We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villamarina Club
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family friendly hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villamarina for 10 days with Thomas Cook. Our stay didn't get off to the best start. Having arrived after an early morning flight ,we had to wait for over two hours for our rooms to be ready . When we eventually were given our room it turnedout to be a reasononably modern room although very small. The bathroom had a toilet,shower and a half size bath.the wash basin in the main room! There were no tea/coffee Making facilities and no fridge. There is also shortage. of elctrical sockets in the room . One socket aboce the sink and another nearthe door , none at all nearthe bed or dressing table. Also one of our rooms had broken air conditioning throughout our stay. The rooms were cleaned daily.

The food was OK, if a little lacking in variety, the day time snacks especially so. The hotel seemed to cater fir the british pallatte.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quite away from the beach but close to shops. However a free shuttle service was offered.

The entertainment was excellent with very hard working staff and a good standard of shows in the evening. The hotel has two very small pools neither of which were cleaned during my stay as far I could tell. There was a lack of sun loungers for the number guests catered for. The early birds usually bagged the loungers long before breakfast.

I was disappointed that the hotel didn't provide free wi-fi . This could be purchased on an hourly,daily or weekly basis. It cost a staggering 28 Euros for a week and only worked on a single device!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liverpool_marine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Great to read that you enjoyed our entertainment programme and the food. We are a 3 star hotel so the extra items in the rooms that you mentioned you missed - fridges, tea and coffee making facilities generally you get these items in 4* or 5* properties. Apologies that the air conditioning in one of your rooms was not working. I am sure our maintainance team would have repaired it had you brought it to our attention.
Our current wifi charge is in line with most hotels in Salou at 2 euros and hour or cheaper the more hours you buy. 28 euros for the full week is 4 euro a day which is the going rate in Salou hotels. However thank you for the feedback that you found this cost to be high. We do take your feedback seriously it is important to us and we do listen and try to improve our guests overall experience. We hope that you will choose the Villamarina again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    728
    362
    173
    153
See reviews for
1,539
465
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Marina from 20.7 -2.8. and I was dubious after reading some of the reviews but although its not the poshest hotel I have ever stayed in I would go back again. The food was amazing plenty of choices and variety. The entertainment staff where fantastic Sam, Amy, Danielle and Vicky were brilliant with the kids and the banter with the adults was great as well. There was plenty for the adults to do, quizzes, shooting, darts and bingo it was all good fun. The place does shut at 12 but if you do want to continue on there are free taxi's to Chaplins where there is more entertainment. The roof top solarium which is adult only is a bit of heaven for a little escape. My only complaint was that one of the pools was a very chlorinated and it did sting your eyes a bit. Other than that it was a great place to stay and I would recommend it and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for the positive review its great to read that you enjoyed our food and entertainment. The entertainers do work very hard making sure all our guests are having a good time. I will be sure to pass on your remarks to them. Thank you for reccomending us and we do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the villamarina and although first impressions we were a bit dubious, we could not find any fault at all - we had a great time and all of the staff were helpful and friendly even the security guards, who I mentioned to that the toilet lock was a bit stiff and they fixed it straight away. Even the cleaners were there constantly making sure every where was clean and tidy.

The entertainment was great and there was so much going on - well done and thank you to Danielle, Vicki, Amy and Sam who were brilliant with the kids and adults entertainment. We went to Chaplins on the first night and wondered what we had been roped into taking kids - but it has good entertainment and is child friendly until 2am - Jamie was great!

The food was very good and we were pleasantly surprised - especially that they have English sausages!!!!!

The pool areas were a bit tight with the sun beds but we always managed to get one - even though some people put towels on them in the morning and didn't come back until 5pm!!! The balconies are a bit disappointing as so small but not really important.

Overall a great holiday and only 20 min walk to the beach and centre of Salou. We would definitively come back but would probably get a 2 bed room. Thanks all keep up the good work xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suznjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the FIVE STAR REVIEW. We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. The cleaners work very hard to try to keep the place clean and tidy and its great that you noticed this. Thanks for the personal mentions for the entertainment team. It is always very motivating when they get a personal mention. I will be sure to print out your review so they get to see it. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from hotel stayed 26 July till 2 August 2013
After reading early reviews thought we had made a big mistake
how wrong we were !!!
Brilliant hotel !!! rooms were great and cleaned every day with fresh towels if needed
had two great pools to choose from one with snack bar serving a good selection of burgers,pizzas,chips etc. and bar serving wide selection of drinks
Entertainment was great not only for the kids but also did great shows for the adults
Hotel staff were so helpful in every respect giving great advise on where to go and how to get there with main train station just 10 mins away and various bus stops on street either side of hotel
Cant work out what people had to complain about we had great time and had no problems at all
WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF AT HOTEL AND THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR STAY AT YOUR HOTEL SO GOOD !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MILFORD p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Muchas gracias for the FIVE STAR review. Delighted to read that you and your family had a great stay with us. It was our pleasure having you here and we do hope that you will return sometime in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently stayed in the Villa Marina for a week 18th-24th July with my son (12yrs) and my partner. This was the second time I have stayed here and still can't complain about anything specific regarding the hotel itself.
The staff from reception, bar, entertainment, dining area were all 100% professional and friendly at all times. Jessie at the poolside bar had time for everyone and always had the craic with guests. Most of the the staff are the same as two years ago which is a good thing.
Poolside sun loungers a little bit cramped for space but you can't really complain at peek season.
The rooftop terrace is absolute bliss, chill out, enjoy a drink and be kid free if you can!!!
The food is really good, always a great choice and the show cooking is a bonus every evening having a different roast dinner each day. Even the most fussiest eaters would find it hard to complain.
Great bar down the road, The New York has free wifi and very cheap beer (incase you get tired of the plastic cups) €1 a pint and pool is also only €1 too.
Overall a great holiday, we met some lovely families and all the kids got on together from the first day which makes your holiday that bit more relaxed when they're happy.
One last thing, I really have to thank Monica in the hotel for all she did for us when our transfer to the airport didnt turn up when we were going home. She rang the company, sorted it all out and stayed with us until they picked us up an hour late!!! She was very helpful, and even let us go back in for dinner while she waited outside the hotel for our transfer pickup!!! Much appreciated.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the FIVE STAR review. It is very motivating when customers comment on the performance of our staff. We pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service and I am delighted to read that you agree we deliver. It is peak season at the moment as you mention but there are sunbeds free when I do my afternoon walkabout. Some people prefer the beach or the Upstairs roof Solarium. We are a very sociable hotel and its easy to make friends here. I will be sure to show this review to Monica and send her your thanks. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel: clean, tidy and the reception staff and management were amazingly helpful.
The entire entertainment team were amazing, friendly and there were something to do everyday from 11-4 which was a really good thing because you would never get bored....the entertainment for both the children and adults was brilliant and the evening entertainment was the best we've ever had at any of our holidays.
The restaurant offerings was amazing, there was something different to eat everyday, giving people who are fussing eaters something to eat including both soups, mains and desserts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks a million for the FIVE STAR review. It means a lot to us to know that your family enjoyed our food and entertainment. We do hope that you and your family will return sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent a week at the villamarina hotel arriving and on the 13/7/13 we were 2 adults and 3 children  aged 9, 7  and 5.  Have to say for a 3star hotel it was very good value. This is a family hotel and the children are made very welcome and every effort is made to ensure they have a good time. The entertainment team are brilliant, with both kids and adults, they worked endlessly!!! 
The food was ok, we could always find something to eat and never went hungry, and the dinning room staff were very friendly. We had rooms with no balcony, above the disco. They were clean and not a bad size, you don't go on holiday to sit in your room anyway. At midnight the entertainment stops, we had no problems with noise from other guests, I fact we all slept really well.
This hotel is "What it says on the tin" A good value 3star hotel. The only thing that did drive us mad, was the €1 machines around the bar area, our kids wasted most of their holiday money and some of ours in them!!! However, it would not stop us from returning there or recommending it. 

Room Tip: Room 200, above the bar but a fair size and good air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martsonshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the entertainment and the food during your stay with us. We do offer great value All Inclusive Family holidays. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
2.5 mi away
Festival Village
Festival Village
#11 of 93 in Salou
1,482 reviews
2.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villamarina Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villamarina Club

Property: Hotel Villamarina Club
Address: Carre Ciutat De Reus, 42, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Villa Marina Club)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villamarina Club 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Marina is a friendly family orientated hotel offering all inclusive holidays for families to enjoy and not have to worry about entertainment, food and drink for the duration of your stay. Everyone can relax and enjoy the facilities of 2 swimming pools, one with child section, adults only rooftop solarium with Jacuzzis, buffet style restaurant, snack bar, Play Park for the children, outside cinema screen, large terrace and bar area. Our resident English Speaking Entertainers are here for you 7 days a week keeping all the family entertained day and night, and to give you that little bit extra in your evening entertainment we have external, professional shows, to add to your all inclusive package. To ensure our customers have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday the entertainment and bar finish at 00.00 This friendly 3* all inclusive hotel is only 15 minutes away from Reus Airport, 10 minutes away from the Port Aventura theme park and a 10 minute walk to the beach giving you the ideal holiday base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villamarina Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villamarina
Villamarina Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing