We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and even better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villamarina Club
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2nd time 8th june for 2 weeks, ill put it simple stayed here with family wife and 2 kids the food was very nice hot and lots to choose from the bar was good think the beer was weak as i did not even feel tipsy at the end of the night but saying that some familys that stayed there this was a good thing, entertainment staff work very hard and sam was very funny always had time for you but all did a very good job the rooms where small but very clean hotel staff where very help full we love this hotel and will return again if your looking for a family type hotel with lots of kids good food and entertainment and good staff who have time for you then villa marina is for you, if your looking for 5 star then keep away. Ps thank you villa marina for yet another 1st class holiday you all work so hard to ensure this thanks again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thanks a lot for the positive review. Its great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Glad you enjoyed the food and the entertainment and we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villamarina Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,303 - 1,309 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was a little wary when we were told that the 2 bed apts were off site. No need. they were 2 minutes walk away which turned out perfect as they were really quiet, clean and a great size, with 2 bed rooms, a living with sofa bed and seperate kitchen and toilet all off our own hallway
The food was really good with a different choice each meal time and each day.
There was even a 'showbar,on which extra things like beef and tuna were cooked different every day
the pool was clean,and around it was continually cleaned
The reception were friendly and very helpful, even sorting our golf trip out with transfers and a discount
The entertainment staff were really cheerful
beer and pop was cold and free flowing
we were also 5 minute walk from the train station where it is an hour and 16 euros per person to Barcelona
10 minute stroll to salou beach
There are events every hour all day for the kids and older ie rifle shooting, killer pool, face painting, table tennis - excellent
The only complaint i have got is that the bingo is slow,but i think they have to do that while the nightly live acts are getting ready ha ha
all round excellent time for us and the kids
ps go on the left message chair as you look at them and realise why it is called the thruster lol

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for the positive review its very motivating to the team to know that you are your family enjoyed your stay in the two bed apartments. They are perfect for families as they offer lots of useable space but you still get the All Inclusive package which is super value. Thanks for the compliments about the food too. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I will start by saying that this Hotel is clean, the all inclusive drinks are OK, the food is good and even the entertainment bearable. However some of the people there really let the place down for us. We spent 8 days there at the start of June school holiday, a family of 4 with our two children aged 11 and "nearly Eight".

I'm Sorry to say that we couldn't wait to get home. Many people left their children to run riot whilst they sat at the bar getting drunk from 12 midday until the bar closed at midnight. The noise then went on until after 1:30 nearly every night. The kids language was appalling, not what most children are used to.

I did read the reviews prior to going and new it would be a "cheap and cheerful" place and the rooms were small and cramped but that was expected. Some of the people it attracts were awful.

Even being sprayed with water pistols is not that bad the first few times, but after the 20th occasion and not by your own kids becomes a little irritating. The pools were too small for the amount of people and by the afternoon were full of greasy sun cream.

On our first day out of the 42 sunbeds by one pool only 3 were not taken by towels and we were the only people there! The next day the lifeguard took all of the towels off the beds as there should be no reservations. This resulted in a full on fight using vile Language between a party from Yorkshire and one from Manchester who thought their loungers had been stolen. One night we even witnessed a man assaulting his wife and smashing up his hotel room whilst we sat on the balcony.

It's a shame because Salou itself is a nice clean place with a wonderful beach and the Hotel is nice friendly, clean and good value. But it is like the comedy show Benidorm...... except not funny!

I'm afraid never again!

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant have the best balconies but are still small.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

To start by replying to your points about the actual hotel itself.
We are happy to read that you found the hotel to be clean and that you enjoyed the food and the entertainment.
Im going to refrain from responding to your comments about the "type" of guests and parenting styles as I dont wish to pass comment or judge people. All our guests have worked hard for this holiday and are here to enjoy themselves which we try to facilitate.

What we do offer at the Villamarina is very good value, friendly, All inclusive holidays.
It seems that it was the hotel clientelle that was not to your taste.

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and its facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hi
We visited Hotel Villa Marina April 23rd for 1 week for my Dads 60th Birthday - we have visited the hotel the past couple of years and i can honeslty say everytime i have been i have absolutley loved it. There was 14 of us total which included 3 children aged 2, 7 and 9.
the only let down of the holiday was the rain we had 5 out of 7 days of rain but the hotel staff and entertainment staff did an absolultey amazing job keeping the children and adults entertained. The RJP entertainment staff never stopped all day, as we say as long as the kids are happy we are!!!

this was the first time we stopped in the Apartment part of the hotel and ive got to admit i love my sleep , the apartments were quiet at night and in the afternoon! Its only a very short walk.

The hotel staff are friendly and polite, the hotel could do with being updated but the rooms and hotel was clean constantly !

the food was fantastic and quite a large variety , it was always fresh and cooked and hot every meal time - ive got to admit the snack bar gets a little bit repetative but for what we paid for the holiday how could we moan - as it says its a 'snack bar' not their for your main meals!

My dad was 60 whilst we were there and all the staff made his birthday - we all absolutley loved it and have just booked to return in September 2013.

all in all the hotel is a fantastic 'cheap' hotel to stay in. i have stayed in 5+ star hotels and the food drink and service come no where near this hotel!!

to all the negative comments - IF YOU WANT 5 STAR PAY 5 STAR!!!

see you in September 2013!!!!

Ps to the lady with the negative comments below i am Northern, i have no tattoos and i do not smoke !!!! I also do not come from an estate such as shamless!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Yeee haaaa another 5 star review.

Its great to read reviews from our loyal army of repeat customers who come back time after time. It shows that we are doing it right.We agree with you about the food and service being of a higher than 3* quality we do offer very good value family holidays. The kids are kept busy all day long and its a very sociable hotel with lots of children making friends around the pool etc. Look forward to seeing you again in September, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'd just like to state that this is the first review I have ever written so I might not be that good ha! Me and my boyfriend (23yrs old) stayed at this hotel for one week. I'll give the good and bad points and will be as honest as I can (I'm not snobby, I appreciate for the price it was actually OK).

When we arrived we were out in a double room, however it didn't have a balcony. They asked if we would like to see a room with a balcony so we agreed. If you get the option, don't choose a balcony!! They are so small you can't even put a chair on them and the only ones with balcony's are with twin beds. We chose the double room without a balcony so we didn't have to push our beds together, we also had a full sized bath (which the majority dont) and a shower attached to the wall. The shower curtain is hung on by a small piece of metal and did fall down once but it wasnt a major issue. You also have to turn the plugs in the opposite direction to get hot water? rather strange!

Anyway it is very clean, the reception staff, waiters/waitresses and cleaners are brilliant. Always gave us clean towels etc and helped whenever they could.

The only reason I wouldn't go back is the following;

1. KIDS! There are absolutely hundreds and millions of children ha. I like kids and didn't think it would be a problem (I knew it was a family hotel to start with) but I really did not expect that there would be that many. There is a roof terrace which is a god send, but there is no pool upstairs. Obviously it gets really hot on the roof and I like a pool to cool down, but the only thing available is a HOT jacuzzi. Not really ideal when you're already boiling!! If you are a couple it will really drive you insane so please think about booking somewhere else.. Because the 2 pools downstairs are so so overcrowded with children it is impossible to spend more than 5 mins there without being shot at with a water pistol, splashed, pushed in, the lot lol.

2. It is quite a trek from the centre of Salou. It is only around 20 minutes but after a night out its quite a way to walk (if you've had a few too many) and it costs between 8-9 euros to get back.

3. The all inclusive alcohol is absolutely terrible. I must have had about 18 cocktails and it didn't even touch me! Once you're in the centre it is stronger alcohol but its about 5 euros per drink. The drinks you get free, spirits or beers are so weak you may aswell drink fanta! The food however is brill, so much to choose from and its really nice too!

Anyway hope it helps, couples if I was you I would avoid! xx

Room Tip: Pick a double room without a balcony, the balconies are pointless and it also means that you aren...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Glad to read that you found hotel to be clean, our staff to be friendly, and that you enjoyed the food. For those travelling without children the roof top solarium with its own bar does offer a nice tranquil area.
The All Inclusive alchol is "house" spirits which as a rule are a lower alchol content we do have a range of "premium" spirits available at a small supplement if there is a particular strength or brand someone likes. We are 3 * Family focused, All Inclusive hotel. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I travelled (all - inclusive) to Villamarina with my partner, her son and daughter in law, her two grandchildren and her youngest son on Monday 10th June 2013. i had read previous reviews about the hotel. i have to state that whilst the hotel may be slightly outdated it was spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful. The menu was varied and the food was excellent. i had read about guests highjacking sun loungers but i can assure anyone that the hotel staff regulalry trawl the pool areas and remove towels from vacant loungers. Whilst the hotel largely catered to families i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The price for the stay was competive and very worthwhile.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thanks a million for the 5* review. It really means a lot to us to know that you and your family had a great stay with us. The food is great here like you say, plenty of choice and variety. There are plenty of sunbeds and the towels do get taken off if anyone looks like they are not using the sunbeds. Nice to read that you would reccomend us and that you found us to be great value for money. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back one day in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just come back from the Villamarina, There were 12 of us in our party , 8 x adults and 4 x children , We arrived on the Saturday night at 8.15.pm, And went to check in one of the reception staff was very nice and said park your cases and go to the restaurant before it closes
,Which was a nice touch, However when it came to checking in my brother in law who has a 7 month old baby found out they had no cot down on his booking , We could hire one for 36 euros! well we had to that but we were not happy about it.
On entering three of our rooms we were hit with some of the most depressing rooms I have seen
no balcony just a window over the bar looking at the an air con unit wasn't happy at all.

We complained to be told that they might have a change of room for us on the Tuesday,
we went back and they changed the rooms for 10 euros per family but I was happy to pay it as we had much better rooms .

Now the rooms are not fantastic, 3 x small single beds , a sink in the bedroom,small tv,mirror,
and a small sliding wardrobe, Bathroom is a joke , sliding door opens up to the toilet which is right against the bath ( I say bath more like a large sink) which has an overhead shower .
room has air con which was good, There are 2 x pools both small with inadequate sunbed areas packed in like sardines, the larger of the pools has a small bar and this was where the snack bar was located .. burgers ,fish fingers,chicken nuggets ,chips etc.,This opened at 12.00.pm every day and was ok dont expect wonderful.

There is a large indoor bar area with lots of tables and chairs a small stage and dance floor ,
also in here are lots of arcade type games and pool tables, the bar is quite small you have to line up for your drinks but can only get 2 x alcohlic drinks and 2 x soft drinks at a time, which is a pain as the beer comes in little plastic cups which means your back and to all night .There is a rooftop terrace for adults only with 2 x Jacuzzis ,music playing and a bar ,very nice up there.

The entertainment staff tried there very best but to be honest its like haven in the sun,Bingo,darts,sometimes an act on at night we did see a very good temptations group to be fair.

The food in the restaurant is quite good plenty of choice , Breakfast is ham,cheese rolls, the usual fayre really , But coming to the end of the week there must have been more people at the hotel and if you didnt get in early you had to wait which isnt on .

The hotel is way out in the old part of Salou , its a good 25 minute walk into the centre , the hotel do a free bus at certain times which helped , When in the centre we found a great bar called Danny boy a lovely irish place strongly reccomend it.

All in all we had a good time but we made a lot of fun ourselves ,its not the ritz nor is it the pits,if you go expecting classy you'll be disappointed , would we go again ? no never.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdazwrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
2.5 mi away
Festival Village
Festival Village
#11 of 93 in Salou
1,532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,056 reviews
2.3 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#72 of 93 in Salou
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villamarina Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villamarina Club

Address: Carre Ciutat De Reus, 42, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Villa Marina Club)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $79 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villamarina Club 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Marina is a friendly family orientated hotel offering all inclusive holidays for families to enjoy and not have to worry about entertainment, food and drink for the duration of your stay. Everyone can relax and enjoy the facilities of 2 swimming pools, one with child section, adults only rooftop solarium with Jacuzzis, buffet style restaurant, snack bar, Play Park for the children, outside cinema screen, large terrace and bar area. Our resident English Speaking Entertainers are here for you 7 days a week keeping all the family entertained day and night, and to give you that little bit extra in your evening entertainment we have external, professional shows, to add to your all inclusive package. To ensure our customers have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday the entertainment and bar finish at 00.00 This friendly 3* all inclusive hotel is only 15 minutes away from Reus Airport, 10 minutes away from the Port Aventura theme park and a 10 minute walk to the beach giving you the ideal holiday base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villamarina Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villamarina
Villamarina Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing