We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villamarina Club
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Salou
south shields
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

just arrived back on the 26th after a 2 week stay at the villa marina and our stay was fantastic. the rooms were a bit small, but u only sleep in them after all. they were cleaned every day. All the staff were fantastic, from the cleaners, entertainment staff up to management. The food was great, roast beef and yorkshire pudding on a sunday, apple pie and custard, steak pie, pork curry, need i go on. my children who were 10 and 6 cried when we had to leave, will defo be going back. Dont listen 2 the moaners. Keep up the good work villa marina.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santaclause10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Thank you for your honest opinion, it is great knowing you had a fantastic time here with us as it means a lot to the hotel and its staff who do work very hard to ensure you have a great holiday.
Thank you once again and wee look forward to having you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    740
    367
    178
    164
See reviews for
1,571
472
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Myself and my partner aged 23-35 have just spent 10 days at the Villamarina and would definately go back!
On arrival our room was ready and clean, it had a TV with English channels and a hairdryer (which you didn't have to pay a deposit for). The rooms are quite small but for the time you spend in them it doesn't matter. The room was cleaned every day by the maids who were all very friendly.
The food and all inclusive service was exellent with a variety of foods for everyone and a fresh joint of meat carved up every night at the back of the restaurant.
The hotel looked like it had a lot of activities for the children who all seemed to be enjoying themselves, we spent most of our time on the roof top terrace which has 2 jacuzis , plenty of sunloungers and nice chilled out music - sometimes with a live singer at night adults only.
The entertainment was good, the bejing acrobats were brilliant as were the queen tribute act and Game from 2008's X faxtor.
All the staff are great, especially the Assistant Manager who spent the majority of our last day helping us to sort out a problem with our transfers - resorthoppas' fault though!

Excellent holiday and would definately go back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Muchas gracias – It is nice to know that the hotel also caters for those travelling without any children, as even though we do have a lot of children in the hotel, we do like to offer something for everyone.
The roof top is a new addition to the hotel in 2009 which has proven to be a great success thank you for your comments and we would look forward to having you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Just returned from a fabulous one week stay at Villamarina. On arrival our room wasn't ready for an hour but we were able to take advantage of the all-inclusive immediately. The food was excellent with a good choice each day, fresh salads, soups, chicken, roast beef, pork, salmon. mussels, pasta dishes...need I go on? The only thing missing in our opinion was cheese and biscuits as we don't eat sweets, but when we told the asst manager this, he made a note and I feel confident he will act upon it.
The spirits were very generous measures and we were never kept waiting long at the bar ( each person is allowed 2 alcoholic and 2 soft drinks at any one time). drinks are served in plastic glasses but you soon get used to that.
The rooms are average size and kept very clean by the hardworking staff who were always very pleasant. We had aircon and a hairdryer in the room which I wasn't expecting. The entertainment was of a good standard and we were able to escape the kids hour at night up on the adults only rooftop solarium. This is definitely the best part of the hotel and was what encouraged us to book in the first place.
My husband won the Karaoke but felt that a lot of time was wasted by 4 of the staff singing which meant less time for guests to take part....it should be restricted to the guests.
The fact that the terrace area is cleared of guests at 12.30am each night meant that we were able to get a good night's sleep. The whole of the outside area was kept very clean and food from the snack bar could only be eaten in that area.
All in all we had a great week made even better by friends arriving to surprise us and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibbleCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review your comments are much appreciated, we look forward to seeing you again in the possible future
We will speak with the entertainers with regards to the Karaoke as customers firstly should have their chance and apologies for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Marina last wk,would def reccommend this hotel,the food was excellent,great cocktails,and some amazing night time entrtainment shows,especially the spectacular Acrobatic show and also the Queen Tribute band.I have been to lots of hotels worldwide which provide pathetic so called night time entertainment but this hotel is quiet the opposite,its up there with the best of them,hence the reason why the large seated entertainment area(inside and outside) was packed most nights.
The adult only rooftop solarium,with 2 jacuzzi's,bar,(live music some nights)with ample loungers and seating which is open daily until 11.30pm,is brilliant,its so relaxing away from the normal activities of hotel life.
All staff and managemnt were very approachable and helpful.
Hotel located away from downtown hussle and bussle,which is 15min walk away,(10min beach),courtesy bus to beach provided daily.
Only slight complaint we had with the hotel was that the beds were quiet hard and uncomfortable,room was small but v clean with excellent(silent) air con.
We will def. return to this hotel again.Top class for value sun holiday location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
It gives the hotel great satisfaction knowing we are offering a product and service our customers are looking for.
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the Villamarina
Your comment re the beds will be looked in to and where possible changes will be made, we hope this did not cause you too many sleepless nights

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Just got back from this hotel with my girlfriend, we are aged 26 and 22. Can't believe some of the negative comments about the hotel, we can't have a bad word to say about it. The food is fantastic so much variety and great English food including a roast dinner one night. The entertainment is fantastic so much going on day and night and the entertainment staff work so hard. A professional show on every night. The rooms are quite small but for the amount of times you’re in there who wants a massive room. Nice and quiet, TV with English channels. Free transport to town every night at midnight and taxi back is about 6/7 Euros. Great nightlife in Salou and some really good places playing English music. The beach is about 10 minutes walk and is an amazing beach. Great resort, great hotel and great holiday. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for writing your comments, it is great to know we also appeal to couples and not just families, as we are a very family orientated hotel but try to offer something for everyone.
Thank you once again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

the staff and mangerment where great ,food was fantastic , entertment for kids and adults was great ,gone back next year .if you go with kids they will be in pools and kids corner every day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizoliver36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Muchas Gracias from everyone here at the Villamarina , your comments are much appreciated and it gives us great pleasure knowing you had a good holiday here with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We just returned from 1 week here (staying in the apartments), and I have 2 teenagers and 1 child. First, the pros....apartment room was very clean. Maid service excellent. Entertainment staff was very energetic - my daughter loved Hannah!
Cons: False advertising.....there is no TV in the apartments. We asked the front desk about this and were told that they were "working on" getting digital TV in the rooms. I rechecked the hotel website when I got home and it DOES list TV in the apartments. The website also lists air conditioning and hairdryer as room amenities; what isn't mentioned is that you have to pay a deposit for the A/C remote and the dryer. We've stayed in several resorts throughout Europe, and this is the first time I've had to pay a deposit to get an A/C remote. To the staff's credit, they gave me the remote without the 50 Euro deposit when I complained, which was good service; however, we never received a hairdryer for the remaining (5 days) we were there. The water pressure was terrible, and we did ask if maintenance could check it to make sure it wasn't all the limestone buildup in our showerhead - not sure if they ever came by or not but the problem wasn't resolved.
We were also disappointed in the food at the hotel - it is very redundant (virtually the same menu day after day), and often lukewarm/cold. There is a single microwave, which we found after about 3 days, to warm/heat your food. Finding clean plates was another issue - about every 3rd plate had food still stuck to it.
The staff didn't appear to be very well informed about the events in the area. The schedule we received showed a parade for St. Joan's festival; when my husband asked about it, we were told that there were fireworks on the beach and no parade. So we went down to see the fireworks (leaving our camera in the rooms, b/c we didn't want fireworks pictures) and there WAS a really neat parade - for which we didn't have our camera. That was a huge disappointment. We relied on the staff, since we had limited computer access. It cost WAY too much to use the internet - 1 Euro for 10 minutes...the highest rate I've ever paid for internet at any hotel. Lastly, we noticed there was a scale by the front desk to weight bags for the airlines, which we thought it was very nice...until we saw the 1 Euro pricetag. Very tacky.
So, just know all of these things in advance, so you won't be surprised, and decide from there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeTourG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for expressing your opinion and knowledge to potential guests to the Villamarina, your comments re the false advertising will be looked in to.
The TV’s have just had to remove due a problem with the digital connection we are hoping to have this resolved soon. Please accept our apologies you was not aware of the deposit for the A/C as this is to ensure these are returned as are very difficult to replace.
The hair dryer is amenities advertised for the hotel rooms and not the apartments on our web page, however I do apologies you never received one of these from reception and this will be addressed directly with them.
Please accept my apologies with regards to the lack of information on the fiesta I know information was requested from the town hall which we never received however this does not excuse our lack of knowledge and again will be addressed with head of reception
Thank you once again for all your comments and apologies you was not advised of this before you arrived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
2.5 mi away
Festival Village
Festival Village
#11 of 93 in Salou
1,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
2.3 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#71 of 93 in Salou
1,871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villamarina Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villamarina Club

Property: Hotel Villamarina Club
Address: Carre Ciutat De Reus, 42, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Villa Marina Club)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villamarina Club 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Marina is a friendly family orientated hotel offering all inclusive holidays for families to enjoy and not have to worry about entertainment, food and drink for the duration of your stay. Everyone can relax and enjoy the facilities of 2 swimming pools, one with child section, adults only rooftop solarium with Jacuzzis, buffet style restaurant, snack bar, Play Park for the children, outside cinema screen, large terrace and bar area. Our resident English Speaking Entertainers are here for you 7 days a week keeping all the family entertained day and night, and to give you that little bit extra in your evening entertainment we have external, professional shows, to add to your all inclusive package. To ensure our customers have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday the entertainment and bar finish at 00.00 This friendly 3* all inclusive hotel is only 15 minutes away from Reus Airport, 10 minutes away from the Port Aventura theme park and a 10 minute walk to the beach giving you the ideal holiday base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villamarina Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villamarina
Villamarina Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing