We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gr8 entertainment, loads to eat & drink, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gr8 entertainment, loads to eat & drink, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

When we first arrived, i was not very impressed and worried that this was going to be a terrible holiday our room door was so stiff i wasn't strong enough to open/close it, we had ants in our bathroom and the room was well pretty basic, the reception staff were excellent and sent maintenance straight away to fix the door and spray the bathroom after that there were no problems with opening and closing our room door and never saw an ant again. We had a lot of spanish teenagers next to us who were making noise all day and night but thankfully they left on our 2nd day and we had no problems from then on. Although i wouldn't say the rooms were up to much they did the job and as long as you look at it as just somewhere to sleep and shower it does the job. Everything else about this hotel is so good I can only give it the highest praise its just a shame the rooms are not to the same standard as the rest of the facilities. There is so much to do at the hotel you could quite easily spend the majority of your time there taking advantage of the all inclusive food and drink which i was absolutely gob smacked by, i could not believe the amount and variety of food and drink included, firstly there were the buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners with an extensive amount of choices, then there were the hot and cold snacks with again another extensive range of choices there was even a list of items that you could have cooked for you right there and then including steaks, pork, chicken breast, kebabs, burgers, hot dogs i was amazed, then you can also help yourself to tubs of nestle ice cream all day long you don't even have to ask for them and from the bar you can have trays of crisps all day and night. As for the drinks there were plenty to choose from including cocktails and the kids could get their own as well. For what we ate and drank in the week it would easily have cost more than half the total cost of the holiday if we'd had to pay for it all. I am a single parent and felt very safe with my 2 kids in this hotel in fact i saw many single parents in the week we stayed there so i never felt out of place at all. The location of the hotel is fantastic a straight road down to the beach front and plenty of shops all the way down the road, i'd say it took about 20mins to walk down to the beach mainly because the streets are so busy meaning you can't walk very fast. There is also a road train stop opposite the hotel it costs 1.50 for a child and 3 euro for an adult this takes you all round salou and up to port aventura, a cheaper option is to take the bus there is a stop just down the road slightly from the hotel and if you go to the tobacconist and ask for a T10 card that gives you 10 bus journeys for 10 euros and you don't need a card per person everyone can use the same card. Port Aventura is excellent but the water park was very disappointing hardly any flumes we could only manage to stay for half a day there was so little to do also a lot of it is indoors and who wants to be indoors when you are in Spain! There is a much better water park called aquopilis in La Pineda which is only a 5-10min bus ride away. Back to the hotel now, the pools were very good and there were plenty of sunbeds we were always able to get 3 together at anytime of the day, the thing i liked the best was the entertainment at night the shows and quiz night were very good they always start at 10.15pm which was just perfect we normally were at the pool till 6.30pm, then showered and down for dinner and out for a walk round the shops or down to the fountains and back to the hotel in time for the show beginning. There was also a bar which acted as a cinema in the evenings every night at 7.30 there was a different family film on and normally in English as well, there was a large games room with plently of pool tables, air hockey tables, bowlingo etc and an internet centre, there was also a small shop in reception which had loads in it from english newspapers to toys to suncream to cadbury's chocolate bars and all quite fairly priced my son bought a few good toys for only 3 euros each. If you are looking for a hotel in a great location with excellent all inclusive features, good pools,fantastic entertainment and very friendly and helpful staff i would definitely recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CVRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    686
    411
    152
    194
See reviews for
1,087
441
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

People who complain about this hotel are clearly fussy and insufferably hard to please. I'm glad I wasn't going on holiday with them, that's for sure...

Hotel was great, right from the reception area, to the rooms, to the pool area. All excellent overall.

Staff at reception were friendly. Room was regularly cleaned, although the maids tended to turn up at erratic times, sometimes as early as 11am and sometimes as late as 4pm. No major problem though, since you should be awake and outside enjoying your holiday at those times.

The pool area was great. Didn't get too crowded most of the time. Although there was a horrible smell at the poolside near the restaurant - I think it was coming from bins or drains outside the hotel however.

Yes, the walls are incredibly thin, as most people mention. It's as if the rooms are separated by a thin layer of plywood. It's no problem though - If you have quiet neighbours, lucky you. If you have noisy ones, then complain constantly to reception so that they get constant warnings from the hotel.

Food was fine. Not excellent, but it was fine. There was a wide selection of foods, with different dishes, salads, fish and types of meat each night. The snack bar/BBQ upstairs from the pool is great if you want a chicken burger or steak between restaurant meal times, although the small buffet beside it didn't seem to be sufficiently heated and let the food go cold very quickly - food was regularly refreshed however.

Staff friendly. Good selection at both the bar and restaurant. Lots of sunbeds. Lots of space. Entertainment was watchable most nights. Rooms were clean.

I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keys767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

first impressions were good hotel is a little shabby from the outside but reeption area was lovley and although there was a small cue to check in staff were lovley very freindly and helpfull.
our room was small but adequate, tha bathroom was a god size with a good size bath and shower.
this however is where it all went downhill, the entrance to our room was right outside the stairs/lift on the first floor the other end of the room where the balony was overlooked the road and main entrance so sleep was diffiult if it wasent screaming kids or flip flops outside the door it was bus loads of peaple or drunkeds outside the entrance or ppl smoking there first thing in the morning.
the food was ok, depending on where and when you ate, snack bar wasent up to much food was mainly cold and shrivelled, restaraunt was better but depended on the theme i found they cooked the fish really well and it was lovley.
staff were really nice i got to know a few of them over the week and they were very helpfull i never saw any attitude from anyone and i found if you did them the courtesy of an "ola" they were gratefull.
entertainment was awfull younger kids diddent start till quarter to ten and only lasted half an hour my youngest is five and wasent in the mood for musical bumps at that time of nite, there was no entertainment during the day.
after the kids entertainment it was for older children but was just dancers doing musicals nothing for teenage boys.
all in all the hotel was ok staff were great cant fault them, food wasent to good but location of the hotel was great, most things were a short bus ride away or you could catch the mini train that pulls upright outside the hotel it takes you to most places and the kids loved it.
i wouldent stay here again but its no fault of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loopyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

just got back it was fab it is the second time we have stayed hea and we still love it we will def be going back next year. they is loads to do for kids and the shows on a nite time are fab and the food is very nice. what a realy good time we had we didnt want to leave it was excellent :) xx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misshadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Went to the Hotel Calypso in August 2010 for 3 weeks with my partner and 3 kids,x 13, 11, 3. when we arrived, we were greated by friendly staff who gave us our key and a pass to dine at Alfresco. we arrived at our room, number 487 (thats facing the pool in calypso 2) what was a very nice view. Everyday at tea time, there was something new everyday, like one night there would be an Indian themed night or an american night which was really good. the breakfasts were really yummy,x had a lot of choice for kids. the pools were Excellently clean and quite warm. the Entertainment never failed to impress. there would be pool games everyday and a mini disco. everyday got better and better in the hotel calypso and i will be returning in 2 weeks(10th august 2011) again but for 4 weeks,xx dont believe any bad reviews because this hotel is 100% superb xxxxx:)

Room Tip: when booking, ask for a pool view room xxxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xmrmx1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

like others i felt sick after reading some reviews but after spendin 2 weeks all in i can say i had nothing to worry about. requested calypso 1 and we got it but dont think it would have mattered now where we got. all the staff were great and the entertainment staff put in a power of work with some cracking shows too. never heard of any thefts while we were there and we had a safe, 30 euros if youre all in and you get that back at the end. only 2 things to moan about but just being fussy, sunbeds not out early enough and the food gets a bit repetative but is still good though. allthough only 2 drinks at a time all the kids do get served at the bar too so its not a problem really. if youre not expecting a 5 star hotel then im sure youll enjoy your holiday !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saintee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

i am NOT A SNOB but was so shocked by the hygiene of this place

the high chari's had mouldy stuck on food
food under the tables (not been cleaned)
cutlery not washed properly
the kids pool was cold and small
my 2 yer old doll was taking from the room (STAFF NOT INTERESTED DOLL NOT REPLACED)
staff rude
2 drinks per person (2 year old has to go with you and carry own drink (IMPOSSIBLE)
maintenance man paiting by the pool in the day were kids pool was
luggage room small and not safe

this holiday was a big disappointment
would never go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calypso-Salou, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. Calypso is a popular resort in Salou with many of our customers returning year after year and we are very sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel. The Hotel Manager and staff at the Hotel Calypso encourage our guests to bring any issues which arise during their stay to their attention in order that they can be resolved immediately, we are very sorry if this was not the case in this situation. At Med Playa we follow very strict hygiene procedures which are controlled both internally and externally and we can assure that your comments will be investigated. We hope however that overall your holiday in Salou was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#33 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.9 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#22 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing