We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villamarina Club
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Friendly hotel, staff always ready to help. Plenty to drink and eat, animation team fab, would recommend a week here great value for money. Clean rooms and modern rooms, with english TV channels

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annm1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,022 - 2,028 of 2,663 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

If you are looking for a well-priced break in the sun for your family, this is the place to go to. All the staff, from the cleaners right up to the entertainment, reception and management are incredibly efficient, friendly and helpful.
The children's entertainment is good enough; this isn't a Disney resort. It is a resort targeted at those travelling on tight funds. Therefore there isn't a massive budget. During the day there are things like colouring in, pasta faces and poolside fun. At night the ever energetic Hannah leads the kids through a couple of dances before taking them away like the pied-piper to watch a DVD whilst the adults get some time to enjoy the evening show. For the teens, there is water polo, killer pool, darts, table tennis and basketball tournaments. The pool was particularly competitive with one of the days sounding like a football stadium.
The evening shows were better than I expected, with Angels & Demons, the hypnotist and the Queen tribute deserving special mention. Even the karaoke night was brilliant, with the receptive audience joining in the sing song with even the poorest singers. All the entertainment staff work really hard and are always ready to help with a smile.
The place was always immaculate, there was plenty of food choices, all nice and warm and very well made. There were carvery choices as well every night, and the desert cakes were lovely, light and fresh. The manager is always walking about and available to talk to if you have any concerns. You don't get that in many places. We had an apartment which was a few minutes walk from the resort, but being located in a quieter area we got plenty of rest. The beds were pretty comfortable, the shower was wonderfully powerful; there was also a washing machine in the apartments, which was a blessing!!
I cannot praise this place highly enough. The fact so many people return every year is testament in itself.
My family want to thank all the staff for a wonderful stay. A fantastic resort, excellent staff and well-priced for a tight budget. If that is what you are after then go. As long as you are realistic in your expectations, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottng15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The hotel is a 3 star establishment - and an typical 3 start hotel is what it is -far enough out of the town to enjoy the quiet but close enough for a nice walk in- food was reasonably good with at least one welcome option for EVERYONE at every meal - well organised - well run - well managed- never had to ask for anything as it was always readily available - roof top terrace a must for adults - but defo a great hotel if you have kids. Pools were small and usually overcrowded - but the atmosphere was warm and friendly - we were a couple in our 50's and found it a tad too noisy for us. The entertainment was non stop and all the children were well catered for with lots of clubs games etc -still a good choice hotel if you are looking a low cost holiday break with a bit of music or a show in the evening.

Room Tip: low cost good holiday hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndabraidenmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Our kids first abroad holiday, aged 11, two 8 year olds and a 3 year old. We all loved every minute of it, friendly, helpful staff, great entertainment, friendly atmosphere, good value for money. Always lots for the kids to do, computers, playstation room, pool tables, kids club, play park and of course the lovely pools. This time of year the pools are cold but this didn't bother our kids, they even swam in the rain, made lots of friends and said it was their best holiday ever. My husband and I actually felt rested from this holiday as the kids had so much to do. The hotel felt safe for our kids. The food was lovely and lots of choice for the fussiest of eaters. The tables were quickly cleaned ready to eat and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Night time entertainment was lots of fun and varied. Will visit again and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karenlambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This hotel is brilliant really good from start to finish the hotel rooms are small but for the amount of time your in them its not a problem the hotel staff are really good the cleaners clean your rooms everyday the entertaiment staff are really good keeping you entertained all day with bingo and quizzes day and night then darts,pool and volley ball through day and tribute acts and other entertaiment tom,cassie,hannah are the entertaiment team .
The food at this hotel is amazing there is loads of choice from chips burgers to fresh cavary dinners there is also plenty of snacks throught day and night . The manager and manageress are available everyday and very friendly if you need anything there always on hand all the staff are very friendly and really nice towards the british guess .
This hotel also has a free shuttle bus to the beach/town
This hotel is very good vaule for money well worth a stay the villa marina

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jensta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Hi,as this was just a last minute Easter break,I opted for the cheapest room with balcony,but upon arrival I saw it was small with the four single beds and a cot too.I asked reception were there any other rooms available and he generously upgraded me(for no extra money) to an apartment with 2 bedrooms,kitchen and lounge,I was very happy with the room.
The entertainment was great for our two boys 11 and 10,as the entertainers kept them busy all day with different activities.the rooms were cleaned every day with plenty towels etc.I observed the manager all week and he was constantly walking round the hotel ensuring everything ran smoothly and willing to sort out any problems straight away.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the beach(or use the free shuttle bus)and a 20-30 minute walk to Portaventura if you fancied walking.
I thank the manager,the male receptionist(for giving me the apartment)and all the staff for giving us a great holiday and we have the intent to return.
Try pricing the hotel on their own website as it is cheaper and they give a free transfer from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norman400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just stayed at the Club Villamarina Hotel in Salou and the hotel was great value for money. The rooms are quite small but perferctly adequate as they are only for sleeping and getting ready in as there is so much entertainment going on you will be too busy to stay in the room. The hotel is great for all ages as we had a child as young as 6 and an adult as old as 76 and another six people inbetween. The kids entertainment staff are great and do alot with the kids and there is adult entertainment on through the day. The entertainment at night is great and good fun. The bar staff are really friendly and the food is great plenty that kids enjoy and even the fussiest of eaters will find something to eat. There is also a shuttle bus to take you into the town but it is only a 15 min walk and the beach is 5 - 10 mins walk. For people wanting to go clubing at night there is a free bus that takes you to 007's which is next to the rest of the bars and clubs. The hotel in my view is perfectly positioned as its quiet but not to far from everything. If you book directly from the hotel they give you free transfers from Reus and Barcelona Airports which makes it one less thing to worry about.

Room Tip: The hotel is not too far from Porta Ventura
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizy0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
2.5 mi away
Festival Village
Festival Village
#11 of 93 in Salou
1,557 reviews
2.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.6 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#7 of 93 in Salou
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,119 reviews
1.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villamarina Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villamarina Club

Address: Carre Ciutat De Reus, 42, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Villa Marina Club)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $73 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villamarina Club 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Marina is a friendly family orientated hotel offering all inclusive holidays for families to enjoy and not have to worry about entertainment, food and drink for the duration of your stay. Everyone can relax and enjoy the facilities of 2 swimming pools, one with child section, adults only rooftop solarium with Jacuzzis, buffet style restaurant, snack bar, Play Park for the children, outside cinema screen, large terrace and bar area. Our resident English Speaking Entertainers are here for you 7 days a week keeping all the family entertained day and night, and to give you that little bit extra in your evening entertainment we have external, professional shows, to add to your all inclusive package. To ensure our customers have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday the entertainment and bar finish at 00.00 This friendly 3* all inclusive hotel is only 15 minutes away from Reus Airport, 10 minutes away from the Port Aventura theme park and a 10 minute walk to the beach giving you the ideal holiday base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villamarina Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villamarina
Villamarina Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing