We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siesta Dorada Apartments
Ranked #31 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Leixlip, Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After reading some reviews here i didn't know what to think of here and was a bit worried as this was our first family holiday abroad but i wasn't let down. We were late arriving and knew i would have to get a taxi into town to pick up the keys, the staff in the restaurant on the complex rang a taxi for me and i was there and back in less than 20 minutes the taxi waited outside while i went in and got the keys (17 euro return), from reading on here i was also was prepared for the 100 euro deposit which i got back no problem, Anyone looking for a cheap and quite base this is the place for you. The apartment was clean and spacious but we only used it to sleep in as we spent the day out and about, they're in a great location away from all the noise with Salou center only minutes on the bus or the town of La Pineda the other way also only 5 minutes on the bus, bus stops beside the apartments. The swimming pool wasn't much but we didn't spend any time there during the day so that didn't bother me. The shop is only around the corner and the beach less than 10 minute walk. Found the staff at reception very helpful. The food in treasure island the restaurant on the complex was great and cheap and had the best of staff... Looking forward to going back again as myself and the family had a great time...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    5
    4
    12
See reviews for
36
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was quite wary over what it was going to be like once i'd seen the reviews on here, however I found Siesta Dorada to be fantastic; Very peaceful, quiet and clean. Rooms were fantastic and very spacious. Reception hours were awkward and we had to travel into the centre of Salou (10 euro in a taxi there, 10 back) to pick up the keys from a sister hotel. ALSO there is a 100 euro deposit that we had no idea about, but had no problem paying it. So please beware!

The gentleman who works in Treasure Island was very helpful and kind, I highly recommend that restaurant - lovely food and really reasonable prices.

Cap Salou seemed to be predominantly Spanish rather than the center of Salou which has a lot more english speaking staff in shops/restaurants etc.

Overall I didn't experience any of the problems that were mentioned on some of the reviews on here and we had a great holiday (our group ranged from 12-41 yrs of age). I'd recommend Siesta Dorada.

Room Tip: The quadruple rooms (sleeps 6, 2 bathrooms) are fantastic and on the ground floor too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stay at the siesta dorada apartment in salou. our coach driver drop us off at the wrong place ( a camp site) miles from our apartments.we had to get a taxi first to take us to a different hotel to pick up the keys then onto where we were staying. reception at the siesta dorada was closed. the apartment it self was good and clean. cant fault it. when we went to ask about printing our boarding passes for flight home the receptioist maria said no. when we ask to phone to confirm transfer back to airport she reluctantly lets us us the phone, then she proceeded to talk as loud as possible to i couldnt hear on the phone, we ended up going to hotel across the road who were very pleasant and helpful. on checking out she was standoffish. when our transfer didnt pick us up we went back to reception to us the phone to phone transfer company, once again we got attiude from her.after a second attempt to phone she wouldnt lets us use the phone, eventually after near begging she let me use the phone. once again she talked a loud as she could making it impossible to have a conversation. i had to tell her to be quiet. i was upset by her attitude toward me and my family. that one person has put me going back to salou for a hoilday. if you do stay at the siesta dorada the restaurant next door called treasure island was frist class, great service and lovely food, it made our hoilday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerhols64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

these appartments were the worst i have ever stayed in there were 6 of us staying for a week when we arrived we had to get a taxi into salou to get the key and check in because it was after 8pm, that cost me 16euro, the wole week was a disaster not once did we get clean towels, the swimming pool was filthy, there was a tv that had no chanels, the beach was a good 20 min walk also to the shops and bars, i think we were the only irish fanily staying there alot of the appartments were owned by spanish familys i would advise against staying here if u want a good family holiday its more like a retiement home

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dabarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Arrived late at night, with a party of 6 and was disappointed to be given a small apartment. We went to see the manager the next morning request another apartment and was told nothing else was available.
Other problems with the apartment were as follows;
a.The toilet was dirty, net curtains ripped and knotted together and very dirty
b.the outside terrace was dirty and looked like it hadn't seen a broom for a long time
c.The sofa bed in the living area was old and badly stained
d.Both fold-out beds were nasty ( my son refused to sleep on them); the extra blankets in the wardrobes were stained with food or 'whatever'
Most furnitures where broken, including -display cabinet, which lent to one side, bedside cabinet, dining table, wall tiles in the kitchen
f. For the duration of our stay (10 nights), no one came to clean
Despite all of the above and more, we had a fairly good holiday, making the most of what we had and spending as much time out as possible.
On a positive note, the kitchen was well equiped and the free aircon made all the difference on very hot days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizmc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

OK, when we arrived we found out about the 100 Euro deposit on the apartment. Bit of a shock, news to us. Apartment was pretty basic, but spacious - 2 double bedrooms and a sofa bed, bathroom with bath and shower, separate shower room and good size living room, kitchen and balcony. All clean as well. So far, so good.

However, we found the pool to be a letdown... kids were very restricted round the pool by the attendant lifeguard (and no, they were NOT running riot, nor would we let them as responsible parents - but children are usually allowed to JUMP into a pool and PLAY with a ball in a HOLIDAY pool). This was a common gripe with other families we spoke to staying the complex, to the extent some actively started avoiding the pool and went to the beach instead. It appears some of the complex is now privately owned, which explains the pool issues because residents seem to want a quieter life and management rules attempt to give them this... but those enforced rules are not altogether 'family friendly' though and are significantly more limiting than a lot of HOLIDAY POOLS (places to have fun rather than just lie beside or do a length or two?) in other complexes we saw around Salou on our travels. We also found some of the staff on the complex could have been a little bit more polite when dealing with our concerns on the issue. If you want a quiet pool for a holiday suntan session though, this is definitely for you.

The bar/restaurant 'attached' to the apartments was good, very friendly staff. MTV playing, but no real entertainment otherwise - but some nearby complexes didn't seem to mind 'entertainment visitors', if you chance your arm and walk on in.

Because of the pool issue we had to travel away a bit more and the complex is a bit more 'remote' than most, set back from the sea above Cap Salou. 10-15 mins walk (with kids) down to a lovely little beach in Cap Salou, or the La Pineda seafront were our preferred choices. Waterpark in LP very good, but be warned - pricy for the day - 88 Euro for 4 of us. Buses, well... nobody told us about the Plana multi-saver tickets, so we were paying 9-10 Euro one way to Salou/La Pineda a lot of the week, soon mounts up. Take note of that too!

Portaventura, absolutely great... height restrictions for small kids - they'll be fine on a lot of the smaller thrill rides if they're 1.10 and accompanied. Other thresholds are 1.20 (some rides have to be accompanied) and 1.40 for the very biggest rides. Still plenty for all ages to do, regardless of height.

To summarise - complex clean enough... but VERY QUIET and not much for small kids to do, especially with the pool issues described above. If you're travelling as adults or even a family with teenagers who can 'disappear' and entertain themselves, this will suit you a lot better and it would be fine for you. We enjoyed the week OK, but I don't think with small kids with us we'd go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BroxiBear1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
1.7 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#33 of 93 in Salou
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albatros Family
Albatros Family
#5 of 68 in Salou
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances
Pierre & Vacances
#3 of 68 in Salou
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Dorada Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Dorada Apartments

Property: Siesta Dorada Apartments
Address: Cr. La. Costa | Frente Faro, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Dorada Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siesta Dorada Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Dorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing