We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst appartments i ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siesta Dorada Apartments
Ranked #34 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Salou
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the worst appartments i ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

these appartments were the worst i have ever stayed in there were 6 of us staying for a week when we arrived we had to get a taxi into salou to get the key and check in because it was after 8pm, that cost me 16euro, the wole week was a disaster not once did we get clean towels, the swimming pool was filthy, there was a tv that had no chanels, the beach was a good 20 min walk also to the shops and bars, i think we were the only irish fanily staying there alot of the appartments were owned by spanish familys i would advise against staying here if u want a good family holiday its more like a retiement home

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dabarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    5
    4
    12
See reviews for
35
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Arrived late at night, with a party of 6 and was disappointed to be given a small apartment. We went to see the manager the next morning request another apartment and was told nothing else was available.
Other problems with the apartment were as follows;
a.The toilet was dirty, net curtains ripped and knotted together and very dirty
b.the outside terrace was dirty and looked like it hadn't seen a broom for a long time
c.The sofa bed in the living area was old and badly stained
d.Both fold-out beds were nasty ( my son refused to sleep on them); the extra blankets in the wardrobes were stained with food or 'whatever'
Most furnitures where broken, including -display cabinet, which lent to one side, bedside cabinet, dining table, wall tiles in the kitchen
f. For the duration of our stay (10 nights), no one came to clean
Despite all of the above and more, we had a fairly good holiday, making the most of what we had and spending as much time out as possible.
On a positive note, the kitchen was well equiped and the free aircon made all the difference on very hot days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizmc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

OK, when we arrived we found out about the 100 Euro deposit on the apartment. Bit of a shock, news to us. Apartment was pretty basic, but spacious - 2 double bedrooms and a sofa bed, bathroom with bath and shower, separate shower room and good size living room, kitchen and balcony. All clean as well. So far, so good.

However, we found the pool to be a letdown... kids were very restricted round the pool by the attendant lifeguard (and no, they were NOT running riot, nor would we let them as responsible parents - but children are usually allowed to JUMP into a pool and PLAY with a ball in a HOLIDAY pool). This was a common gripe with other families we spoke to staying the complex, to the extent some actively started avoiding the pool and went to the beach instead. It appears some of the complex is now privately owned, which explains the pool issues because residents seem to want a quieter life and management rules attempt to give them this... but those enforced rules are not altogether 'family friendly' though and are significantly more limiting than a lot of HOLIDAY POOLS (places to have fun rather than just lie beside or do a length or two?) in other complexes we saw around Salou on our travels. We also found some of the staff on the complex could have been a little bit more polite when dealing with our concerns on the issue. If you want a quiet pool for a holiday suntan session though, this is definitely for you.

The bar/restaurant 'attached' to the apartments was good, very friendly staff. MTV playing, but no real entertainment otherwise - but some nearby complexes didn't seem to mind 'entertainment visitors', if you chance your arm and walk on in.

Because of the pool issue we had to travel away a bit more and the complex is a bit more 'remote' than most, set back from the sea above Cap Salou. 10-15 mins walk (with kids) down to a lovely little beach in Cap Salou, or the La Pineda seafront were our preferred choices. Waterpark in LP very good, but be warned - pricy for the day - 88 Euro for 4 of us. Buses, well... nobody told us about the Plana multi-saver tickets, so we were paying 9-10 Euro one way to Salou/La Pineda a lot of the week, soon mounts up. Take note of that too!

Portaventura, absolutely great... height restrictions for small kids - they'll be fine on a lot of the smaller thrill rides if they're 1.10 and accompanied. Other thresholds are 1.20 (some rides have to be accompanied) and 1.40 for the very biggest rides. Still plenty for all ages to do, regardless of height.

To summarise - complex clean enough... but VERY QUIET and not much for small kids to do, especially with the pool issues described above. If you're travelling as adults or even a family with teenagers who can 'disappear' and entertain themselves, this will suit you a lot better and it would be fine for you. We enjoyed the week OK, but I don't think with small kids with us we'd go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BroxiBear1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

clean, friendly, secure apartments, close to the beach and pools

Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Travelled to Salou, nervous, having previously stayed in a Hotel with full board. Completley different holiday for the better. Apartments were clean, spacious and really ideal for the week. The gentleman at reception was extremely helpful regarding the area, just be mindful that reception opening hours are 9 -12 and 4 - 8pm. One area of improvement would be a change of towels during the week, however, there are a substantial amount of towels there initially. Bus service very good from apartment to Portaventura, Salou and La Pineada. Purchase a travel ticket at the beginning, this will save you money. Found some lovely restaurants, The Waterfall in La Pineada is class, great food, and excellent staff. Complements to Chef and all concerned. Uncle Sam's also good as with Chinese down the road from Uncle Sam's. Beach in La Pineada also excellent, very clean. Portaventura as good as ever, just be mindful of the height restrictions for children, must rides require a minimum height of 1.4m, and they are strict on this.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aklu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The staff at reception were unhelpful, rude and we had to make frequent trips to complain that we had no towels, no toilet paper and that no one would empty the bins. The appartment was one bedroom so two of us slept on the sofa very uncomfortably, the air conditioning didn't work and we couldn't open the windows because of the noise from other rooms full of spanish youths shouting and playing music til breakfast time and the smell of cannabis wafting in. The pool is fine, plenty of room for loungers but there is absolutely nothing to do in or around the hotel, no bar, no shop, nothing. We tried to spend as little time in the appartment as possible, using it only to sleep but we couldn't even do that, we were hot, uncomfortable and sleep deprived it really spoiled our holiday not having anywhere nice to rest in. This place is only good for gangs of teenagers who are too drunk to worry about noise and the heat

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We went to the siesta dorada apartments salou in July. 15 minutes from Rues airport by taxi cos us 45 euro for 6 of us. When we arrived I wasn,t overly impressed by the look of the exterior of the place but when we were shown our apatrment I was very impressed. We had 2 bedrooms with 2 beds in each room and a pull out sofa, 2 bathrooms and 2 showers a bath, good size living room, a well equipped kitchen a balcoy and good air conditioning. The pool was great, a good size and best of all not packed no problem getting a sunbed. The beach was 10 minutes walk and small. There was a restraunt and bar in the complex "treasure island" food and service very good although the bar was quite wasn,t much for kids to do. The area we stayed in was cap salou 15 minutes walk from La Pineda which has a lovely beach anda lovely resort. There is a bus stop outside the apartments which are cheap 1.80 euro. We got a travel pass in tobbaco shops which worked out at about 80 cents. We went to Portaventura I can only describe it as brilliant. We also went to Barcelona on aday trip, the bus company do a deal which includes a visit to the nou camp. We decided to take the train from Salou cheaper than the bus. We were unlucky to go on a Monday because all the museams were closed. I found the supermarkets expensive

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princegrounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.7 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#32 of 93 in Salou
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#40 of 93 in Salou
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances
Pierre & Vacances
#3 of 68 in Salou
659 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos Paradis Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Dorada Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Dorada Apartments

Property: Siesta Dorada Apartments
Address: Cr. La. Costa | Frente Faro, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Dorada Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siesta Dorada Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Dorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing