro for around 15 mins.

You have to pay for bowling, pool, darts etc so if like me you have a child old enough to want to play pool or video games with friends you will be handing out euros like sweets.

Major problems with the sun lounger allocation around the pool. Its like a territorial war. People stand guard over "their space" and on many occasions there are arguments on who sat where and when. When everyone is around the pool in loungers etc its actually like sardines, there is no room to walk at all.

Many parents once in the comfort of their sun lounger sizzle away and enjoy the free bevy and let their kids run amock soaking guests with water guns etc.

Their are ALOT of babies & kids in this hotel. If you love butlins, haven etc you will have no problem with this hotel.

If you are after somewhere a bit more relaxed the calypso isnt for you !!!. There is no room to swim freely or just sit and relax a bit.

Salou itself is nice, be careful with your belongings and always aware where your bag is.

Its reasonable to purchase food & drink outside the hotel but look around and see who does the best deals etc.

Visit places like portaventura in the early evening on hot days as it becomes a nightmare queing and walking etc.

Overall Salou was good and we would go back.

Room Tip: If you have young children please make sure you arent over the entertainment stage @ calypso 2.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

stayed at this hotel a few weeks back and what an awful experience. shabby, dirty, doors kicked in, cockroaches, rude staff had to get moved. there were birds eating the food straight out of the serving hot plates in the outside restaurant, birds pooing on you while you ate. the pool was filthy. all the kids entertainment was in spanish, sheets were discusting toenails on the bedroom floor. miles from the sea

Room Tip: go somewhere else!!!! like the avinida golden hotel where we were transfered to
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JessicaG186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso in Salou.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our hotel. The Hotel Calypso is a popular hotel in salou with many of our guests returning year after year because of the standards, service and value for money offered.
We are disappointed that we were unable to offer you the holiday experience you were expecting, but hope that overall you enjoyed your stay in Salou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I returned on Saturday 28th July after spending 7 nights at the Calypso hotel with my daughter and 8 year old grandson. We arrived at 11.00am and our room was not ready but reception gave us our AI wristbands and locked our luggage away and asked us to return at 1.00pm. We went to the al fresco restaurant had a cuppa and some lunch (lunch was OK but nothing special)
Then back to reception for our room keys we were allocated room 266 in Calypso 2 which is attached to Calypso 1 with a covered walkway. The room was OK with 3 single beds but enough room to walk around it also had a fair sized balcony which was situated directly over the entertainment stage, oh dear we had a feeling this was going to be noisy and boy were we right. The entertainment was loud and went on until 12.00 midnight each night so the was no chance of my grandson getting to sleep before midnight. This is a large hotel with two lovely swimming pools situated outside block 1 and 2 but it was mayhem each day trying to get a sunbed. The beds are chained up each evening to allow everyone a fighting chance of getting a bed at a reasonable time each morning. The pool attendant unlocks the chains at about 9.30 am and it is a frenzy each morning to see how quickly people can get their bed in the same place as the previous day it is a wonder no one has been injured in the rugby scrum. After the first day we refused to get involved and started going to the beach instead. I must say the Brits abroad moan about the Germans hogging the sunbeds but at this hotel it was the Brits who took over the sunbed situation. Once the beds had been placed around the pool then it was a nightmare in the pool as the kids were left to their own devices with adults allowing them to do what they wanted whilst the adults indulged in the AI drinks. You couldn't lie by the pool reading or enjoying the sun without being squirted with water pistols or balls bouncing off your heads it was not a relaxing place to be and if you fancied a dip in the pool then that was impossible as you had kids jumping on top of you it was awful. The main buffet restaurant served a good selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner but again because of the amount of people it was not a pleasant experience and resembled a school canteen and the noise at times was deafening. The entertainment at night was OK run by the entertainment team which again was invaded by groups of people who insisted on the same seats every night (again this was overtaken by the Brits). There was a mediterranean bar in the hotel which we used at night this was much quiter and not many people used this area but the seats were badly stained so you had to be careful where you sat. Getting back to our room which on arrival was cleaned to an acceptable standard but during our week stay the beds were changed once and the towels daily but the floor or balcony was never swept once. The Calypso is in a good position at the beginning of the strip and buses and tourist train stop right outside the door. salou itself is a lovely resort with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants and a fabulous sandy beach. Would we return to the Calypso NO!!!!!!! I am aware this was a 3star hotel so I wasn't expecting anything more but the behaviour of the guests with a holiday camp attitude and kids running around unsupervised spoiled what could have been a good weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road, although you will have traffic noise it will be quieter than a room...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caplac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have just returned from a great week at the calypso. 2 adults, 4 children aged 15, 11, 6 and 17 months a great time was had by all. From the moment we stepped in to the reception we were welcomed by a cheerful receptionist check in was quick and went to our rooms which were as you would expect 3 beds, dressing table spacious wardrobe with plenty of hangers, bathroom with bath, shower, wc, sink and bedet. Balcony with table and three chairs, we also had a cot so plenty of space. Food was buffet style and avaliable basically all the time, fantastic variety something for everyone one of my children has food allergies and we managed to find plenty to suit him. Drinks at the bar, you have to que to the bar which means everyone gets served fairly and no pushing at the bar. Beer is served in large glasses. Bottles of water are available so you can take them to the room at night. There is planty of seating and sunbeds around the pools, sunbeds are unlocked at 10am so no getting up at 6 in the morning to get a sunbed. Although you still get some sad people moaning. Pools have life guards on duty and are kept clean and tidy. Entertainment is as you would expect these are hotel entertainers not west end actors, kids entertainers were good and all put in excellent effort to keep everyone entertained. I found all staff well mannered and friendly, although I can not say the same about all guests would fail to use basic please and thank you, "gracias" makes all the differance. The location is very good just away from the main streets and 10 minute steady walk to the beaches. There are buses all day if you fancy a change. Please don't take notice of negative reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very apprehensive about this hotel also about Calypso 2 however spoke to regular visitors on Facebook who confirmed I would have a fab time. Stayed 21st -28th with 2 families of 8 in Calypso 2 with pool views also large end balcony as requested Thanks to reception. On that note I would like to comment on all staff who for our party could not be more helpfull and friendly and are always prompt clearing in dining room and all very well presented.

Rooms clean modern and as shown on internet for those who care to look at details before going on hols perhaps then those with such complaints would choose to book 5 * at a much higher cost. Lovely pool we prefered Calypso 2 with plenty of beds however some people need to relax and not complain when beds are still locked till 9.30am. Selection and standard of food was excellent however you may have to wait a little at alfresco bar however this is for freshly cooked meat and waiter service 1 per week was excellent. There were some complaints I read about birds yes however the hotel cannot help most food areas do have covers. Overall excellent choice both day and night favourite being Tex Mex night thank you. Enjoyed entertainment and all staff work hard however being really picky would have enjoyed one outside music act not all dance acts. Had a fab week and would certainly recommend and return again as Salou is a lovely place for family holidays and lots of little beaches/paths running right around coast 10 mins from hotel. Thanks the Calypso for a fab holiday X

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BELLA1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

just got back from the calypso, had a lovley week there, its a very busy hotel, mainly families and couples, entertainment was fine, but didnt start until 9.30 which i thought was a bit late for the kids disco, didnt see the animation team in the day but we went to the beach 3 out of the 7 days it was too hot and too busy by the pools , and you couldnt get a sunbed unless you were up at the crack of dawn.Food was fine, room was fine, clean, also you pay 30 euros for the safe, at the end of the week when you return the key you get your 30 euros back !!!! Staff at reception were friendly, bar staff were just okay. We did ask for a pool view, but we got a view of the camp site pool opposite the hotel !! would def go back there but when not so busy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilolil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#46 of 93 in Salou
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $54 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing