We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definateley going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Bilston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definateley going back.”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I have been to Salou 12 times and this was the first time that we had stayed at this hotel. There were 7 of us that travelled, myself, the wife, 3 kids and mother and father in law. This was the 1st time for 2 of our kids and my mother and father in law to visit Salou. They really enjoyed the holiday especially the hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Calypso 2 and were happy with the room that we had. The only downfall was when people were coming back to there rooms at night and were slamming the doors closed and letting the kids run down the corridor ( It echo's). The entertainment team were absolutely fantastic and they put on excellent shows in the evening. We had a show when a chap brought his trained parrots. Afterwards he came round asking if we wanted our photo took with a couple of them. We said yes and lay one down in my youngest sons' arms (aged 9). It was a brilliant experiance.
If you fancy a bite to eat there are excellent british restaurants dotted around the town. I would recommend Jack's. If you leave the hotel, turn left then 1st left again. Walk straight to the bottom of the road and it is situated on the left hand side. The food there is fantastic and reasonably priced. This is approx 5-10 mins walk (max).
All in all we had a fantasic holiday and have already said that we shall be returning to this hotel but will be going All Inclusive as we went half board this time.
Forget all these bad reviews.....A holiday is what you make it!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppatws1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    707
    427
    161
    202
See reviews for
1,122
461
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

just got back after a great week at this hotel wished it had been two. hotel has everything you need,great food good entertainment,rooms cleaned every day ,beach about a 20 min walk , not far to bars and clubs if you want a night out.really cant find anything to moan at . there was 21 people in our party ranging from 10 months to 71 years old and all loved it thankyou hotel calypso.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizGloucestershireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calypso-Salou, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your review! It’s great to know that you loved the hotel and enjoyed your holidays in Salou, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Wow < well what can i say ! :) fabulous place , love it very much,
the hotel and the staff are great! :)
great food, entertainment is great too ! vey entertaining :))) this is the third year in a row and i love it :) two weeks as of the 30th july :) CANNOT WAIT :)

salou is a beautiful place :) deffo advise seeing other places too :
reus
tarragona
cambils
id also advise that you book ur trips with plana, they are cheaper, there are plana booths up though the town :)))
deffo a great place to go ! :)
to anyone that is going ENJOY! rememeber that it is a 3 star! so dnt go expecting 5 star as u shall be very disappointed :)

Room Tip: Request a room that over looks the pool as you will be looking out onto the rd otherwise ! :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abimanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calypso-Salou, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your comment! We are glad that you love the hotel and we will be happy to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

went here on a college Trip, We weren't really in the hotel much accept at night, but The place is wonderful, We went when there was hardly anyone there! so the pools were empty,
The food was very good, The desk receptionist carlos was very welcoming, Towards the end of our stay it got extremely busy and spainish people seem to be very rude and just walk straight into you expecting you to move around them, and when going down for dinner or breakfast they will just push you, out of the way or you have to push past them because they won't move to the side for you to get past. Overall good hotel you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistypoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calypso-Salou, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your review! It’s great that you enjoyed your stay at Medplaya Calypso and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just arrived back from staying at the hotel Calypso in Salou, I read some of the reviews on this site and was very worried about our holiday being ruined because of the state of the hotel, shouldn’t have worried at all the best hotel I have stayed in ever, the food was great and plenty of at all times of the day, entertainment was absolute fabulous and could not be faulted, I would just like to Finnish of buy saying to the people who have wrote this hotel off if you want a five star hotel don’t book a three star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scotfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calypso-Salou, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We appreciate very much your review and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Medplaya Calypso. Hotel Calypso is a popular choice among families, with many of our customers returning every year, and we would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel on 27th June for 4 nights. We booked an all inclusive deal as we didnt want to have to spend alot whilst there.
The food is absolutelty fantastic at this resort, you can get food at any time of the day and the food is of high quality and there is a vast selection. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, we had a room in Calypso 1 which i think by looking at the outside of the buildings this was th better block, Calypso 2 looked like it needed a small makeover. The staff were very polite and friendly and we didn't find ourselves queing at the bar as other reviews have said. The entertainment team are also great at the hotel, we were really impressed with the Dirty Dancing show on the first night. The only downfalls I would say the hotel has is the area around the larger pool which gets sun most of the day doesn't get the sun until around 1130, usually I sunbathe from 0930 but I just had a lie in instead on this holiday! Also the smaller pool is very overcrowded, there seemed to be alot of locals using the facilities during the day as they didn't have wristbands on.
Overall an excellent hotel and I would definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calypso-Salou, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to know that you liked the hotel and that you had a great time here, and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were a bit dubious about this hotel after reading the reviews but can honestly say it has everything you need for a great family holiday. The food was fantastic (a choice of 5 or 6 main meals each night as well as themed nights, the tex mex was delicious) don't know if this is because it was their first year being all inclusive. The entertainment team were bril (hi Sarah) and the pool lovely. You do see a lot of spanish kids arriving and leaving but you never see them during the day or at night. One fault, the room walls are VERY thin so you can hear EVERYTHING but it definitely didn't spoil our hol. Would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calypso-Salou, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you much for your comment! Hotel Calypso is a very popular hotel in Salou, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,946 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#28 of 94 in Salou
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing