We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
4R Salou Park Resort I
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Salou park hotel and loved it! If you are looking for a trip to Europa Park, it is within walking distance! (20 minute walk) there is also a convieniant little land train that you can ride on to take you around salou and to the park at a small fee!

If you are looking to get away for a beach holiday, this hotel is perfect for you too! There is a little beach that the hotel overlooks that is perfect. Also a 5 minute walk away from the hotel is a lovely street full of palm trees with a lovely beach to watch the sunset!

The breakfast was of a very good standard offering a range of foods including a full english if wanted and a continental.

The staff were friendly and made sure you got what you wanted and most understood english.

The room that i stayed in was fantastic! It had a great view looking over the ocean and beach down below from our balcony! It had a homely feel about it which made the stay even more enjoyable!

My only problem was in October when we went, a lot of the shops were shut and locked away for the winter. But this is no fault of the hotel. I would love to return in the summer to visit this great town again!

Room Tip: If you do not book a room with a balcony, you will be placed in the bacment floors with now view out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 706 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

On a positive note the hotel was very comfortable, and the food was very nice with all of the students happy with the selection.
However there were many issues which cannot be overlooked and we feel need to be addressed as at times we felt our students could be in danger.
There was a blatant disregard for the security of children in the establishment, no curfew restrictions for noise control, inadequate screening of people wandering in from the street, slow response to emergency situations, and little to no night time patrol of corridors.
We were required to sit in the corridors all night to protect the doors of our students rooms. There were Spanish students on the same floor who were constantly partying for the 3 nights we stayed, and who banged doors all night, and harassed our students, on a number of occasions offering them vodka( at one time it was after breakfast) we complained to reception a number of times to no avail. There were a group of Donegal students above us who were actually worse, and whose teachers enforced very few restrictions on them. They flung wet toilet roll from balcony to balcony all night, prank called our students for 3 nights running, were knocking on doors and running off; this was on their floor when we went to see the source of the noise, and attended the Spanish students parties, where they drank. There was a student on our floor who came out of one such party and vomited in the corridor, and then sat in it, we checked on him and called security. Half an our later and no one had arrived. Again we went to reception, this time bringing the steward with us. The student was lying in his own vomit, totally out of it. On checking the students armband the 'security' man stated he wasn't even a guest of the hotel. This was on the same floor as 32 15 and 16 year old pupils.
I would never ever visit this hotel agin as it was a nightmare. All four leaders with our group returned exhausted from 4 nights of protecting our own pupils with little to no assistance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TGemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

my husband and i went on a short 4 night stay to this hotel for the money we paid it was good value, food was ok ive had better at other 4 stars . staff not very friendly or helpful, location good but this hotel is a 3 star everything done on the cheap!!, wont be going back in the summer season

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackierob62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I often stay in 4 star hotels and the photos for this hotel looked promising. Even when we walked into reception, things looked lovely. However, the receptionist was rude and did not greet us or explain where anything was or explain any of the facilities.


We arrived at our 1st floor room and were disgusted by the filthy carpets. We went into our room and were massively disappointed. The information booklet says the hotel was built in 1997, but everything feels so much older than that. I can deal with basic, but this was dirty, tired and neglected. The room appeared clean but on closer inspection, there was black hair everywhere. The sinks were filthy, the floors were hairy and the glass doors were smeary with broken mouldy seals.

The room itself was spacious enough but so very basic. We’d booked a twin room and got the obligatory two beds pushed together. The beds has 1 pillow which was flat (we went out and bought extra pillows because the reception were so unhelpful). The mattresses were stained and rock hard which made sleeping an impossible act. I’ve never been so pleased to get back into my own bed! If we could have left sooner, we would have!

The bathroom was fairly decent, except the cleanliness: the tiles had orange mould on the grout and the shower curtain was again orange. The shower WAS powerful and there is a nice big vanity unit. It was interesting (and gross!) to see the same black hairs being swept into different places on the floor each day!

We looked out onto another hotel’s pool, which was full of leaves and fast food packaging-, not quite the lovely Mountain View we had expected. The hotel’s own pool was tiny- I can’t imagine how all the guests would be able to use this had the hotel been fully booked. The photos look nice, but the photographer must have been balanced precariously on the edge to make it look so appealing!

The hotel does has a nice sun lounge, although there was a race for the window seats and clearly some Spanish regulars did not like us sitting in ‘their’ seats because if we did so, they would come and sit right next to us (at the same table) and talk loudly (bordering on shouting) until we felt forced to move.

I seem to recall there being spa facilities advertised, but we never found them or were told about them! Disappointing.

Another downside was the poor sound insulation. We could literally hear the conversations in the rooms on both sides of us. Unfortunately, we were placed on the same corridor as a large group of girls on a school trip. Whilst we had nothing against these girls, there were incredibly noisy. We asked at reception to be moved rooms and the chap there told us to try again the next day ‘because it was Sunday.’ Safe to say we never changed rooms!

The food was below average. It all looked appetising, but the choice was limited (2 dishes) and was of the poorest quality. Other 4 star hotels I’ve been in have far surpassed the offerings of this restaurant. The serving hatches/counters always had long queues with people pushing to the front in an annoying manner, fed up of waiting! The ‘show chef’ did no cooking that we saw and was used to carve meat into large serving trays. The poor waitresses looked harassed to death and never was a smile seen! The meat was cheap and fatty; the vegetables were limited and cold; the fish was full of bones and battered. It was ok, but below what I expect from a 4 star hotel. We had thought breakfast would be safe- how wrong we were! Greasy pastries, sweaty meat and cheese and frazzled eggs; toast it was every morning!

Salou itself was very nice. I was surprised by how pretty the town is, when I’ve heard bad things from other people. There are lots of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars and the coast/sea is pretty. I probably wouldn’t visit again, but if I did, this hotel would be bottom of the list! Steer clear!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank viablered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for the first week of September and were really happy with this hotel. All in our holiday was £400 and we were very happy with the standard of Salou Park Hotel.

It was very clean and close to a small cove/beach. The rooms were cool, the pool was immaculate and shower was great.

The only downside was it was slightly away from some of the main nightlife spots and larger restaurants but if you're looking for a family based place this is for you. Try the Irish bar for food on Carrer d'Amposta (just down the hill from the hotel) and Uncle Sam's for some serious portions of American diner food!

The resort of Salou is great for a lively holiday but could suit families too but watch out for pickpockets (I had my purse stolen)!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CountryBumpkin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here mid august was very clean balconey over looking the pool across the other hotel which was great as we paid an extra 30 pound to have a balconey view and not in the basement beach was a two minute walk which was great.

2  Thank NicoleC43
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked our Holiday to this Hotel 5 months in advance, we turned up and were given our room key, we were surprised to be told we had to go down a floor to find our room. When we got there we found that the room was average in size, but it was one of eight rooms in the entire hotel without a balcony, our window overlooked the staff car park and bin area. The beds were two singles pushed together, and very hard, we went back to reception to say it was not good enough to be told that we were basically stuck with it, and had to be dealt with by our travel company. The staff in the restaurant couldn't care less, all miserable, food was not great! Entertainment was very dated. Come midnight the staff were getting in their cars and departing, then the rubbish lorry came sometime between 00:30 and 01:30 to empty the bins and wake us up! In the morning breakfast was no better, nor were the staff. The maid would just enter your room unannounced, so there was no privacy. Satellite TV all in Spanish, all travel guides and leaflets were only in Spanish and Russian. It felt as though the English were not welcome. After 4 sleepless nights we checked out and found somewhere much better for the same cost. Just wished we'd done it sooner!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksmithh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
0.2 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#7 of 93 in Salou
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
4R Gran Regina
4R Gran Regina
#27 of 93 in Salou
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Salou Park Resort I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Salou Park Resort I

Address: C/ Amposta, 2, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salou
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $65 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Salou Park Resort I 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4R chain Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide range of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (before Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premim (paying) in all hotel. Close to the beach and Port Aventura. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 4R Salou Park Resort I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Salou
Salou Park Hotel
Hotel Salou Park
Park Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing