We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews”
Review of H.TOP Molinos Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H.TOP Molinos Park
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

First off this was the best holiday i have been on. The hotel is very nice and quite posh as you walk in and the welcome we got was very friendly. The rooms are very basic, but we expected that. The room had everything we needed - even a tv! This was mine and my girlfriends first holiday away together. We had read alot of bad reviews before we arrived but we was pleasantly suprised with the hotel. We went all inclusive. The meals were alot higher quality than our expectations, they was all buffet style meal with lots of variety. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffets. The was very rarely a que for the buffets and was always somewhere to sit. There was sometime a small que at the bars but that was not a problem as they allow you 2 drinks per person at a time. The hotel has a rooftop bar with 2 jacuzzis for over 18s, we spent alot of time up here and really enjoyed. Also if you are going out for the day you can order a packed lunch from the hotel 24 hours before - free of charge! The is a lady who has a desk in reception called sandra who sells excurtions and theme park tickets, she is also very helpful with any questions you have about your stay, she helped us out with our transfers back to the airport. Overall it was a fantastic bargain off a holiday for the small cost we paid. We will definately be returning!

Tony

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tony1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    518
    494
    282
    365
See reviews for
877
468
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel was better then the reviews. The good points ; food was better then some 4* I've been too.Extertainment the same as all H.top Hotels ,Most of the staff friendly.
Bad points;Very long queues at the bar off an evening more bar staff needed.The hotel in Cap Salou and was pretty dead in oct ,we left the hotel on the last day of the season so got asked to leave the hotel by 6pm saying that they let us have the room to 2pm and food was on too 5pm and even give us pictic's to take to the airport.A BIG THANK YOU.
Only thing is they did no tell everyone about the times and a family with two small children booked out of thier rooms at 10am and they could of had a lay in as we did.So next time put a notice up telling everyone .
Would i return NO only because the hotel in Cap Salou

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 503721Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you like to listen to the noise of arguments,tolets, snoring and lovemaking from adjoining bedrooms this is the hotel fro you. If you like food that has had all the flavour and texture cooked out of it, ths is the hotel for you. If you like very loud music and drunken beahviour, this is the hotel for you. Otherwise go anywhere but here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cymrotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This holiday was a spur of the moment thing after seeing an advert. in a local paper. We are not widely travelled and this was the first time to Spain. Having booked the holiday we then looked at Tripadvisor and thought 'what have we done?'. However, the reality was, in our opinion, not too bad. For us, the staff were efficient and polite and very helpful. The restaurant manageress was super. How the barmen cope with the huge number of demanding Brits I don't know but they did it well. The food was 'pub-grub' type with the odd bit of Spanish thrown in. Apart from being less than warm in some cases it was varied, plentiful and tasty. I will agree that the room and, in fact, the hotel in general could do with a 'warm-up' but we found it clean. Our room was well cleaned every day, sheets were changed in the middle of the week and clean towels were supplied when requested. The insulation in the hotel is really bad and that is the only real downside as every noise in every room can be heard. If we were to stay in this hotel again we would take earplugs for sleeping. Yes, Salou was a ghost town but this suited us. We don't like crowds nor do we need the nightlife. The visit has shown that we may need to research hotels a bit more if we go again but we would definitely go towards the end of the season. overall we feel that we had good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I tried to go here with an open mind after reading all the negative reviews. At the end of the day, we paid an absolute pittance to stay here all inclusive, so we weren't expecting a lot! And, overall, I'd say we got a bargain. It probably is the worst 'holiday' hotel we've stayed in, but that doesn't mean it was bad - it has a lot of good points, and we still enjoyed our week away.
To address some of the points from negative reviews:
The walls/doors really are paper-thin. You can hear your neighbours having a conversation, and everything that happens in the bathroom. This is obviously more of a problem if you have thoughtless neighbours or disrespectful people on your floor who like to shout/talk loudly as they walk down the corridor. We were generally lucky in this respect and managed to block out next door's TV/talking and sleep through it. I would recommend bringing earplugs though.
We noticed a slight sewerage smell in the bathroom about three times. Each time it lasted maybe five minutes. Maybe other people were unluckier, but it really wasn't a problem.
The food was fine. I've eaten in nicer hotels, and it was rather more repetitive than other hotels I've been to, but I found that most of the food was very nice, and there was enough choice for the adulys and the children (always chips and pasta for those too unadventurous to try new things). There was always salad, fresh fruit, fish, meat, bread and vegetables and a wide range of puddings, although this did not vary much from day to day.
The queues varied - a couple of times, there were long queues outside to get into the restaurant, and then queues inside to get your food. Other times, no queues at all. We never struggled to find a table, though, and lunchtime was generally quieter. They could do with extending their mealtimes to accommodate everyone, as the restuarant was really to small to cope with a full hotel. The queues at the bar in the evening were generally pretty long, although they were non-existent at other times of the day.
We can't comment on much of the entertainment, as we did not stay in the hotel during the day, or watch the evening entertainment. We did join in the quiz every evening at 8.30 (which would have been fine except winning seemed to involve then making a fool of yourself to get the prize, resulting in us keeping quiet!), and then the mini-disco - very short, but the kids loved it. The animation staff were certainly enthusiastic.
The hotel is on a hill, but we didn't find it particularly steep or a problem, even after a long walk. It is in Cap Salou, which is outside of Salou. I don't know what it's like in season but, in October, it ispretty dead, and only one bar and the handy Spar supermarket round the corner from the hotel were open. There are, however, a couple of lovely coves just a few minutes from the hotel, and it is a lovely walk to Salou, discovering more lovely beaches along the way. I'd say it takes at least half an hour to walk to Salou (it took us longer, but we have young children and walked slowly). There is a bus stop round the corner from the hotel, and I think there are regular buses into Salou and La Pineda.
The rooms were small but not as cramped as I'd expected. All four beds were pushed together like a giant king-size btu, actually, this was okay. There was enough room to put our stuff, and it felt like there was enough space for us - maybe I would have felt different if we were there for more than a week. There were two chairs on the balcony, and we simply moved a table from the room outside when we wanted it. My husband though the beds were a bit hard, but I found it very comfortable and slept very well. The bathroom was a decent size, and we didn't have any problems with the shower - it was hot and didn't splash! The cleaning was done regularly and to a good standard.
We found the staff polite and helpful, though some were definitely friendlier than others. We generally found that when you are friendly and polite yourself, you get it back. (And yes, it does help to attempt a little Spanish - you are in Spain! Gracias goes a long way!) The way some clientele treated the staff, however, means you can hardly blame them from being grumpy sometimes.
The clientele are the main problem with this hotel - its price attracts certain people and this can have a big effect on your holiday. We saw kids running riot and climbing on the pool tables with no parental supervision, and teenagers hanging around at all hours. We didn't personally have any problems but I can imagine the hotel has a lot of trouble with some of its guests and who is staying near you could make or break your holiday. Towards the end of our week, there seemed to be more Spanish guests and less Brits and I must admit this made for a calmer holiday.
Other points:
If you have a hire car, don't pay for hotel parking (8 euros a day!) - there is plenty on-street, although maybe not outside the hotel.
We always go away in October half-term, so we are used to staying in a ghost town. But I would say Salou is the liveliest place we've ever been at this time of year - most of the shops, restaurants and bars were open and there were more people than we've ever seen in October. A drive though Cambrils suggested the same thing, although La Pineda was very quiet. I can't imagine how anyone found Tarragona empty - everything was open when we went, it was just like going to any other city, rather than a 'holiday resort'.
I thoroughly recommend Port Aventura at Halloween - if you have children, it's worth making the effort to bring a costume, as at least a third of the guests (including adults!) were dressed up - there was a great atmosphere and the queues were short, as it's not half-term in Spain. However, avoid 1 November, as this is a bank holiday in Spain, and the place was packed, with 2-hour queues.
Overall, there are a lot of things the hotel could do to improve, but this would involve spending money and putting the prices up - this may solve the clientele problem as well, of course, but it may also put the hotel out of people's price-reach. The bottom line is you get what you pay for. If you can't afford or don't want to spend much, then this is a good, basic hotel where you can have a good time as long as your expectations match your pocket. If you want more, then you have to be willing to pay for more - simple! Would I return? To Salou, definitely, although preferably when the children are older and can get more out of Port Aventura - and definitely out of season. To the hotel? Maybe - it depends what we can afford!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayObsessive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I tried to go here with an open mind after reading all the negative reviews. At the end of the day, we paid an absolute pittance to stay here all inclusive, so we weren't expecting a lot! And, overall, I'd say we got a bargain. It probably is the worst 'holiday' hotel we've stayed in, but that doesn't mean it was bad - it has a lot of good points, and we still enjoyed our week away.
To address some of the points from negative reviews:
The walls/doors really are paper-thin. You can hear your neighbours having a conversation, and everything that happens in the bathroom. This is obviously more of a problem if you have thoughtless neighbours or disrespectful people on your floor who like to shout/talk loudly as they walk down the corridor. We were generally lucky in this respect and managed to block out next door's TV/talking and sleep through it. I would recommend bringing earplugs though.
We noticed a slight sewerage smell in the bathroom about three times. Each time it lasted maybe five minutes. Maybe other people were unluckier, but it really wasn't a problem.
The food was fine. I've eaten in nicer hotels, and it was rather more repetitive than other hotels I've been to, but I found that most of the food was very nice, and there was enough choice for the adulys and the children (always chips and pasta for those too unadventurous to try new things). There was always salad, fresh fruit, fish, meat, bread and vegetables and a wide range of puddings, although this did not vary much from day to day.
The queues varied - a couple of times, there were long queues outside to get into the restaurant, and then queues inside to get your food. Other times, no queues at all. We never struggled to find a table, though, and lunchtime was generally quieter. They could do with extending their mealtimes to accommodate everyone, as the restuarant was really to small to cope with a full hotel. The queues at the bar in the evening were generally pretty long, although they were non-existent at other times of the day.
We can't comment on much of the entertainment, as we did not stay in the hotel during the day, or watch the evening entertainment. We did join in the quiz every evening at 8.30 (which would have been fine except winning seemed to involve then making a fool of yourself to get the prize, resulting in us keeping quiet!), and then the mini-disco - very short, but the kids loved it. The animation staff were certainly enthusiastic.
The hotel is on a hill, but we didn't find it particularly steep or a problem, even after a long walk. It is in Cap Salou, which is outside of Salou. I don't know what it's like in season but, in October, it ispretty dead, and only one bar and the handy Spar supermarket round the corner from the hotel were open. There are, however, a couple of lovely coves just a few minutes from the hotel, and it is a lovely walk to Salou, discovering more lovely beaches along the way. I'd say it takes at least half an hour to walk to Salou (it took us longer, but we have young children and walked slowly). There is a bus stop round the corner from the hotel, and I think there are regular buses into Salou and La Pineda.
The rooms were small but not as cramped as I'd expected. All four beds were pushed together like a giant king-size btu, actually, this was okay. There was enough room to put our stuff, and it felt like there was enough space for us - maybe I would have felt different if we were there for more than a week. There were two chairs on the balcony, and we simply moved a table from the room outside when we wanted it. My husband though the beds were a bit hard, but I found it very comfortable and slept very well. The bathroom was a decent size, and we didn't have any problems with the shower - it was hot and didn't splash! The cleaning was done regularly and to a good standard.
We found the staff polite and helpful, though some were definitely friendlier than others. We generally found that when you are friendly and polite yourself, you get it back. (And yes, it does help to attempt a little Spanish - you are in Spain! Gracias goes a long way!) The way some clientele treated the staff, however, means you can hardly blame them from being grumpy sometimes.
The clientele are the main problem with this hotel - its price attracts certain people and this can have a big effect on your holiday. We saw kids running riot and climbing on the pool tables with no parental supervision, and teenagers hanging around at all hours. We didn't personally have any problems but I can imagine the hotel has a lot of trouble with some of its guests and who is staying near you could make or break your holiday. Towards the end of our week, there seemed to be more Spanish guests and less Brits and I must admit this made for a calmer holiday.
Other points:
If you have a hire car, don't pay for hotel parking (8 euros a day!) - there is plenty on-street, although maybe not outside the hotel.
We always go away in October half-term, so we are used to staying in a ghost town. But I would say Salou is the liveliest place we've ever been at this time of year - most of the shops, restaurants and bars were open and there were more people than we've ever seen in October. A drive though Cambrils suggested the same thing, although La Pineda was very quiet. I can't imagine how anyone found Tarragona empty - everything was open when we went, it was just like going to any other city, rather than a 'holiday resort'.
I thoroughly recommend Port Aventura at Halloween - if you have children, it's worth making the effort to bring a costume, as at least a third of the guests (including adults!) were dressed up - there was a great atmosphere and the queues were short, as it's not half-term in Spain. However, avoid 1 November, as this is a bank holiday in Spain, and the place was packed, with 2-hour queues.
Overall, there are a lot of things the hotel could do to improve, but this would involve spending money and putting the prices up - this may solve the clientele problem as well, of course, but it may also put the hotel out of people's price-reach. The bottom line is you get what you pay for. If you can't afford or don't want to spend much, then this is a good, basic hotel where you can have a good time as long as your expectations match your pocket. If you want more, then you have to be willing to pay for more - simple! Would I return? To Salou, definitely, although preferably when the children are older and can get more out of Port Aventura - and definitely out of season. To the hotel? Maybe - it depends what we can afford!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayObsessive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Where do I start at this dreadful place?
First we arrived with 3 young children around 11am to our room not ready and had to wait till 1pm one of our rooms smelled of raw poo so much so I refused to open the bathroom door meaning I never used the bathroom things ie toilet bath sink,meaning I had to always go to my other family members room,I told cleaner and staff to which nothing was done.
The food was dreadful mad 3 of our party poorly (sick) my son was sick and didn't make it to the loo so went on bed told reception but they wouldn't give us clean bedding so was made to not use the bed that night and had to sleep on floor ( well daddy did as was not gonna let a 8year old sleep on the cold floors )
Staff very rude except bar staff that was lovely to my kids oo and brian the kids entertainer
As for the loud noise from the children that think it is quiet ok to run along every floor resulting in keeping my baby awake right in to the early hours god knows we're the parents were?? To me it resembles a youth club and I'm no old fart I'm 29 and even I got pretty peed of with it as did a lot of guests but again hotel staff refused to do naff all
Washer dryer ruined my clothes
Food was same every day and was always reheated from morning to the evening meal
The hotel is no way near salou it self
The only time I saw security guard was drinking at the bar
Entertainment was shocking some days never turned up
Drinks was ok
To sum up my stay here I would say its a bag of poo that needs to be levelled to the ground

Room Tip: Don't stay at the hotel full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummySouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#50 of 93 in Salou
852 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#60 of 93 in Salou
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#54 of 93 in Salou
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
1.3 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#66 of 93 in Salou
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Molinos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Molinos Park

Property: H.TOP Molinos Park
Address: C/Bosc del Quec 1-9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Molinos Park 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H•TOP Molinos Park hotel is located in Salou, Costa Daurada and it is placed very close to the beach. The lively center of Salou is one kilometer away, while Portaventura Theme Park + Ferrari World and Land (opening April 2017) is within a 15-minute drive. The shops, bars and restaurants in the busy town center are just a short walk away. The classical 246-room provide many facilities and services for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel. It is situated at 95 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 15 Km from Tarragona – Reus Airport (REU). Salou was certified in 2003 as the first family tourism destination in Catalonia, certification granted by the tourist destinations that offer a high percentage of specialized services for families. and it is just seven miles south of Tarragona. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools • Sun terraces • Laundry room Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Hot tubs (4) Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities (common areas) • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes * • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Molinos Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Molinos Park Hotel Salou
Molinos Park Salou
Molinos Park Hotel Salou
h Top Molinos Park Salou
Hotel Molinos Park Salou
Hotel Molinos Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing