We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family holiday in years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had a fab time staff rooms food out standing the animation staff were the best my son had an amazing time 14 yrs old something for every kid staff made a point of getting to know every one of them really nice place

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linaloo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your review!!

Your satisfaction and enthusiasm charge our batteries every single day.

Looking forward to having you here again!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 2,777 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My teenage daughter and I have just returned from a fab week at Vil.la romana. Everyone works so hard to ensure you enjoy your stay, esp the animation team, they're excellent, boundless energy! Plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner( we were half board) swapped one day for a picnic lunch to take to port aventura, ample content. Theme evenings on various nights too. Pool busy, sunbed hogs always out early, but there are more than enough to go round, area kept spotless, well supervised during day - open 9-7pm. Air con in rooms wonderful esp when night temp still 25°! Fridge a bonus too! Rooms serviced daily, no gripes about towels! We had a top floor room poolside which was good, but if you have little ones or want an early night the (loud but good) entertainment goes on until midnight! Daughter already asking to go again next year- yes please! !

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel.

We really hope to see you back here once again very soon!!!

You have become part of the big family we are at the Vil.laromana.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

How you rate the hotel depends ff you like a nice quiet pool break or a full on family with children break with poolside entertainment.

I travelled as a solo parent with my 11 year old dughter. Travelled from Barcelona airport and fairly long transfet of 90 minutes. Shame we couldn't fly into Reus!

Check-in was quick and fairly easy - we were the only people checking-in at that time so I cant comment on check-in when busier. Generally the reception staff were very helpful - providing free wi-fi code and even printing my return boarding passes.

room - agree that the rooms possibly need a bit of an upgarde. Ours wasnt the best located but fairly quiet apart from the noise from the football court below - no real views. Fridge was good, beds comfy, air con worked and shower was passable. Room made up and towels changed every day. No/little English language TV which didnt really bother us.

pool - good sized lagoon pool with decent shallow and deep ends. Main complaint was most decent lounger locations are reserved from 7.30 or before each day. If you arrive at the pool after 9.00 am its a scrabble to get one at all. It was pretty hot when we were there and shade for my daughter was a real problem - the indoor pool was invaluable in this regard. Poolside entertainment is pretty full-on. I have never seen a more enthusiastic, energetic and cheery entertainment crew. They dont stop all day - therefore if you want a quiet poolside break this isnt for you. Music etc is pretty incessant all day. Pool-side bar was reasonable. 2.80 Euros for a pint, ices from 1.20 - 2.20 Euros, crisps and slushies also available. Sandwiches etc from 5 Euros or so, pizzas from about 8 euros.

food - we were half board and didnt struggle at all for a good breakfast or dinner. One of the best buffets I have been too. Staff appeared to be occasionally grumpy. Omlettes were very good, as was freshly squeezed orange juice and cava. Easy to find dinner choices for my fairly fussy daughter to eat. Stir fry available for veggies, carvery roasts and themed nights. the abovementioned entertainment staff also make guest appearances.

location - we didnt go to Port Aventura but it did appear farly close. About a 10-15 minute easy stroll to Levante Beach. About 5 minutes to supermarket and autobank.indoor pool - this was a haven. Swimming caps are required, silence encouraged and no ball games. A nice break from the sun and noise in the afternoon. 2 jaccuzzis, steam room and sauna also poolside.

Overall, my daughter would love to go back and I probably would too although a condition of this on my part would be a visit to Port Aventura!

Room Tip: I was on first floor - room 1238. Had some sun in late afternoon but noisy from 5-a-side football c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays.
Thank you so much for your comments.
We are working everyday in order to improve our hotel. Your help is very necessary.
We hope to see you back here very soon!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Currently at this wonderful hotel, emailed requesting a pool view with glass front balcony and this is what we got, really pleased with the room. The little bits and bobs left out by house keeping are plentiful. Air conditioning is fab. Love having the clothes dryer on balcony. Had our first meal last night, huge choice of food, something for every taste. While not everything appealed to our taste, we did find something we enjoyed. Not had any problem with rude staff, found everyone helpful so far.

The only thing that has bothered us so far is not the hotels fault but desperation of guests, I mean really do you NEED to go and put that towel on a sun lounger before 7am in the morning! Also young kids 2/3 year old even with arm bands should not be allowed in the deep end of the pool unsupervised. Shame on those parents who allow it, not only is it putting your child at risk but also the enjoyment of other swimmers having to be careful what they do due to young non swimmers in the deep end of the pool!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jopo7802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Clients,

We are so glad that you are enjoying so much your holidays with us!!!

Thank you very much for writing down your review.

About the reservation of sunbeds, you are right, despite we have in the rules on the big board at the entrance on the pool very clear that is forbiden to reserve any sunbeds, the guests keep on doing the same. We have tried many different options, but at the end we decided to put in charge of the pool the life guard, so if you need any time a sunbed you ask him, he has recorded all the sunbeds no occupied with times, and he immediately gets you a sunbed.

About the irresponsable parents, what can we do??

Thank you very much, contact me at any time.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

very good hotel, dont forget the tourist tax, cost us 21 euros for 3 adults for 1 week.
would def go back, no problem, just wish they had a land train for the theme park.
I personally found the meat being carved too underdone, just a little criticism.
Also the wifi in rooms didn't work if it is important to you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Next time when you come back to the Hotel please contact me. You can have the meat specially made for you everyday.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had mixed first impressions, the hotel reception is very clean and looks lovely. However, we arrived at 10am and was told our room wouldn't be ready until 1pm. As we had a really early flight, we hadn't slept all night so this gave us quite a bad first impression, especially since the reception staff didn't even apologise and acted as if there was nothing wrong with making us wait around for 3 hours! However, things got much better from there. The rooms are very big for 2 people, however they might be quite cramped if you are a family of 4. They were cleaned everyday, aircon was great and fridge really handy. Best wifi i've ever had in a hotel...and it's free! However, the shower was a bit of a pain as it constantly changed temperature! The hotel is in a fantastic location, less than 10 minutes to the beach, nearby shops and 20 minutes walk from train station. The food was really good, lots of choice and restaurant staff were friendly. The pool area is great, very clean and always space to swim in the pool despite being a busy hotel. Loads of activities for kids and the animation team were amazing. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is fantastic for families with young children or young couples as it is lively and there's always something going on. Would definitely consider staying here again if I was to return to Salou.

Room Tip: If a family of four, get two rooms instead of one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Clients,

I would like to apologise because you had to wait so long for your room, but unfortunately when we are fully booked we have to wait for the guests to leave the room before we can start cleaning the rooms.

Thank you very much for your comprehension. We really hope to see you back here in the Hotel very soon!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just got back from a lovely breakaway to this hotel, I must say I have nothing really bad to say about this hotel other than the Bathrooms and Bedrooms were a bit basic for a 4 star hotel. On the plus side the Hotel staff in the restaurant couldn't be more helpful and the food there was always such a big choice and plenty of it. Also the reception staff and the outside bar staff. They all were so polite and always had a smile for you. I must say the Animation team, Toni, Estiaban and Tepo made this holiday for us, especially for my teenage boys, they laid on activities every day from darts, pool and water polo. I would definitely come back to this hotel. The hotel is only 15 minutes walk to the theme park and 15 mins walk to the main shops and beach. If you like Go Karting there is a really good track in Salou which costs £12.00 in a taxi each way and E18.50 for 8 mins, this doesn't sound long but my boys said it was fine. Also the House of Illusion is a great night out, you pay a set price for your food and you get wine and beer and soft drinks topped up all night. We have been 3 times now and its been deferent every time but better each time. Oh and there's plenty of sun loungers for everyone, just need to get your towels down by at least 10am.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the 3rd floor facing the pool, as we were on the 2nd floor and had a concre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 446maddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you in name of all Staff your comments and confidence on us.

We really hope to see you back here in the Hotel very soon!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,082 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
0.6 mi away
Golden Port Salou
Golden Port Salou
#5 of 93 in Salou
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $69 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing