We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Me and my fiancé stayed here in May for a week. We had been to Salou before, and found that this hotel and the area it's in was better than the one we stayed in before. It's quieter and not in the "English" part of Salou. The hotel itself looks great and was extremely clean. The room we had was a good size for 2 people, with a bed, sofa, TV and fridge. The bathroom was large with a bath/shower combi and a hair dryer. Our room was front facing so could look over to PortAventura. Again our rooms were well cleaned and regularly. We had a slight issue with the air con as it seemed to be blowing out warm air, and there was no thermostat to change the temperature (this had been taken off the wall and replaced with a sticker), but we just opened our balcony doors and this cooled down the room. I would say if you could pick a room then don't opt for a front facing one as there seemed to be so much going on out the front at really early times in the morning that it woke us up every day (I.e bin men, deliveries, people shouting).
We stayed half board so got breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The times of food being served were really good as sometimes breakfast can be too early. Breakfast was always loaded with fried food, but there were a lot of breads to choose from for toast and cereal/fruit were also available. Dinner was really excellent, they had a different paella every night, different meats and fish, a variety of potatoes, rice, vegetables and other side dishes. Soft drinks in the restaurant were about €2.80.
The outside pool was really big and there were plenty of sun beds to go around. It was constantly cleaned throughout out the day, in and around. The umbrellas are drilled into the floor so need to be moved/put up by a staff member who is happy to do it, it's just inconvenient if you are next to someone who wants it up and you don't as they are massive.
From the hotel PortAventura is a 10-15 minute walk away and also the beach is about the same in the other direction.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Clients,

Your comments encourage us to keep on going that way. We are improving everyday thanks to your comments/suggestions.

We hope to see you back here in our/your Hotel Vil.laromana.!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the best family hotels we stayed in with our 3 children. The kids loved the poolside entertainment, the staff were great fun!

We were half board and enjoyed the variety of the evening meals, particularly the themed nights.

Rooms were clean and functional.

Only a short walk into town or theme park.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank XxMeeMeexX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel to spend your holidays with us.

Also thank you very much for your comments.

We hope to see you back here very soon!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and well maintained family orientated hotel. Foyer, pool area and bedrooms spotless. Towels changed and beds made daily.

Our family room had two firm single beds and a not so comfortable double sofa bed. On the plus side, the room sported: air con, a mini fridge (comfortably holds 3x2l bottles), and verandah. Free wifi throughout hotel inc bedrooms (slow but adequate for emails, VoIP and basic surfing). The wifi signal is low in some rooms. TV in our room was a Samsung LCD with USB port, so could be used for watching media/movies if you bring them on a flash drive.

The entertainment staff were brilliant from mid morning through to midnight. They did their utmost to involve all age groups and completely dedicated. Usual events such as darts, water polo, aerobics, but one day they set up a foam suds party area. Adults and kids were dancing about in the bubbles. The hotel has guests from all over UK, Ireland, Spain, France, Belgium, Netherlands, Russia, and no doubt elsewhere. Helpful hotel staff managed to communicate with all (some UK hotels have difficulty in understanding dialects from own country).

The buffet restaurant has something for everyone, even the fussiest of diners will not go hungry. Each night has a theme (Spanish, Italian, seafood, gala, etc) and is all you can eat buffet. The entertainment staff also helped the atmosphere here by dressing as characters (Homer Simpson, Italian chef, etc) and mixing with guests. We also took the option of switching one buffet dinner for freshly cooked tapas in the bar. Two tapas per head. Not sure if this is a limited time offer, but it was a little change.

An example buffet breakfast included a range of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, cakes, croissants, pastries, bread/toast, cakes, bacon, sausages, eggs (scrambled, boiled, fried), chips (fries), beans, mushrooms, cheese, cold meats, plus toasties, paninis, pancakes, omelettes, etc made to order. Genuinely something for everyone. Drinks are only included at breakfast time, and includes; tea, coffees, hot chocolate, choice of juices, milk and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The bars are open throughout the day, however I found some drinks to be a tad expensive. A Jack Daniels and coke was 7.80 (5.80 + 2.00 dash of coke). It was a good measure, but unexpectedly pricey. A glass of coke (hi ball glass) was 2.30. Kids will rattle through these. To be fair, other spirits were cheaper. Cocktails were fairer at 5.00 and a bottle of wine not much more. There are pubs nearby, but the hotel does have an evening buzz with live shows, the entertainment team, and things to do, eg. ping pong, pool tables.

Hotel proximity is good:
*10 min walk to Portaventura
*10 min walk to beach/shops
*Bus avail from beach to Tarragona for modern shopping centre (Zara, H&M, etc) - 3euro single on bus.
*Train station in old town Salou (20 min walk), for Barcelona.

We bought tickets for House of illusion magic show in Salou, which was excellent. It is a little difficult to find, so leave early or get your bearings beforehand as I did.

As for Portaventura theme park. My advice would be to go after breakfast, do the smaller rides, water rides, maybe see a show or two and leave late afternoon (get hand stamped for re-entry). Chill at hotel, have dinner and go back to park around 8pm. We found that the big rides which had queues of 1-2 hours earlier were now walk on or mini queues of 10 mins. You'll also feel more refreshed and will maybe last to see the Sesame Street parade and fireworks display, which started at 23.15 and 23.30 (early July 2014). We bought our tickets in uk before we travelled, but local salou supermarkets were selling chupa chup sweets with an offer. Three empty packets equalled a 20 euro discount per each adult (normally 45 euro per adult). Many people were trading these at ticket booths, so very popular offer. It is shown (in Spanish) on chupachups website:
http://www.chupachups.es/promociones.php

Enjoy your hol!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Glasgow_Rainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Clients,

First of all I would like to thank you in name of all Staff of your nice comments and we all wish you to come back very soon!!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Having read reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to book a week at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised that our stay exceeded our expectations.

On arrival staff in particular, Jessica was very welcoming and friendly. Even when we requested another mattress for our son's bed nothing was a problem and the mattress was in place by the time we had returned from our day out. Clean towels were provided each day.

The general standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel was extremely high. The small fridge in the room was great for storing water, juice etc. We did take a kettle and a couple of cups with us so that we could have tea/coffee whilst sitting in the room/balcony.

The quality and variety of food in the restaurant was excellent. Again most of the catering staff worked extremely hard to ensure that everyone enjoyed their meal times within the hotel.

The Animacion staff worked hard to entertain kids and adults alike who spent their day/evening at the pool area. The pool tables (2 euro per game) internet/FIFA games (2 euro for 20mins) also helped to keep the kids entertained if they want a change from the pool. The pool area is clean with plenty of sun beds for everyone and with access to a bar should you wish to buy drinks or snacks.

Our evening's were very relaxed usually spent sitting around the pool listening to the entertainment, which changed every night, playing pool or relaxing in our room.

Outwith the hotel we would definitely recommend trips to Nou Camp and Barcelona, Porta Ventura (fifteen minute walk from the hotel) and Tarragona (although perhaps take the bus as the trains, which were supposed to run hourly ran more like every 1.5 hours). Salou beach which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel was also really nice if you need a break from the hotel. There are plenty of local supermarkets to keep you stocked up with anything you require. Also plenty of local bars/eating places should you want a change from the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would definitely recommend staying at the Vil la Romana.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Clients,

Your comments are encouraging us to keep on going with the good job.

We hope to see you back here in the Hotel very soon!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just arrived home 5th July !!! Had a great holiday at Vila Romana !!was their with my hubby and 2 sons !! 4 and 9 year old ! Both boys loved it ,my youngest went to kids club everyday through his own choice he loved going .food was excellent ,in fact my oldest son who is a fussy eater ate better than he has ever done ! Entertainment team were excellent ,so friendly !!!!!! Also spoke to manager as we were leaving and he shook our hands and sd he hoped we had enjoyed our stay !bn to Salou 5 times now ,first time at this hotel and liked it so much we have already booked for next year !!!!!!, so Vila Romana see u 4th July next year !!!!!! Really hope u have the same entertainment team there !!, x

Room Tip: We had a pool view on the 4th floor !sun was there from pm till sun went down ! Good for us because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for all your nice comments and also for choosing our Hotel for your holidays.

We really hope to see you back here very soon!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Arrived and had our room within thirty minutes. €23 for the use of a safe for 1 week which is a little expensive given it's only a rental. The food is buffet style and as much as there is wide variety it is very repetitive. The staff are friendly and the animacion team make the hotel stay much more enjoyable. Entertainment is tailored to suit both adults and children tho some have adult content and can include comedy stripping and a lot of innuendos. This wasn't a big issue for us but wouldn't be to everyone's taste. The mini club is fantastic giving the children a safe place to play and bet looked after them so well! Staff are very kind to each child and really do build relationships with all of us. We were sad to leave.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Cmcc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Clients,

We are working every day in order to improve our Hotel. We would like when you decide to come back if you can give us some suggestions to improve our buffet, or entertainment.

We are improving thanks to your comments and suggestions.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for enjoying your holidays.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent hotel, we went via Thomson as a family and was perhaps our best holiday abroad. hotel staff so friendly, entertainment team excellent all hard working and constantly smiling and lively, food was great always something to choose from and make a meal from, rooms cleaned daily all are willing to take the extra mile to keep you happy.
will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your comments which encourage us to keep on going on the good job.

We all are looking forward to having you here again.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.6 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,945 reviews
1 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#7 of 93 in Salou
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $69 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing